×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pathfinder (Pathfinder Series #1)
     

Pathfinder (Pathfinder Series #1)

4.2 323
by Orson Scott Card
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the author of Ender’s Game, the soon-to-be major motion picture!

A powerful secret. A dangerous path.

Rigg is well trained at keeping secrets. Only his father knows the truth about Rigg's strange talent for seeing the paths of people's pasts. But when his father dies, Rigg is stunned to learn just how many secrets Father had kept from him-

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pathfinder 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 322 reviews.
GeekSpot More than 1 year ago
Unlike other reviews, I will not provide a synopsis. The story was followed throughout the book. The characters grew, and evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Card's descriptions, and his humor in the dialogue. I had read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow. I can see why the books are geared toward adolescent readers, but I'm not afraid to admit that this 42 year old enjoys a little fantasy reading. Some of the descriptions may be tough to tackle, but stick with it... the story is worth the time!!! Look forward to the next one in the series.
aDemonicChiMill More than 1 year ago
Orson Scott Card WAS not one my "Favorite Authors". His books are generally part of my "When There's Nothing Great To Read" list. Let's face it, most of us have our "Favorite Author" list, which takes priority and then there are authors that we enjoy from time to time, but they never quite made to the "Favorite Author" list, so they get relegated to a secondary list of things we'd like to read "When There's Nothing Great To Read". After Pathfinder, Orson Scott Card just got bumped. Pathfinder was a journey worth taking again and again! I've read the story once, loaned the book to my Mother who insisted on reading it THREE times, before she returned it and now I'm reading it again. Card broke a lot of science fiction rules and created his own. He created characters that you wanted to spend time with and a story line that is riveting. This book didn't disappoint in the least bit.
SunnyKim More than 1 year ago
If you like sci-fi, colony stories then you should love this book. It is a lot like Ender's Game and so if you enjoyed that book you should read the Pathfinder.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very great story. I can see that it is not for everyone but if you like working your brain this is a good book for you. I would say that this is a great summer read BECAUSE it helps the reader think while keeping the reader thoroughly entertained. There are some confusing parts but if you justbstick with it everything is explained.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes, it's a bit hard to follow than my average type of book, but it's 200% worth it! OSC is such a brilliant writer, and this book is easily one of my new favorites. I can't wait for Ruins!
Guest More than 1 year ago
While this book had interesting plot lines that made me want to read to the end, the perspective from which it was written was extremely obnoxious. I also didn't enjoy the dialog between the main characters...it was just a lot of brainstorming, talking in circles, and guessing back and forth. And the character's personalities seemed a bit farfetched and one dimensional. And somehow I am hoping that the sequel will be better because I feel that the story still has potential. Another thing...why is the knife on the front cover!? Unless that becomes more important down the road...there was no need for it to be on the front cover!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not like this book it was way to predictible and jumped around a lot which isnt confusing but just annoying.. not to mention is the author obsessed with bodily functions or something.. i always wondered why authors never write about character having to go to the bathroom.. but now i understand why,, because it takes up way to much space and do i really want to read a whole page about sime guy pooping and wiping his butt..no not really anyways dont see why everyone liked these books so much..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A not so good book. The first couple pages i thought were kind of convinsing and were great. But then the book started to get confusing and i didnt like it. But i kept reading in case the book was going to get better and alot less confusing. But by the about 100th page i couldnt read anymore and had to put the book (nook) down .
Dishcandanty More than 1 year ago
Well, I would be lying if I said this was my favorite. Not bad. It was interesting because it had so many different concepts. And I genuinely found the characters interesting. But there were moments were it was like. Come on Card, let me see some Ender kicking Bonzo action. I felt like there was a lot of potential to be really awesome, but too much dialog and not enough action. Time travel is always kind of interesting. And he took it to an extreme writing here. Which I haven't seen before. But it took on more of a study of it, an exploration. Rather than creating an eventful book.
Brauru More than 1 year ago
I just started reading this book(chapter 3) and i already loving it,easy to read and very original for me,i never read science fiction until i got hookup by accident on The Hunger Games series and i love it,so yesterday i was looking for something like that and i did found it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the unique twists and style.
JSpears More than 1 year ago
I don't read a lot of books and my friend got me back into reading by making me read The Cleric Quintet and then into the Drizzt Do Urden books. This made me want to read more books I started with the Hunger Games and went to Barnes and Nobles and I saw this book and thought I'd give it a try, I am glad I did because it is a very interesting book it makes you think a lot but you might get lost in some of the dialogue if you are not familiar with time and space. The story reminded me a lot like Lost as far as the way it made you think and kept bringing more questions than answers. Towards the end most of your questions are answered but not all and that's where you will pick up in the second book called "Ruins"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ehhh, not even a decent read. I got through the first few chapters and i was like 'when will this be over?' The whole book doesn't even make sense until like the 20th chapter. Not recomended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Confusing at first but one of my all time favorite books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous010 More than 1 year ago
This is a very good sci-fi fantasy book. The characters evolve throughout the book and the story is well developed and thought out. If this book (and the rest of the series) have a draw back, it is that the time travel element can get a little bit confusing at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Complex but extremely satisfying once you understand it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, but in some ways, it was too similar to another of his series, so it didn't feel as fresh conceptually.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love how rigg seemed decepive to the many strangers he met but truly loyal to his friends. However, i hated how long the book actually was. In my opinion the book could've ended quite a few pages earlier. I feel in my honest opnion that the book was rushed and that OSC could have spent a little more time on developing characters such as param and olivenko. Great book in all excluding all that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down!!! I can't wait to start the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago