×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Perilous Fight: America's Intrepid War with Britain on the High Seas, 1812-1815
     

Perilous Fight: America's Intrepid War with Britain on the High Seas, 1812-1815

2.4 27
by Stephen Budiansky
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Perilous Fight, Stephen Budiansky tells the rousing story of the U.S. Navy during the War of 1812, when an upstart American fleet fought off the legendary Royal Navy and established America as a world power for the first time.
 
Through vivid re-creations of riveting and dramatic encounters at sea, Budiansky shows how this underdog coterie of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Perilous Fight: America's Intrepid War with Britain on the High Seas, 1812-1815 2.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
TOverton More than 1 year ago
Author, Budiansky, with good research writes in a style that requires your dedicated attention to follow well. If you are one who wants to absorb your reading well you may wish to read this book twice. It took me longer to read this than I assumed from the standpoint of it's number of pages. I thought this very informative but speaking for myself, if I were quized regarding it's contents, I would surely fail. I felt like I was carried here and there at times without the structure of helpful transitions. Books subject: The War of 1812. If you're looking for battle scenes at sea there's not much here. Primarily the circumstances resulting in war are what is covered and analysist of leading characters of the war. Englands disrespect and unwillingness to recognize the United States as a new partner in the world set the stage. Impressment and thuggery ignited the old revolutionaries once more. The U.S. finally faced the fact that good world defense starts at sea with a good Navy. How many of us know even a little about this war? "Perilous Fight" is for history buffs and for students of American history. I'm glad to have this one under my belt.
troutrivers More than 1 year ago
so many negative reviews, I enjoyed the book - definitely written from a Yankee viewpoint - as intrepid as the tiny US navy may have been, the war ended with none on the war aims of the Madison administration fulfilled, most importantly the conquest of Canada
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
oldsewnsew More than 1 year ago
I love history books and would love to read this one, but, at $28.00 for an e-book? No thank you, I will not be purchasing the book at that ridiculously high price. The Amazon Kindle edition is $16.79. Is Barnes and Noble trying to price itself out of the e-reader community?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a truly ludicrous price for an ebook! I sincerely hope this is not a price point toward which ebooks are trending. Borrow the ebook from your public library and download to your Nook--do not encourage this type of predatory pricing, regardless of how good the book is!! Of course I'm reviewing the price rather than the book--how else are publishers going to get the message? I simply refuse to purchase ebooks priced like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B & N is pricing themselves out of the ebook market with too much greed. I would live to read this book but I will not pay $28.
Drahthaar More than 1 year ago
Why even buy an Ereader if the book is going to cost this much more than the hardcover? I hope B&N gets the point here because I sure don't understand theirs. Like the other two reviewers I am just expressing my displeasure with this type of pricing. I have not read this book because I would never pay this price.
kukhri More than 1 year ago
Why would one consider paying $28 for an e-book? Higher priced books are exactly the reason people are turning away from the physical copies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is it possible that you B&N have the price of the eBook and hardcover reversed? The hardcover price of around $18 is more inline with Amazon's $16. The $28 price is more like a hardcover price. Would like to buy this book for my library but not at that price. Will wait and hope the library eventually offers it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I saw the title of this book I was ready to jump on it. It's a book I would really love to read but not at that price. Volume sales is what makes money. Price it to sell and it will.
Bossbus More than 1 year ago
How can Barnes and Noble price an e-book for 28 dollars and think we will buy it. This is by far the worse mistake they could ever make. If prices continue to be so high for e-books, which cost less that printed editions, all of us Nook owners will have to go back to printed books and sell our Nooks on Ebay.