×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Patriots: The Men Who Started the American Revolution
     

Patriots: The Men Who Started the American Revolution

5.0 12
by A. J. Langguth
 

See All Formats & Editions

With meticulous research and page-turning suspense, Patriots brings to life the American Revolution—the battles, the treacheries, and the dynamic personalities of the men who forged our freedom.

George Washington, John Adams, Samuel Adams, Ben Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, Patrick Henry—these heroes were men of intellect, passion, and ambition.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Patriots: The Men Who Started the American Revolution 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This complete and in-depth book covers absolutely everything about the American Revolution. It makes a great resource for anybody that needs research materials. It covers each person with insight and information not provided for in most other books. It is also in understandable and clear English. Great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sassyGM More than 1 year ago
This book is about the events leading up to the American Revolution and gives a great background as to why men died so we could have our freedom Gives excellent character discussions of people we have heard of all our lives, but can get to know more about them: Samuel Adams, Paul Revere, George Washington, John Hancock, etc. Very educational. Don't let the size throw you. Is great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For each time frame of the War Langguth provides both sufficient scene setting and enough biographical material on all the appropriate players on all sides that when he presents the events themselves he can do it as the different personalities at low as well as high levels playing amongst themselves the hands they have been dealt. How did Samuel Adams play John Hancock, and when did the latter decline to be so played? How were Hancock's actions and his personal power affected by his fortune and how he got it? Who were the men who could incite mob violence in Boston how did they do it and how did they fit into the equation? The reader can see the entire sweep from well before the actual outbreak until after the victory as a stream of contests of men manipulating, or being manipulated by, other men, or supporting them, or rejecting attempts to draw them into various gambits. It makes for a more lively history than most, and it probably provides more lessons on how historical figures have actually operated, or failed, in their attempts to make major changes happen over the course of several decades.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent piece of work documenting the explosive time period that covered America from 1760-1775 and subsequent war. Mr. Langguth does a superb job detailing the men and actions that caused this great nation to break from Britain. I've read many books about the revolutionary period but this is a work of art. In depth in every way, the reader gains an added respect for men such as Samuel Adams and his cousin John, John Hancock, Ben Frankin, and General George Washington. The book details the early defeats of an unorganized army and then praises later victories. Victories that caused the British to come to terms that the colonies were no more. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is no better singular accounting of the men, the citizens, the patriots, the politicians, the soldiers, the issues, the events, the battles, the sacrifices, the losses, and the emotions leading up to and through the triumphant conclusion of the American Revolution. A masterful work. This should be required reading, American History 101, for each and every American. Fleet Admiral William F. ¿Bull¿ Halsey once declared, ¿There are no great men. There are only great challenges which ordinary men, by force of circumstance, must rise to meet.¿ In a nutshell, this eloquently describes the challenges set before the Founding Fathers. I would only add that in meeting such a tremendously overwhelming challenge, these men became great. Read it. Then read it again. Give a copy to your kids as a must-read gift, and then also to your grandchildren.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a primary reader for anyone interested in the origins of the american revolution. It is well written free and clear of the bable of academics and historians
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the midst of a generation who has yet to determine in their own minds and life style's, the difference between good works and religion's law's, grace vs. works; we as citicenzs of the land of the free have lost sight of the fact that God gave each,some form of ability (what I call hands and feet) and left us with so many examples in the day's of old that we should take the time and reflect on what was acually said by a few of our leader's of such a great Nation. George Washington for examle said, 'Let us raise a standard to which the wise and honest can repair; the rest is in the hands of God.' Address to the Constitutional Convention, 1887 John Adams Followed our 1st Presedent and had this to say; 'Liberty cannot be preserved without a general knowledge among the people...'1765 So, to the one who ever doubt's that that making a difference where ever you may be, just stop and think; God gave you the hands and feet to help a Country to raise a standard to which... we are in such a great need. J.F.K. ...'dont ask what your Country can do for you, but what you can do for your Country...' Get knowledge, get busy and do what you are able to do to keep this land, 'The land of the free'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. I hadn't read about the Revolutionary war since highschool, but I recently saw a show on TV called 'Founding Fathers'. It piqued my interest and I wanted a good overview of the war. This book is written in a manner that makes history exciting. It covers all the basis and will give a solid overview in an extremely vivid, passionate tone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a wonderful reference. I had to do a report on the Battle of Bunker Hill and this book was very helpful supplying information.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A splendid tale of the American Revolution. The author brings to life our founding fathers in a way that makes them into real men that you can relate to, as opposed to the mythical heros that most know of. The narrative flows as much like a novel as any historical account I have read.