×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Papillon
  • Alternative view 1 of Papillon
  • Alternative view 2 of Papillon
     

Papillon

4.7 31
by Henri Charriere
 

See All Formats & Editions

Henri Charrière, called "Papillon," for the butterfly tattoo on his chest, was convicted in Paris in 1931 of a murder he did not commit. Sentenced to life imprisonment in the penal colony of French Guiana, he became obsessed with one goal: escape. After planning and executing a series of treacherous yet failed attempts over many years, he was

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Papillon 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"PAPILLON" BY HENRI CHARRIERE: THE BOOK ALLOWS THE READER TO EXPERIENCE TO DESIRE TO BE FREE FROM A FALSE IMPRISONMENT. THE LIFE HE HAD KNOWN HAD CHANGED FOREVER AND WOULD NEVER BE THE SAME, BUT TO BE FREE FROM WHAT HE KNEW HE HAD NOT DONE WAS HIS MOTIVATION, WHICH KEPT HIM GOING FORWARD. THE REVEALING STORY REALLY MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE THERE WITH HIM EXPERIENCING THIS LIFE CHANGING EXPERIENCE OF HIS AND HOW HE MANAGES TO FIND JOY IN HIS DAY TO DAY LIFE.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it
Anonymous 7 months ago
Great perspective of a prisoners life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VAshby More than 1 year ago
This was an great book about his life adventures. Some of it was a bit unbelievable. And at many points int the book I was thinking, "Really?" Did everyone Papillion met, jailors included, come to the conclusion that he was noble and that his repeated escape attempts were totally justified? Did local Indian tribes really embrace embrace him and give him women that totally fell in love with him? And then he chose to leave paradise? Any way, in spite of the unbelievable the book earns it's good ratings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RalphRI More than 1 year ago
Henri relates his experiences as a prisoner in the French penal system. His writing gets the reader to intimately identify with the shocking and enlightening events during this period of his incarceration. I loved his unquenching determination to escape his imprisonment after innumberable attemps. Loved the book for its insights into the human condition when presented with heartbreaking odds, but he finally succeeded in his escape.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I never imagined that a jail life is so pathetic.I read it recently and used to spend whole night reading pappilon as though preparing for an Exam.The prison conditions, the Daring escape attempts,The repeated attempts for 11 years was truely inspiring.If each indivisual puts as much as the efforts of Pappilon in reaching our goal in real life we would have been long back successful.I can never forget Pappilon character whole life.The escape from the Devil's island just with a Gunny bag full of Coconuts in the Shark infected and High tide sea was really impossible to imagine too.This book says that nothing is IMPOSSIBLE.A must for all who are afraid of Change and scared of failures in life.This book is a tonic for those are scared of failures and unhappy with present life.This books shows how lucky we are to be free in this world with the least pain and least suffering. Worth 10 times the Book cost
Guest More than 1 year ago
My aunt gave me this book to read while i was on the job hunt.The book is really interesting and outstanding.This book really deals with the struggle of a man named PAPILLON and how he get rids of the situations.And finally how he escapes from the devils island.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've watched the move several times since I was little. My mother's godmother gave me the book, and I decided I must read it. I can not even express how much I liked the book. The movie is excellent, but the book is full of much more wonderful detail. It is not a difficult read and keeps the reader interested at all times.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of those Ultimate Tales of Survival. When I was back in school my father always asked me to read 'Pappilon'. Now after 14 years I understand why. The survival story of Pappi is 'surreal'. What I mean by that is - a normal person would give up and die in similar situations. From French Guyana to the Devils Island and finally to Venezuala, Henri Charriere perhaps brings out the extreme in mans zeal to survive all odds. While reading the book quite often you end up asking - can this be true, can this be real, what if Iam in a similar position. Pappi brings out great condradictions - he is on island inhabited by the Indians who are supposed to be ferocious and merciless. On this island he finds love and peace. He is on an island of Lepers - here he finds friendship and compassion. He is resting in a church and totally trusts the mother superior. And she is the one who betrays him. To sum up - Papillon makes you stronger
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the most interesting and exciting books I've read. If even half of what the author claims is true, it's an amazing adventure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I came across this book while I was doing research for a speech on Devil's Island. I began to read it for information, and had little hopes that it would be interesting. I really did enjoy the book though and found that I didn't want to put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is excelent! Papillon was the best book I have ever read. I watched the movie when I was younger and I thought it was neat on how he tries to escape. Then in the book it gives you that and even more. If you like, or even if you don't like to read you should get this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm 15 years of age and I had heard of the inspirational tale from my father. He told me that when he was young in the 1970's he read this book and he thought I would like it. I was out with my freinds at Barnes and Noble in Grand Rapids,MI I saw it and remembered i had a book report in english class so I picked it up. As i began to read I brought myself to notice that i had much to learn about my supposed hardships. I threw myself to this book like no other I had even called in sick to work just to get an extra 4 hours of reading in before school the next day. I recommend this to all readers and hope you all enjoy it as much as I have. Thanks, M.V.