×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Perfect Storm: A True Story of Men Against the Sea
     

The Perfect Storm: A True Story of Men Against the Sea

4.2 152
by Sebastian Junger
 

See All Formats & Editions

A real-life thriller that leaves us with the taste of salt on our tongues and a terror of the deep.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Perfect Storm: A True Story of Men Against the Sea 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 152 reviews.
Bill_in_LA More than 1 year ago
I read this book shortly after it first came out on hard cover, I then reread it several years later. Junger did an excellent job in getting most of the details right. He told it like it was. I served aboard the Coast Guard Cutter Tamaroa (the cutter that rescued most of the Air National Guard helecopter crew) starting shortly after this event took place, I knew many of the key players ivolved in all that took place. I have met many others that were involved as well. (The Tam's decommissioning ceremony was a very emotional event in 1994). If you're looking for an acturate portrailal of what could and sometimes does happen on the open sea, this is a good book for you. It's also good for those who have ever wondered about what the U.S Coast Guard and the Air National Guard deal with on a daily basis. over all an excellent book
Guest More than 1 year ago
Nonstop action from page to page. The comepletly factual book actualy makes the Andrea Gail and the six men aboard come to life along with a monsterous sea with the power of God.
svsu More than 1 year ago
The perfect storm book tells what its like to be a sword fisherman on the east coast. I can tell you it is a grueling job with weeks out at sea and little sleep. This book really tells you everything. Watch the movie then read the book. I purchased The Perfect Storm in ebook format.
Aimee_Leon More than 1 year ago
The Perfect Storm was a gripping and tragic true story of the struggle between man and strong elements. This non fic novel is about the swordfish ship 'The Andrea Gail' and its crew on the rugged seas. The rare conditions that led to three seperate storms to merdge into one dagerously violent storm is known as the perfect storm. This storm produced waves as high and ten stories high and 120 mile-an-hour winds. Talk about crazy weather. The Andrea Gail is caught right in the worst part of this storm and the crew struggles to survive, the crew's friends and family worry anxiously to hear news of their loved ones. A touching love story and an excellent adventure. The writing was outstanding and very descriptive. Sebastian Junger got all of the setting detailed well and got great point of view of all family members & friends of the victims. The Perfect Storm, was a great and suspenseful non fiction novel. It was the perfect read.
Elvertron700 More than 1 year ago
Sebastian Junger is a great author. He was able to describe the theme of the book so well and he nailed every detail. In the beginning of the book I could imagine the scene and even the hint of a harbor smell in the air. Even though the start of the book describes a sad situation, it still is enjoyable to read. There is sadness for the missing of the men when they are gone; there is so much happiness between Bobby and Chris. Gloucester, Massachusetts is described as a rainy and grey area to live in, but there is brightness between Bobby and Chris that lifts up the mood and gives the reader hope and a happy feeling. The book is a true love story. The power of love between the fishermen on the boat and their loved ones on the short is so massive despite their great distant apart. Everyone wants to see their loved ones again. I think that the whole point of this book is to tell the reader that even in the worst of times, there is a bright place. If you’re a reader who likes to know about history, it’s also a great book. Sebastian Junger includes stories about the past that explain how many things began in the main story. On the other hand, the book can get a little boring. Fishing can be an unexciting topic to read about in detail. There was also so much description of the storm that the book was a little slow at times. It was great explanation of the storm just a little too much for my taste. Nevertheless, this is a good book to read because even in the darkest hour, there is a bright spot that lifts you up. Also, it’s hard to find a book with such great description of every detail.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a story book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book The Perfect Storm was a very good book. It had very descriptive and captivating tales of not only the Andrea Gail in, but many other ships and coast guard men. It was interesting to read and I learned a lot from it. I would recommend this for older reads, probably high school or older. It was a good book. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story gives me a lot of respect for what the fishing people have to go through for their livelyhood. Think they well earn every dollar they make.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book to read found it hard to put down. Also very enlightening.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book kicks ass!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was really enjoyable for me; it tells the true story of a commercial fishing boat, the Andrea Gail, that fishes swordfish. The book describes a fishing trip the boat heads out on, and a storm that hits them during a trip, the author describes the storm as perfect because it could not possibly have been any worse. The trip the characters take is to a fishing spot known as grand banks near Newfoundland in Canada. The crew extends the trip, because the fishing was not going well, and they needed a profit. When they start heading home they are alerted with reports of small hurricanes around the area they are sailing through, but the captain of the Gail, Billy Tyne, decides to keep going, because their fish are spoiling and they all want to get home. When they are about halfway home, three hurricanes smash together and become one of the most violent ocean storms in history, and the Andrea Gail gets pulled into it and disappears. None of the facts in this book were made up, the waves that were ten stories high and the powerful winds that tore up the sea are all real. This book was one of the most unbelievable non-fiction books I have ever read. I highly recommend it and rate it 9 out of ten.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sebastian Junger is an amazing author who can tell a story in a book just like he was sitting in the room with you having a chat. By the end of this book, I felt I knew these people and I felt for them. Junger conveyed their bravery, determination, and grief to the point that I did more than just feel sorry for them; I felt respect. The movie did not do this book justice. For me this is a must-read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago