×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

People Are Unappealing: Even Me
     

People Are Unappealing: Even Me

4.1 34
by Sara Barron
 

See All Formats & Editions

Born the child of a homo and a hypochondriac (Okay, okay. Her dad’s not really a homosexual. He just acts like it. Her mom, however, really is a hypochondriac), Sara Barron never stood a chance of being normal. At age eleven, she starts writing porn (“He humped me wildly with his wiener”). At twelve, she gets mistaken for a trannie. The pre-op sort,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

People Are Unappealing 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Been reading a lot of books by funny women and ran across this. After reading Tina Fey's and Mindy Kaling's books this looked to be somewhat similar. I had never heard of Sara Barron before but so glad to have happened on to this. She is quite funny and I hope to hear a lot more from her in the future. Keep writing!
PhreshJInG More than 1 year ago
Awesome book. Funny! Funny! Funny! I love the stories because they are easy to relate to. Sara is a sweetheart who takes the funny out of bad situations and makes us realize...life really could be worse. Definitely recommend anyone with a sense of humor to pick up a copy of this book. I've made all my friends and co-workers buy it, read and pass it on.
bittrsweet More than 1 year ago
I took a journalism class once. We were told to write a personal story on a Valentine's Day topic. As a girl to whom the mention of "v-day" set off the gag reflex, my story was decidedly cynical with an edge of amusing. We had to read the story out loud, and everyone there burst out laughing, even the professor. But at the very end, he said my story was "very, very clever, and therein lied my problem. Clever is manipulative, not real, not memorable". I'm still trying to figure out if I agree. Certainly, this collection of stories was extremely "clever". I read through them in record time, laughed aloud many times. The people described in this novel are unbelievable, hilarious, and perverse. I liked her writing style, her creative word usage. She definitely is a talented writer, and her intelligence comes through the narration even as she describes actions taken in her youth that are the opposite of intelligent. But maybe being clever about dark, serious things DOES make the entire story more farcical and, as a result, somehow less important, without literary longevity. I don't know what the author was going for--just a light, funny book, or something more? The last note was very dark, belying a light, humorous goal. Anyway, I enjoyed the book, and I think others would as well. But I do question whether it is possible to go away with anything other than amusement. I guess when I really love a book, it is because there is some truth in there that gives me a different perspective on life. But maybe not everything we read needs to do that if entertainment is all we're after.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just an FYI, I'm 99.9% sure that T. Waffle is Michael Stipe from REM.
ADHDShopaholic More than 1 year ago
This book was very funny, and I've recommended it to several friends. I loved her gossipy references to "Luigi","not Stella McCartney", and "Madrid Days Inn", but who the heck is T**T Waffle?!? Someone enlighten me before I go nuts trying to figure it out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sara barron is actually the best friend of my eccentric hypoconcract high school theater teacher (see chapter "albino") who told us about this book and then banned us from reading it...so of course we all went out bought it. its hilerous, witty and barron is as lively in person as she is in print. however we sadly did not get to find out any shocking revelations about "Maggie" (our teacher) except shes exactly the same person only in college, unmarried and not yet medicated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely worth a read
Marcus-CB More than 1 year ago
Mentally hilarious. Thoroughly enjoyed this read.
imeonx More than 1 year ago
Hilarious
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hilarious!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Compulsive reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Recommended for lots of laughs. T...t Waffle still makes me giggle.
flygirlAC More than 1 year ago
This book was a little different from what i was expecting. It was a chronological history of the author's strange life. If you've ever thought, "Ug, i should write a book about my life because it's so weird!" that's what she did. I know i've thought that before. Anyway, it was candid and fun, not particularly engaging. I read Trustfund Wives at the same time and that one was better. But was fun and lighthearted, which is a good thing for the beach and all, and you don't have to be super committed to it, either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of laugh-out-loud excerpts. Good, entertaining light read complete with a whole cast of dysfunctional characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago