×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Pardon (Jack Swyteck Series #1)
     

The Pardon (Jack Swyteck Series #1)

3.8 111
by James Grippando
 

See All Formats & Editions

A brilliant Miami defense attorney, Jack Swyteck has spent years rebelling against his father, Harry, currently the governor of Florida. Their relationship is strained to the limit when Harry allows one of Jack's clients to die in the electric chair—a man Jack firmly believed was innocent. But now they will have to put their mutual animosity on a back burner,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pardon 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 111 reviews.
MJDavis More than 1 year ago
The Pardon is a well written story, that will keep you interested until the very end. The characters are well developed, and I felt empathy with them. However, I did not give this book 5 stars because I felt there were gaps in the story: how did we get from there to here in several situations. Plus there were grammar mistakes and misspellings. Not that big a deal but I am a word person, and these things distracted me. I will read more books by this author; he tells a good tale.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great reading, good style of writing, good usage of words, strong characterization. Plot and storyline, interesting and intriguing. It drew me in and kept me in until the last page. I am an avid reader, I have come to know the talented writers from the not so talented. I highly recommend reading this book and hope you enjoy it as much.
Debrajay9 More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a new series to read since I have pretty much exhausted Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben. While this book was not in their league, I did enjoy the book and would like to read the next in the series to see how the characters develop. A little predictable, but a good read nonetheless.
booksonmynook More than 1 year ago
Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel is nothing more than pure, unadulterated fun. It has little substance, more than a few cliches, and some eye-roll inducing plot twists, but it gets you hooked. It's hard to stop reading once you've begun. Perfect for a long, relaxing day at the beach.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Now I will admit, it takes a little while to get into this book. But, once you get into the plot and get a feel for the characters, you're HOOKED!! Outstanding book - I got to a point where I just had to find out how this one would end. I also happened upon this author at my local library. I'm glad I found it, becuause I'm a big Grippando fan now!! I'm heading out to get some more of his work, absolutely!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has a ton of action for anyone. It is more of a man's book because of some of the actions some people do, but if you can handle the first 100 pages without throwing it down your in for a ride of your life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy this series of books. I had never read #1 in the series and was delighted to find it, quite by accident, for my nook. I enjoyed it very much and got a real kick out of talk about car phones, Ford Pintos and other outdated classics. Ahhh, the fun of memories. This book was very enjoyable. I loved knowing how much the author's books have improved in all areas, since this first one. I looking forward to the movie based on this series, which is now in production. To the reviewer complaining about grammer nazis, Grammer is important, without these skills of proper communication and punctuation, of being unable to express yourself properly, you brand yourself as being uneducated. In this day and age, these skills are vital for jobs, personal image and self respect. Are you dependent on a computer, which might break down and leave you unable to write the simpliest sentence? Perhaps you are not bothered by erratta because you can not recognize it, not learning it at some point in your life. I too, dislike plot spoilers. There are some rather gory descriptions, a few curse words, a dab of sex and romance. Mostly it is just a good novel. I recommend this book to readers of mysteries of all ages, both sexes. AD
JPA More than 1 year ago
This was the first time I read the lst in the series. I will go for the next in the series. Swyteck has given me another good author to read. I usually stick to conservative legal mysteries. Reading this was a pleasant surprise. I do recommend this as a good change for readers that are not prone to change.
Harleywdo More than 1 year ago
This was a great book, intense, twists and turns. The mistakes were glaring and bulled me out of the story! Please get a better proof reader!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was expecting taut, tight courtroom drama. What I got was suspense but hardly taut or tight. While I didn't notice any huge grammatical problems (perhaps they have been corrected by now) there are a number of huge unfilled holes in the plot. The protagonist is incredibly stupid as is his father and the defense lawyer. I only surmise he and they were made so as a tool to aid in the introduction of complex plot developments. Nobody is really that stupid or compounds that many stupid moves with even more stupidity. It is a first effort so I give it 2 stars. The author has written numerous novels now and I will plan on trying one of the most recent in the series in the hope that Jack has grown a brain in the interim.
azphily More than 1 year ago
I just read the book, and immediatly bought his seccond book before i finished Pardon. I will read every thing James Grippando Writes. I really like the way he grabs you into the story. I read Pardon in a day. It's a good thing i have a nook that way i was able to read the next book in the series instead of having to look for it in a store. I am an avid reader of this kind of book that James wrote. Thanks Barnes &Noble for recommending this as a book i might like. Thanks James
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Held my interest
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little slow a first but once it gets going it is hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
otterly More than 1 year ago
I'll start off by saying that I did not care for the literary device of having the bad guy kill Jack Swyteck's dog! That put a damper on the whole thing for me. His father was running for reelection as governor of Florida, and his girlfriend got kidnapped. Before we even get into the book, we are told how it came to be. I have read, and enjoyed better, other Grippando books. Not sure if I would recommend it to a book group.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
c5b More than 1 year ago
This is my 2nd Grippando book: The Informant was given to me by a patient in our office and I was captivated by Grippando's style of writing. It captures you, puts you clearly amidst all the action and is quite extensive in creating realistic scenes that make you not want to put the books down! I have ordered more of his books and anticipate just as wonderful a time reading them as I did these two! Great mysteries with a bit of fun in them! Totally enjoyable!
B00kl0verFL More than 1 year ago
Glad that Barnes and Noble numbers the series so that they can be read in order. This is very hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm about a third of the way through this book. So far the plot is interesting and I can see some twists coming. The grammar and typos are horrible. In some cases entire words are missing. At least 2 chapters so far end with missing words. The lack of proof reading is disgusting. Not sure if I will be able to finish this book, which is disappointing considering I'm enjoying the plot. :(