×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Palo Alto: Stories
     

Palo Alto: Stories

3.3 59
by James Franco
 

See All Formats & Editions

Now a “provocative” and “impressive” (Variety) film from director Gia Coppola (Francis Ford Coppola’s granddaughter)—starring Emma Roberts, James Franco, Nat Wolff, and Val Kilmer—the fiction debut from James Franco that Vogue called “compelling and gutsy.”

James Franco’s story collection

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Palo Alto 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
AvinaJohn More than 1 year ago
great book! james franco does a great job showing how harmful peer presure can be.
GoldenSpring More than 1 year ago
Such an amazing book! I liked the cliff hangers and sadness and descriptions and everything! This book could make a great T.V show. It would be done kind of like cold case and how each episode was about a different murder case or something. This could be just the stories of this town. Maybe some stories can be more then one episode but I have a feeling a lot of people would watch it because it is unexpected but exciting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loves these stories! Killing Animals Is my favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Short stories anre about middle and high school kids. No my type of book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ive heard this book has its bad and good stories... so which ones are the good ones? please respond
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, I can't believe anyone would consider this good writing. It's racist and exploits young women. Plus it's just bad writing. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt make it past page 58, just horrible.my 5 year old could write better.im not trying to be mean, it was just that bad. There was no depth, to much jumping around and i never felt invested in any characters. I love james and that is why i bought the book, even though other reviews warned me not to. Please dont make the same mistake. If he was not famous,this never would have made it past the publishers garbadge can.
lovejames-franco More than 1 year ago
james franco is amazing! I like how he formed this book into a few short stories about youth and growing up. it was a book about happy and sad time. normal life issues. it interest me to wondering what was go to happen next. james is an talented and amazing man
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure what I was expecting out of this book, but I must have been a fool to believe it would actually be readable. It's all over the place, choppy sentences, random crap. One story inparticular just really lost me. If you can make it through 'Camp' without a single 'wait, what?' Then kudos to you. May I have my $2 back?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
read this book on the beach in maine, though it seemed unrealistic and far fetched, i loved the novel. it was a very quick read and i appreciated the brutal honesty in franco's words. my personal favorite part was the epilogue in which franco wrote his personal thoughts on the book being turned into a movie. now I want to see the movie... i would recommend this book to a friend :) 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
although the story kept me reading it was all over the place..i felt confused a lot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very light, entertaining read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is all over the place. Poorly written and a waste of 149 pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well I did not hate it but it was not a book that I would read again for the fun of it. I am glad I read it and I will watch the movie because I love james franco on screen. The stories remind me of teens from my youth maybe not specific ones but little pieces of many. Some of the stories sound like the narrator is trying to use big words and pretty descriptions to narrate their life.. maybe to make it seem more poetic or grand. I'm not sure if that was to show how that teen saw his world personally or what. Some of the stories did suck me in in a good way while others I just read with passing amusement. The charactors and stories may not be pretty or even decent but they could be real.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well put togther, much of this is a very accurate description on teens all over the world trying to become themselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome. Writing style is simple but it was fun to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is defiantly a Catcher in the Rye feel to this book, if you like that then you'll enjoy this very much. I was never a big fan but I would say Palo Alto does have some good qualities. Not my favorite. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago