×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Paradise
     

Paradise

4.3 63
by Toni Morrison
 

See All Formats & Editions

They shoot the white girl first. With the rest they can take their time.” So begins Toni Morrison’s Paradise, which opens with a horrifying scene of mass violence and chronicles its genesis in an all-black small town in rural Oklahoma. Founded by the descendants of freed slaves and survivors in exodus from a hostile world, the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Paradise 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
LCordero More than 1 year ago
Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison's Paradise is not only a story of the tragedies of an overlooked history, but the spiritual and physical powers within a community. However, Paradise is not a mere social justice statement; it serves, instead, a higher purpose. With the publication of this novel and several others, Morrison was able to actively engage the power of the individual voice and link together the cultural spheres that define it. Although religiously and spiritually powerful, one of the novel's primary focuses were themes of isolation, separation, and their operation within a social structure. By dictionary definition, a paradise is "a place of extreme beauty, delight, or happiness." Perhaps such paradise does not exist in separation of one's own mind. A "paradise," after all, is made up of those who do not exist within it. Power successfully encapsulates the idea of achieving primal bliss in congruence with the idea of separation and isolation. However, most importantly, it raises the question: can good (idea of perfect paradise) exist without the influence of evil (human sin)? In tackling a social, moral movement, Morrison has gravely insinuated that perhaps, one reaches paradise only after one has accepted the fatality of collective sin separate from the individual's potential.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book years ago in my twenties and put it down because it appeared to be too complicated . But I found it now in my thirties and I find it brillant , I can't put it down
Anonymous 5 months ago
"I am not having any fun!"
Anonymous 5 months ago
She walked in with JT and kissed his cheek
Anonymous 5 months ago
Sits on the side.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walked around the camp
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello. Im icestar the other clan that is in a pact with skyclan. I just wanted to het to know your clan. We r at 'into the west' res 1
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He dipped his head. "Thank you!" He sat and ate a mouse quietly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spike sat gazing up at the figure. Suddenly Twilight ran upstairs. Spike pointed at the shadowy pony. Twilight couldnt see ut." What is it, Spike? You look like youve seen a ghost. Finally Spike managed to choke out some words." Its right there, dont you see it?" Twilight gave him a concerned look."Uh, Spike? Are you okay?" Spike shrugged." I- i dont know." He stuttered. The figure was watching him from the corner of the room. He could see its red eyes glaring at him. Twilight went back downstairs." Girls, somethings wrong with Spike. He seems to be seeing things." Everypony paniced. <p> meanwhile... <p> Spike started sweating as the mysterious pony crept twords him. Finally he could see what it looked like. It was a black stallion with red eyes. His mane was the color of blood. Fangs shone as a evil grin crept across the stallions face. He could hear the ponys panicing downstairs. He would have ran down to see what was wrong, but their voices were muffled, seeming distant. He stood, frozen in fear. His green eyes widened as the stallion opened his mouth and leaned forward to bite him...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lolz i oederd a drink called skinny gil on thebeach well he took it seriously(:^_^
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*Lays wearing a bikini.*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No sorry...i dont think it is at least...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Darkleaf forestheart darklight foreststorm darkmint forestwhisker.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oceanshimmer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He padded up to a cat. "Hi."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant. Im locked out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My name is shimmerstream i have kits due anytime i am a shimmering white and black zebrasripe shecat with bright lime green eyes that seems to be sparkleing i am pregant with seven to ten kits they should come tonight or tommarrow or saturday night maybe sunday at the latest
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im snowy a blue grey shecat with green eyes. I am good with medicine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are you ok? What happened?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Moans
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago