×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

People
     

People

4.4 12
by Peter Spier
 

See All Formats & Editions

A celebration of diverse world cultures from the brilliant Peter Spier, one of the most beloved children's illustrators of the last 50 years. In this breathtaking tour around the world, young readers can pore over the many details that make each country and culture unique and special—illuminated by Spier's detailed and witty illustrations of festivals and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

People 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my 3 year old's favorite books. She loves the detailed pictures and picks out something else to ask about each time we read it. A eye-opening book for a young child; one that should teach concepts of differences and tolerance. I'm sure she will enjoy this book for years to come as she grows in understanding of the world around her.
ttocsmij More than 1 year ago
I can hardly add to what Chrijeff has said (see his Amazon review). I love this book and wholeheartedly recommend it to all age groups. Perhaps if this was translated and shown to children around the world, world peace could come in a few generations (providing we can keep those pesky grownups out of the way).
DanielGreene More than 1 year ago
Call it what you will but both my Sister and I had this book growing up. And I am convinced to this day that it is because of this book that I understand all people of the world, except for racist ones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The illustrations in this book are so great, with the few written words, make a great opportunity for adults and children to discuss differences in people both from the USA and other places in the world. This book usually makes it to any baby shower/birth present I give, along with 4 others, for the reasons given above. My (now adult) chiildren loved this book - they found my fathers ears and nose illustrated in all their oversized glory! - as well other physical traits in their father's family. This book also allows for discussions on the child's level about prejudice, various cultural differences, and diversity in the world. This is such a great book, I recommend it to everyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
People is a book about the kaleidoscope created by differences in the people of the world. Peter Spier illustrates differences in everything from clothing to noses to customs, showing respect for all. Our three children found the illustrations fascinating when they were young. The book provided a platform for discussing diversity and teaching respect. This Christmas, I'm buying the book for my grandaughters to continue the family tradition...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My granddaughter (age 6) had checked this out from her school library, and fell in love with it. I was sold on the values it reinforces; i.e., respecting the differences in people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
P_B_and_J More than 1 year ago
No better children's book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I use this book in the classroom as a lesson in respecting diversity in others. Kids find some of the illustrations really interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's me the famous poster that does thosands of spaces. This book is weird it shows peoples butts and stuff. Tons of spaces Thanks for reading folks I want to get to 0 charters My finger is starting to hurt at 2788 Wow Call me the spacer 2500 :) 2000 :) This is the longest post I have ever done I am at 1500 :) Just for you guys 900 Lol I swear I am not kidding Really that's why thisis so long I bet your finger is getting tired of scrolling 550 500 !!!!!!!!!! 300 Omg !!!!! 100!!!!!!!! Thanks for reading this 50 Bye I am out :)