×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower
     

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

4.6 2783
by Stephen Chbosky
 

See All Formats & Editions

Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie is navigating through the strange worlds of love, drugs, "The Rocky Horror Picture Show", and dealing with the loss of a good friend and his favorite aunt.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2783 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm... appropriate all the time, as shown in this book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has very deep, easy to connect with characters and a plot that won't let you put the book down. Because of it's high school setting I wouldn't recommend this book for people under 13, but if you think you can handle the story without your parents flipping out too much, than go for it, cause this book will leave you with 100 hundred that aren't even yours. There are parts where you WILL cry (I guarantee it), parts where you will want to scream at the top of your lungs and not care who stares at you, and parts that will throw a smile on your face....not PUT a smile on ur face but that smile will THROW itself there. Pick up this book and read it NOW!!
ive_got_a_theory More than 1 year ago
The Perks of Being a Wallflower takes you through the life of an amazing child. A bright young man growing up observing and watching, always writing letters to a person he merely saw at a party. This book will take you on a journey you won't soon forget. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who can read. Chbosky has a talent for capturing your attention and then earning it with his wonderful characters and story line. A MUST read!!!
Mirandaaa More than 1 year ago
i LOVED this book, But what I loved most was Charlie. I understood him and where he was coming from I related to this book SO much which is probably why i liked it so much. My best-friend gave it too me and said "Here read this, i'm possitive you'll like it, it reminded me of you in ways." So i gave it a try and i loved it. i couldn't put it down! (: Read it, i'm sure you'll love it too! it'll make you feel.......infinate<3
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.
CatieCat75 More than 1 year ago
"The Perks of Being a Wallflower" was among the most beautifully written and touching books I have ever read. Though you never learn the true names of the characters and the anonymous person to whom Charlie (the main character) is writing to, the reader is still left with a satisfied feeling. I loved every minute of this book and found myself crying with Charlie and laughing at the moments in this book I have expirienced and can relate to. This is a must read for anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read this book many times over the years, and recently bought it for a girl I know for her 15th b-day. It is actually good to read at any age, but as it is a "coming of age" story, teenagers in particular can enjoy it. I would highly recommend it to anyone who hasn't read it.
sand7s More than 1 year ago
Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly
MrPotter07 More than 1 year ago
Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to draw the reader in and feel part of the story. Charlie, the hero, was a WONDERFUL character. He is so unique and loveable. You just want to be his friend. I'm glad that I read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read all the time and it is so rare that a book i read makes me feel so much. I can relate to this book so well considering i just compleated my first year of high school just like Charlie. This book is so real and so beautiful. At points Charlies life gets so terrible that you want to crawl on your bed and hold yourself in hopes that if you feel better, Charlie will too. And then there are the parts where this book plasters a smile onto your face. It reveals the true feelings of a teenager and the heartaches of high school. This isn't a book where everything turns out right, because this book is real, and in real life things sometimes dont turn out how we would like it. I loved this book and i thank the author for writing it because it made me feel for Charlie and it changed my perspective on high school.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is beautiful. It makes you laugh, tear up, it makes you feel happy, sad, confused. It really makes you think. Everyone should read this book at least once. This is a great story about a kid experiencing high school, friends, tragedy, drugs, sex. it's just great, read it you won't regret it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my all time favorite book. I learned so much about life and learned how to view it differently. I've read this book about 15 times and each time I read it I feel like I learn something new. I've highlighted sentences, paragraphs, and even pages that I relate to and I pass it around to my friends and they do the same. I encourage everyone to read it, it will open your eyes.
pineconie More than 1 year ago
I've loved this book for years, i lost my copy in a move and bought the ebook so i couldn't lose it again. there is so much that he is able to say in just a few words but those words go right to your heart and take ahold. The main character transcends gender lines to grasp each person who reads his story and you feel as though a mirror is being held up to that part of you that you've always wanted to understand but never quite did before. This book is superb and i've given it as gifts and re-read it yearly. It's an interesting and quick read but you'll learn what it means to feel infinite!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You get sucked into Charlie's life and you can relate to how he feels and some of the things he does. He's strange and relatable all at the same time. It will either completely go over your head or it'll seep in and make you think. I highly recommend this book but for a more mature reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have purchased this book, given it to friends, and repurchased it several times. I just feel like I always need to have a copy. I have reread it every time I need to feel what freshmnan year of highschool was all about. For better or worse this book dredges up the actual physical feelings of high school.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg i love this book it keeps you entertaned for hours i keep reading it over n over really awesome book <3 IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
alexhernandezyo More than 1 year ago
Because of good reviews, I decided to read this. I usually don't like books about high school and drugs and sex and stuff but this was a very entertaining book. You really fall in love with charlie and wish he was your best friend. Reading from charlie's perspective is very interesting. I was hooked to this book. I recommend it for anyone. it was really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i absolutly hate reading but i loved this book it reall kept my attention. the book actually related to me so i understood it alot better than the books we have to read in school. i really liked how it was written in letters so i could put the book down and understand it when i picked it back up later. the perks of being a wall flower had a great story and message and it was an easy read. i would deffinatly recomend it to my friends.
xnemo More than 1 year ago
The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a great book that holds a deep meaning. A comedy about friendships, influences and grief coming from the point of view from an outcast . Recommended for all young adults. This Page turner makes you want to read it over again. Four thumbs way up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just loved reading this book! And everyone who likes reading books that mess with your emotions should read it 100 percent! Putting this book down was super hard! This book had me in tears. Made me burst out laughing and brought a smile to my face. This book made me so angry I wanted to scream and so happy I wanted to dance. Its truly fantastic. Charlie is a character like no other and you get attached to him so easily. It was a shame when I ended the book. Because I wanted it to go on. And never end. I wanted to grow with Charlie. I recommend this to anyone who has a heart!??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perks is the kind of book that falls into your lap after a friend of a friend of a friend read it and passed it along until it came to you. That's exactly how I got my hands on it in the late 90's when I was still in high school. Once I finished the passed around copy, I went and bought a fresh one for myself. Once my younger sister started high school, I bought her a copy and she started the chain all over again. I specifically remember reading this book the first time and feeling like I understood Charlie exactly. Everyone has felt as he does at one point or another, and that what makes you really feel for him. When you get to the end you feel sad that your friend has moved on and you find yourself wondering how he is and what he's up to. It's hard not to get wrapped up on this story and feel close with the characters. I laugh and cry and the same parts each time I read it. I still have my original copy from the 90's, and I keep it by my bed to this day as a 30 year old adult. Obviously, I highly recommend this book not because you'll necessarily remember what happened, but because you'll remember how it made you feel. This book put a lot of things into perspective for me as a young person, and still sticks with me 15 years later. That should say something of this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Perks of Being a Wallflower is an insightful look into the life of Charlie through letters. Charlie writes anonymously to someone who we also do not know, all we know about the characters is that they all attend the same high school. Charlie is a wallflower, he sees and notices everything, everyone, but no one notices him. That is until he meets Sam and Craig, the step-siblings who show Charlie a new side of life. As Charlie falls in love with Sam he realizes what true love means. Craig who is homosexual finds how love hurts when his boyfriend, the captain of the football team, pulls away from Craig in fear of being outed. Throughout the story you follow Charlie's inner most thoughts on everything in his life and I recommend this book to everyone I know because it is simply and incredibly insightful novel that will connect on some level with everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was in high school that was more then 10 years ago. But I loves it then so much that I gave it to my little brother who was going in to high school. It is such a good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me all in since the first page. It was very well writen and the author captured what it is like being an akward yet intelligent young man. I reccommend this book to anyone over13 because there was some scenes that were intense and not for younf readers. But if u think ur ready u will really enjoy wachting Charlie and his heaert capturing life.
likeforsure More than 1 year ago
I'm always looking for a good book to read and I came across this one online.I read what it was about and then I read the reviews to it,I thought it would be a crappy book but it was pretty good.The book is about a teenager named charlie who has a hard time adjusting to life after his aunt dies.So since he can't talk about his feelings with his family he decides to write letters to an unknown person.It's also about the problems teenagers go through in High school, with their families and friends.Thrust me I wouldn't be wasting my time on writing a review for this book if it sucked.It's a definite buy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very tender story that I am rereading even though I just finished it this morning. It's one of the rare books that has me surrounded even when I am not reading.