×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Personal Geographies: Explorations in Mixed-Media Mapmaking
     

Personal Geographies: Explorations in Mixed-Media Mapmaking

4.9 11
by Jill K. Berry
 

See All Formats & Editions

Explore your Creative Self with Mixed-media Maps

You don't have to be a world traveler or a professional cartographer to embark on a grand journey of self-discovery through mapmaking. Personal Geographies gives you the tools and techniques you'll need to create artful maps of your self, your experiences and your personal journey. Chart the innermost

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Personal Geographies: Explorations in Mixed-Media Mapmaking 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
scoutsmom More than 1 year ago
I am loving this book. When I heard about this I immediately ordered it. I love maps, but I've always felt as though they were removed from me, something too arcane for me to grasp. Oh, I can read a map to find out where I'm going. That's no problem. But all the topography and symbology and the legend and what lines mean which kinds of roads, well... it is sometimes daunting. Jill Berry not only demystifies the regal map, but she also gives us permission to MAKE one of our own. Or more! Different kinds of maps! Maps of the self, hand maps, body maps, heart maps, history and street maps. And I appreciate that she shares the maps of other artists, with varying sensibilities. Not only are there 21 projects with clear tutorials, but the author's narratives are fascinating to me because they help to clarify the content I wish to bring into focus in my own maps from my own life stories. She talks about her life-long love of maps, and touches upon the evolution of maps, the influences guiding map-making, the values of maps through history, and really brings The Map into perspective. After loving the mysterious map for so long, I'm enjoying making my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so great that I purchased the paperback version after the Nook version proved to be disappointing. Do buy the paperback version, it is a fantastic book by a very talented artist, beautiful step by step lessons for the projects delivered in a personal and accessible voice. She is a very skilled teacher. I have the app on myiPad and the page numbers and links didn't sync. There were also missing pages and artwork - a good portion of the book was just not there. It seems like there was one version for the ebook and another for the hard copy.
TJenny More than 1 year ago
Not only does this book abound with cool techniques, what you learn about yourself by going through the projects is amazing. There's an entire world in me yet to be explored and these exercises are the ticket!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Avid-Reader_53 More than 1 year ago
Beautiful book that is simply organized yet filled with incredible ideas for combining story-telling, maps, and art. I've collected many "how to" books over the years, and this is at the top of my list. It's such a unique idea! The projects are clearly explained and contain great photographs and instructions. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in sharing their stories and art. You don't have to be an advanced artist either to complete these projects. They can be as simple or complex as you choose.
P_Arrowood More than 1 year ago
The next best thing to being there! Since receiving this book just after its release, it has become one of my favorites for fueling the creative fire. Clearly written and beautifully illustrated with work from the author and other artists, it is the next best thing to taking a class with Jill K. Berry! Personal Geographies is much more than a 'how to' book, though -- The back-story to the author's love of map making is very inspiring and the wide assortment of map related projects are the ideal springboard to cartophiles of any interest level. In addition to learning about the anatomy of maps, there is a good deal of historical information on the many ways maps have been made and used over the years. Consult the pages of this book to create a meaningful card/gift, jazz up your journaling, or indulge in a little introspective investigation. Whether mapping the memories of a special trip, a normal day, or a dream of the future, ideas abound in this excellent title from Northlight Books.
Lynda3 More than 1 year ago
I have always loved maps, but author Jill Berry takes the study, use and creation of maps to a whole new level in this book. She encourages her reader to think of and use maps in a whole new way. It's a fascinating and very informative book for any artist or art lover.
SomethingLisa More than 1 year ago
Jill Berry's book covers maps in a whole new way to me. She explains all the parts of a map and how I can make different maps to document my life. Maps aren't just for getting from point A to point B in a geographic location! I love the many ideas she covers from mapping your brain to how you got to a certain point in your life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like the author,I have an interest in maps and use them in my multi-media art. But this is not a book about just cartography though it explains the history, creation, and symbols of maps; it's about using cartography to create your own personal maps to thoughts, feelings, events, etc. Thank you Jill Berry for a new way to explore ourselves through art.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderfully written and the project ideas are great. There is no way to get it wrong. The questions you have to answer to give each project meaning are exactly the kinds of questions you would want to ask when making conversation with kids (and adults).