×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Passing Strange: A Gilded Age Tale of Love and Deception Across the Color Line
     

Passing Strange: A Gilded Age Tale of Love and Deception Across the Color Line

3.4 17
by Martha A. Sandweiss
 

See All Formats & Editions

Read Martha A. Sandweiss's posts on the Penguin Blog

The secret double life of the man who mapped the American West, and the woman he loved

Clarence King was a late nineteenth-century celebrity, a brilliant scientist and explorer once described by Secretary of State John Hay as "the best and brightest of his generation." But King hid a secret from

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Passing Strange: A Gilded Age Tale of Love and Deception Across the Color Line 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm more used to reading novels, which are lighter reading than this. But it was very interesting overall, and informative, and loaded with American history. It was descriptive of the attitudes of the times. It might be a good book to put on a college reading list. I'm going to lend it to a close friend who's in a happy interracial relationship and see what she thinks of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
apart from the Book Club I would not finish the book. It reads slow and is a bit boring. The main character left very little factual proof of a relationship with his family so the author has written hearsay.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fenix More than 1 year ago
Passing Strange is a good read. I had thought it would be a light read, it turned out to have interesting historical facts regarding one of America's prominent citizen's Clarence King, a noted scientist, bestselling author and surveyor that mapped the West after the Civil War. What I enjoyed about the book was Mr. King's secret life. he was a prominent man in society. Adventurer, author, world traveler, witty, he had friends that were well regarded in American history, who helped shape some of America's policies and author's who wrote great american novels and histories. Mr. King was admired and love by all who met him and his friends who thought they knew his heart and mind did not realized he carried a deep and enduring love for a woman he kept secret throughout his whole life. America has a beautiful, bittersweet history of what makes this country great and as more historians uncover more of our history our country becomes even greater for it.
deserteyes More than 1 year ago
This book was very difficult for me to read emotionally. It is more on the line of the Invisible Man. At one point I put the book down to decompress myself from what I was reading and to relax just a little bit. The writer clearly took her time to investigate and check her sources. I found myself having a bookmark in the back of the book (work cited pages) and the page I was reading just to read her sources. If you are like me -- African American and still looking, searching for more information and stories about our history and those who make up our history this is a good read. It solidifies unfortunately a time in history where despite efforts and alleged unconditional love, the welfare of this relationship, this woman, their children was cast aside and abandoned because of the color of ones' skin.