×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Paradise Called Texas
     

A Paradise Called Texas

3.8 8
by Janice Jordan Shefelman, Karl Shefelman (Illustrator), Tom Shefelman (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Searching for a better life, Mina, Papa, and Mama left their German fatherland aboard the brig Margaretha, bound for Texas. They had been told it was the paradise of North America, but when Mina steps onto the desolate beach at Indian Point on a cold December day in 1845, she wants to go back to Germany and Opa's cozy house in the village of Wehrstedt. But go on they

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Paradise Called Texas 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
CraZReader More than 1 year ago
Once againg, JAnice Jordan Shefelman has written another AWESOME book! If you like reading this book, try these other ones: Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'dell My Side of the Mountain: Jean George The Other Side of The Mountain: Jean George Frightfuls Mountain: Jean George Hunger Games: Suzanne Collins Catching Fire: Suzanne Collins Mockingjay: Suzanne Collins I hope you enjoy these books!!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
My son's 4th grade teacher read this to her class and the students enjoyed it. My son wanted to continue reading the trilogy so we got the other books in the series and read them at home. We both enjoyed all 3 books. The first one was sad, but realistic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i mean if you liked the kind of old fashioned books then i guess that you would like this book and i dont like those kind of books but this book kept you up on what was happening and even though it was sad it was a really good book.my teacher read it to us in the 4th grade and i didnt really understand it and now that i am older now i actually get what was going on!so to make a long story short if you like the kind of books that take place in the early 1800's then this is your kind of book and if you dont really like me then you just might like it like me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am not a big fan of reading much, but I have read some good books recently and this was not one of them. I had to read it for a grade over Christmas break.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. Ok, so maybe the reading level is not very high but that is because it is aimed at intemediate readers. Back in the fourth grade, I had a blast reading this book. I greatly recommend it for parents and kids to read together. It is sad but very poignant. The best part, it does not end here. THere are two more sequels that will take kids on a wonderful adventure !
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had to read this for school and found it to be very boring. It wasn't challanging enoung for my tastes, but if you enjoy reading about Texas history and are in 3rd to 5th grade, you might like it. It is kinda depressing