×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Perfect Escape
     

Perfect Escape

4.4 10
by Jennifer Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

Kendra has always felt overshadowed by her older brother, Grayson, whose OCD forces him to live a life of carefully coordinated routines. To Kendra, the only way she can stand out next to Grayson is to be perfect, and she has perfection down to an art — until a cheating scandal threatens her flawless reputation.

Behind the wheel of her car, with Grayson

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Perfect Escape 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I couldnt put it down and read it in a day it was that amazing. For those of u who havent read it yet u must read it. Its bitter sweet in some parts and funny and others. I actually have ocd but not as bad as graysons. I dont sort and count rocks, although sometimes i do count things and will not stop until i end on an even too. This book is breathtakingly beautiful!
Allison9516 More than 1 year ago
Amazing book. It really looks at the stigma and prejudices against those with a mental disorder.
ImaginaryReads More than 1 year ago
I love books with a strong sibling relationship. Imagine my joy when I found a book centered on a sibling relationship. The story didn't disappoint; in fact, it was better than I imagined. It isn't all-around happy--Kendra has her fair share of frustrations, tears, and worries--however, I was perfectly happy reading this story. I understand the complexities of a sister-brother relationship (though I'm the older one in the relationship), and I can empathize with her feelings, though I haven't had to cope with her situation. Kendra has felt overshadowed by her brother and his OCD problems. While she realzies that it's not really his fault that he has these compulsions, she can't help but feel as though her life is run by him. His return added on top of her fear of having her future ruined by a cheating scandal drive her to run away with her brother, who also has had enough with his OCD issues, far from their problems at home. The emotions run rampant in this novel. Kendra and her brother have their issues, Grayson dealing with people treating him as though her could have an emotional breakdown any moment and Kendra dealing with the pressures of being the perfect, normal daughter. Both think the other have an easier time and have their moments of jealousy. It is also true that Kendra has her selfish reasons for the trip and for trying to cure Grayson of his disorder. Nevertheless, she and her brother have a strong bond; they love each other and do their best to look after each other. I love them. Seriously. They're amazing siblings for all their imperfections; it is a human thing, imperfection. My eyes were tearing as I neared the end of the novel. The story explores the impact of OCD on a family and how their friends and others view them. Grayson is a genius and a nice guy; however, people express their disappointment on how his OCD prevents him from reaching perfection, and they don't look further than his OCD to appreciate who he is as a person. Not many characters are introduced in this novel. Each one is important in how he or she influences the major characters, especially the ones that stick around for more than a few scenes. There are fun roadstops, bad jokes that made me and my brother laugh (I shared them with him, as he was in the room with me), and there were some stormy moments that tore at my heart when Kendra and Grayson released pentup emotions. More than a story about two sibling on a road trip, more than a story about cheating and OCD, Perfect Escape is about family, friendship, and acceptance. It is about the imperfections that make us who we are. I wanted the story to continue, so we can find out more about what happens later. At the same time, I appreciate where this story leaves us because it's the moment of realization, and it's the point where Kendra needs to reach. This story left me feeling happy and satisfied. There's nothing more I could have asked of Jennifer Brown from this story. I look forward to seeing more books from her!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is so funny. Lots of lovable characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
The perfect read for a lazy day, Perfect Escape gave me just that. An escape to new characters who are in over their head. I love stories that really deep. The plot of this book flows from everything they went through and what they will face. Once your in the book, the reader is immediately thrown into Kendra's shoes. I like that the plot gives the reader the information that we want but also keeps up intrigued with what is coming up next. Now, the characters are what kept me on my toes. Their emotions and the way their life is, brings me to my knees. I felt for them, both of them. Kendra the child who is ignored cause she is normal. And Grayson, who is constantly needing attention. When both of them release their feelings it's amazing. To see both sides of what they struggle with, it gives the reader a good insight of who they are. Who they longed to be. And you know what? Sometimes I want to do exactly what Kendra did. Just get in the car and drive. Anywhere. Anytime. To just let go and escape, seems absolutely beautiful to me. In life things get so overwhelming you need the escape. Perfect Escape is a great story of clearing your mind. Just letting go of all what you hidden and deal with privately on your own. We all need those days to sit back and reflect. To let yourself escape and take your time in making any life changing decision. Perfect Escape is awesome!
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Perfect Escape is a very different "realistic fiction" than the most ones I read out there. Kendra, the main protagonist, is always overshadowed by her older brother; Grayson, because of his OCD. Kendra's parents always have to pay extra attention to Grayson because they're always worried something might cause him to get obsessive too much. Because of this, Kendra thinks that she has to be the "perfect" child in order to make up for Grayson's abnormality. One day, Kendra gets herself into a huge mess at school. Worried that she'll get expelled, and ruin her image for perfectionism, she runs away. Though Kendra didn't run away by herself, she decided to take her brother with her and cure him from his OCD. A different routine and different places might make Grayson anxious, but Kendra decided that she'll let him get used to it, and then eventually won't be bothered by it anymore. The beginning of the story was very intriguing. Jennifer Brown has made a great deal of describing an OCD patient, because Grayson felt so real to me. Kendra's feelings might seem selfish to some people, but that's how they are. I completely understand both of them, because I've got siblings, and I know what it feels like to be "jealous" sometimes. Even though this was a realistic fiction, it was a fun read because it was a road trip as well. It was fun being in the adventure with them, to get to see all the places and it actually felt like I experienced it with both of them. It was interesting that Jennifer added additional characters through the trip. That way, I didn't get bored at all. Overall, it was a great realistic fiction story. True that it didn't move me that much, but it was interesting and fun to read. I have to say it was sad at parts, especially because of the siblings love. It was engaging to read a novel about siblings, and not a novel about a boy and a girl who fell in love. Perfect Escape felt more... how do I say this....It felt more like I was watching a personal life. A family that has problems and issues, so that was a very different view. Perfect Escape was a great read, and I do recommend it to all readers out there!
Andreat78 More than 1 year ago
Siblings. They're your closest genetic relative. You love them. You hate them. You wish they would "shut the hell up and go away". Yet when someone else hurts them, it's on. But imagine what it's like to have a sibling whose behavior controls your life. You can't take family vacations because of panic-induced freak outs. Your best friend's family moves across the country to get her away from the "crazy" boyfriend who also happens to be your brother. You aim for perfection to ease the worried strain you see on your parents' face. The pressure becomes so much that you will do anything to remain the "perfect child". This is Kendra's life and what pushes Kendra to take Grayson on the perfect escape. Perfect Escape was simple in it's telling, and gripping in it's realistic look at living with someone with OCD. So many of us joke about being obsessive compulsive. I was very surprised to learn that the disorder is not simply based on the compulsion, but more so on the obsession. I myself spent a lot of years with a compulsive behavior. [I counted letters, syllables, words, all the time. Even while having conversations I would count how many words in the sentences. Sometimes I just counted to soothe myself.] This was nothing in comparison to someone with OCD, and t never truly interfered with my life. I eventually trained myself to stop, though I bet I can automatically tell you the number of letters in any word you throw me. But with the true OCD, the affected has a difficult time functioning because it doesn't allow them to move on until the compulsion is satisfied, no matter how long it takes. This information in itself made Perfect Escape a fascinating read. You know the phrase "It's not about the destination, but the journey." ? That phrase describes Perfect Escape perfectly. Kendra thinks she's taking Grayson away to cure him, and once she fixes him, she can go home and face her own problems. But what if Grayson can never be truly "fixed"? What if he has his own issues in the shadows of her perfection? The story of the two, each longing to find their own place, was remarkable. I'm sure anyone with siblings can relate, regardless of whether they can specifically identify with Kendra and Grayson. I loved Perfect Escape. It's a book that taught me about relationships, understanding, and love, but mostly acceptance. It made me feel and it made me think. Perfect Escape is a beautiful book that I fully intend to share with others, to read again and again.