×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up
     

People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up

4.1 31
by Richard Lloyd Parry
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lucie Blackman—tall, blond, twenty-one years old—stepped out into the vastness of Tokyo in the summer of 2000, and disappeared forever. The following winter, her dismembered remains were found buried in a seaside cave.

Richard Lloyd Parry, an award-winning foreign correspondent, covered Lucie's disappearance and followed the massive search for her, the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman Who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo--and the Evil That Swallowed Her Up 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
rayzern More than 1 year ago
Exceptionally well-written true crime book. I was completely unaware of the case he describes and the author does a great job of slowly revealing the facts of the case. This author clearly has given great thought to pace and has an interesting perspective on Japanese. culture. I think the author's use of his first person perspective of the case is interesting and unusual, though I guess I would like it a bit more if he made it clear that he was talking about his subjective experience rather than having the reader assume it was just a explication of the facts. That said, it was an extremely well-researched and beautifully written book. Cheers to the author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best true crime stories I've read in years. Parry's acccess to the victum's family and his knowledge of Japanese culture make this a highly interesting read. Parry has a keen sense for story telling and the book was hard to put down. Justice was hard won and this compelling narrative moves the story through to its harrowing final verdict.
Anays More than 1 year ago
Parry did an amazing job with this true crime piece. It is very detailed, informative, and straightforward. He folds in research at just the right points in such a way that he does not forget about the one story he is reporting. Not only do you get the story of Lucie Blackman, you get multiple related cases, detailed accounts, and a deep look into the so-called "deviant" cultures that exist overseas. Wonderful job, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I haven't read a true crime book this thorough in a long time.
hsgamble More than 1 year ago
Unable to put this down. Super interesting and suspenseful story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book wasn't so much about the disappearance of Lucie B. but of the boring lives /people who were helping look for her. It was bad enough that at the very beginning of the book the reader learns what happens to her. I am half way finished with the book but can't take anymore. Do not recommend!
Mingua More than 1 year ago
Thought that it was a well written book. You can tell a lot of thought and research was put in to this book. The author at times did go into far more detail in some areas than I thought necessary, but didn't spend a lot of time on those issues. I agree that at the end of the trial he did spend a lot of time on personal thoughts, but it also made me look at some of the different issues he was speaking of, in a different light. Would highly recommend.
L.A.Carlson-writer More than 1 year ago
Chilling.  Editor, Author and The Times Tokyo Bureau Chief Parry invites into the story of Lucie Blackman who went to Japan in 2000 and disappeared shortly there after. A beautiful 21 year old woman who wanted something different and traveled with her best friend to Japan.  As we learn about the Blackman family we may see members of our ow families but what will become chilling is the subculture of sexual behavior which goes on to include young women who could be our daughters.  Along with dealing with a legal system that appears to be unmotivated and different from the Western one.  As a parent I was haunted by this story as it's unforgettable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is good but after the trial the book drags with the authors personal views.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good read for try crime buffs. Starts out a little slow and picks up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love a good suspense/mystery and this true story had it all but I felt the author went off in too many directions. He knew the details of every characters life but it took me away from the story too many times. I was really disappointed, this could have been such a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the dullest true crime books I have ever read. If poor Lucie's family was as the author describes, then they are pathetic. It had way too much about Lucie' s family & the trial chapters were a snooze. I made myself finish this & do not recommend.
slimperkins More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. One of the great true crime books ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well told true story that provides an interesting insight into Japanese culture.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very insightful full of twists dark
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago