×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Pemberley Chronicles (Pemberley Chronicles #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Pemberley Chronicles (Pemberley Chronicles #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Pemberley Chronicles (Pemberley Chronicles #1)
     

The Pemberley Chronicles (Pemberley Chronicles #1)

3.4 70
by Rebecca Collins
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Those with a taste for the balance and humour of Austen will find a worthy companion volume."-Book News

The weddings are over.

The guests (including millions of readers and viewers) wish the two happy couples health and happiness. As the music swells and the credits roll, two things are certain: Jane and Bingley will want for nothing,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pemberley Chronicles 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I rarely write reviews, but I couldnt help myself. I bought this book with high expectations! I LOVE any continuations to Pride and Prejudice almost as much as I love the original. This book was so repetative I could not read past the first chapter. Every line repeated the preceeding line: they are happy, blissfully and their eyes are glowing and they are smiling and they are happy and their family knows they are happy and Mr.Darcy is happy and they are ALL perfectly HAPPY, we get it....move on!!! The first chapter and prologue just kept reinforcing and reinforcing these few words in different sentence combinations. It got annoying to the point where I had to force myself to finish the first chapter, this is not what a reading experience should be like.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The third reviewer had it spot on. This is a terribly written book and is excruciating to read. Austen's appeal is that she couples wonderful writing with protagonist characters of great sensibility and intellectual poise. Well, the prime characters of this book would never be recognized as a furtherance of characters she conceived, let alone two of her best known characters. Great paragraphs are spent with Lizzie writing to anyone who will listen about her amazement at Mr. Darcy's generosity and kind heart and on her never ending deliberation of her mean-spirited rejection of Darcy's proposal. ... and of her constant happiness and amazement at getting 'one of the most eligible young men of her day'. Elizabeth and Darcy went from being interesting well-developed characters in Pride and Prejudice, to two silly, juvenile soap opera characters. I couldn't finish the book and am going to have to go back and read Pride and Prejudice to get the flavour of this book out of my mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As other reviewers have mentioned, the main point of this book seems to be to describe each precious second of happiness between Darcy and Elizabeth. No plot whatsoever, and the writing- partly due to the content- seems like it came from the pages of an overly romantic 14-year-old fanfic writer.
MistiLynn Lokken More than 1 year ago
There is no focused storyline, it is like a diary skimming over a large number of years. Unhappy moments are brief and rare, it seems that everyone is happy, intelligent, successful and madly in love. Except Lydia and Wickham.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished this book FINALLY, it took me forever because reading it was PAINFULLY boring. Most of it is just talking about how happy happy happy happy happy happy happy happy everyone is with their marriage and how TRAGIC is was for them to ever go through that hard time where Elizabeth thought Darcy to be unbearable.... Also the Author states about 10000000 times "how highly Elizabeth and Darcy esteem the Gardiners." Take those parts out and the book would have been 200 pages shorter. Also the little parts about politics that went nowhere? UGH!!! The author turns Elizabeth from an intellectual young girl into a gossip monger OBSESSED with who is going to marry who, and who's in love with who, and thinks it's her business to insert herself into everyone's love lives. She essentially turns into her mother. Which leaves me disappointed and wondering how the heck this book got published. There was absolutely NO climax until the second to last chapter in which the author creates a tragedy and then kills off a few of Austen's main characters with one sentence and marries about 5 other couples who had little or no part in the story. This I think is a last ditch failed attempt into tempting the reader to read the other books in this series... I for one will NOT be doing that, it would be more painful than young William being thrown off his horse.
xoxkim2000xox More than 1 year ago
As a lover of Pride and Prejudice sequels I bought the first two volumes of the Pemberley Chronicles. It was a very interesting take on a P&P sequel. It included a lot of the historical background of what was going on in Regency England at the time. It took the characters of Pride and Prejudice and added in conflicts of what people in their social and political standings were going through at the time. It was very interesting and as a person who enjoys history I found it very informitave. I would recommend this book more for people who enjoy history and less for those who enjoy Pride and Prejudice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What can I tell, there is not much I liked, Other then Darcy being a Loving Husband and some humor!! Btn the Political events that it goes ON & ON about, that i had to skip reading a couple pages. The Oh so happy events and good fortune that takes place for friend and family and then as your nearing the end a most tragic event happens for Darcy and Elizabeth!!!!
TomG More than 1 year ago
It is very much in the style of Jane Austen, but with a lot of important events that were going on in England at the time. It is very obvious that Ms.Collins did a lot of research before writing these books. My only dislike was there seems to be far too much perfect happiness. When I was about halfway thru the book I felt that nobody's life can be so perfect and was waiting for something devastating to happen but it just kept going on with perfect days, perfect marriages; however, devastation did come in one of the worst ways for Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy. I would have liked to hear more about Kitty too, for she is barely mentioned after she gets married even though she lives on the grounds of Pemberly with her respectful husband.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, it wasn't overly romantic or graphic, it had Jane Austen like undertones. It makes me want to read the next in the series. It has been hard for me to find a book that is a spin off of Pride and Prejudice that has been so well done. It kept with Jane's temperment and details.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being a life long fan of Jane Austen myself, I loved this book and its companion -Women of Pemberley,not just because they continued the life stories of my favorite characters, but for the way the author transported me back to that amazing period of history. It has the authentic flavour of life in the Regency and Victorian ages and lets us see Jane Austen's characters mature as members of that community. Indeed, the lives and loves of the second generation of Darcys and Bingleys are even more interesting than the first. I can't wait to read Netherfield Park
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is not a book to be placed on the shelf, but one to be read and enjoyed again and again. Meet the next generation of Darcy¿s, Bingley¿s, Fitzwilliam¿s, and Gardiner¿s in The Pemberley Chronicles. History comes to life through the eyes, ears, and experiences of our favorite Jane Austen characters and some new friends as well. Through ¿the Chronicles,¿ Rebecca Collins brings readers into one of the most socially turbulent times in English history. We are swept up not only in the private lives of the characters as they journey through good times and bad, but also into a vortex of the political unrest and even violence which is beginning to creep onto the pastoral scenes so well-known to Austen fans. We see our friends grow and adapt to meet the challenges of their time. Set against a backdrop of the Industrial Revolution with all of its social impacts, who could have foreseen that our dear friends would show their strength and character through political activism, pamphleteering, and even as suffragists? If you love Jane Austen and her characters¿ If you love your novels peppered with history or subtle social commentary¿ Even if you simply love a really good read¿ pick up Rebecca Collins¿ Pemberley Chronicles. You¿ll be glad you did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun delving into the future of favorite characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While reading the first few chapters of this novel, I thought it's a nice little story. I did not think there was any intensity of plot. I felt perhaps there should be a little adrenaline to propel the story. I was wrong. Ms. Collins has achieved weaving an excellent continuation of "Pride and Prejudice" that draws you in, immerses you in the "Chronicles" of the Darceys spanning 25 years. Rich in the history and culture of the period, the story blends well-rounded characters and realistic events that must occur where people embrace a full life. This is a novel of love, happiness, progress, tragedy, strength and evolution. Well written!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago