×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Paul Newman: A Life
     

Paul Newman: A Life

3.6 29
by Shawn Levy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Paul Newman, the Oscar-winning actor with the legendary blue eyes, achieved superstar status by playing charismatic renegades, broken heroes, and winsome antiheroes in such revered films as The Hustler, Cool Hand Luke, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, The Verdict, The Color of Money, and Nobody’s Fool. But Newman was also an oddity in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Paul Newman 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Dianne19 More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed with this book. Not enough of Newman. The book could have been 250 pages shorter if the author would have stuck with Newman and his life rather than giving trivial details about persons associated with screen production of whom we do not care. The cadence was choppy and the story line jumped from year to year in no apparent fashion. You had difficulty knowing exactly where he was going. Not good for a bio. If you can put up with he first 400 pages, the last two Chapters were worth reading, if you can forgive the author for citing the date of death but not mentioning the year.
Booknut62 More than 1 year ago
I actually began reading Shawn Levy's book several weeks ago. For a time, I was not quite sure I could get through all the screen credit information. What I really wanted was to know who Paul Newman the person was like. Throughout this book, Levy provides glimpses of the kind of human being one of America's greatest actors was. It is clear from the book that Newman always put his all in acting. It came across to me that he was a perfectionist about his work. Levy's story of Newman takes you from his beginnings in Cleveland to his passing in Westport. What seemed to be consistent through it all was that Paul Newman was always Paul Newman. His love for his wife Joanne Woodward makes all of us long for the kind of relationship they celebrated. His acts of charity in donating the profits from his company Newman's Own to his Hole in the Wall Camps and other charities makes us all want to do our part as well. Levy's highly sympathetic read is at once enjoyable and inspiring.
LyndaLovesBooks More than 1 year ago
I want to admit, right from the start, I lack objectivity where Paul Newman is concerned. I not only always enjoyed his movies, I admired his sense of humanity, his desire to 'share the wealth' with others, especially thru his work with terminally ill children and various charities. He left behind such a legacy of class and giving. This book does cover his life from cradle to grave and touches on some of the most prickly areas, like his affair with Joanne Woodward, who would become his second and final wife. The man wasn't perfect, especially during that period of infidelity...but, he sure as hell made up for any wrongs committed in the second part of his life. This book chronicles it all...extensive research, well-written, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I just wish the title had been "Paul Newman & A Life Well-Lived"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He could have taken the money and ran.but he chose to make a difference in this world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not as in depth as you want, but not far off. It gives a thorough description of his work, and how it affected his life. His struggle to deal with the burden of being Paul Newman is a subject of great interest, and is discussed with great detail. A wonderful portrait. I couldn't imagine a more in depth biography of this man.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very well done biography of a fascinating man who just happened to be a great American movie star. His ancestry and history growing up in Ohio reveals alot about his character. He clearly had his faults and appeared to a bit of a loner, but he sure had a wonderful life from start to finish. It was fun to read the back stories on his movies...but by the time you get to the end you appreciate all of the other things he did with his rather charmed life. I did not want to put the book down and would highly recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed his movies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was a very balanced look at the life of Paul Newman. He was in many ways one of a kind, but the book pointed out not only the wonderful side of Paul, but the complex side as well. The only criticism I have of the book is toward the end it seemed to drag. But other than that I really enjoyed reading about the life of someone I very much respect.
babybird More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Of course, I would love anything about one of the greatest, and best looking actors ever. This is really well written and very easy to read. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my mom as she has become an avid reader late in life. I knew she was a fan of Paul Newman and would enjoy reading the details of his life since he recently passed away. She called to say she had finished the book in record time and enjoyed it so much (although she wished I hadn't spent my hard earned money on an expensive hardcover book). I think she's worth it and I couldn't see waiting until it became a paperback. It wasn't expensive at all, in fact, because I used a coupon when purchasing it.
Anonymous 11 days ago
Informative yet entertaining. Author did not try to do a hatchet job on Newman yet he shows us the real man. This is a little test, just to see who reads and who shares without reading! If you have read everything, select "like" so I can put a thank you on your profile! Cancer is very invasive and destructive to your body. After you have finished your treatment, then, your body wants to go to war with yourself trying to reconstruct all the damage caused by radiation. It's a very long process. Please, in honor of someone who died, or is fighting cancer, or even had cancer, copy and paste. They all say: "if you need anything, do not hesitate, I'm gonna be there for you"... so I'm going to make a bet that less than 1/2 of my friends put this on your wall. You just have to copy (not share)!!! I want to know who I can count on.... Write "done" in the comment when you do. To all those who are fighting... I am with you. Praying for the courage and strength of those fighting the fight.
kittyAZ More than 1 year ago
I have 250 books in my library and haven't read this one yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cali48BC More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book about a man who truly embodies what a modern Renaissance man is. If you a fan of movies and/or Paul Newman the actor, then you will really enjoy this book. The author did a really good job researching the parts that Newman worked in and what the "story" was behind some of his role selections and rejections. I would have given it a higher rating if Levy provided more of the business/philanthropic side of Newman (there is some material on these subjects but not enough in my opinion). Overall, he provides a very balanced view of his life and it is clear that Levy was a big Newman fan. Levy is able to penetrate his very protective guard a little to provide the reader some insights into his very interesting and fulfilling life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nanaof2 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, as it gave me more personal information on the actor. I developed my liking of Paul Newman strickly through his movies. This book enlightened me on Paul Newman the person. I knew he was divorced but I was disappointed to learn (he admits)of his infidelity to both his wives. I still like him and will now purchase the other book "Paul Newman the man behind the blue eyes". His commitment to helping the less fortunate will be his legacy. His family will continue these efforts. I recommend this book to both men and women.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago