×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Peter and Max
     

Peter and Max

4.4 39
by Bill Willingham
 

See All Formats & Editions

Set in the imaginative realm of the award-winning comic book series FABLES, the book takes place long ago, in the deepest dark of The Black Forest. Two brothers — Peter Piper and his older brother Max — encounter ominous forces that change them both irreparably. Thus begins an epic tale of sibling rivalry, magic, music and revenge that spans medieval times

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Peter and Max (Collector's Edition) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
hbradbury More than 1 year ago
I think this story was a great extension to Fables we don't know much about from the graphic novels. I truly enjoyed the story which was full of all the dark side of the Fable world that I love already. I am looking forward to more novels of the like. If you have not read the Vertigo comic/graphic novel series, you might not as enjoy this book as much as I did.
wiggle More than 1 year ago
first off let me just say that after reading this book, i'm sorely tempted to read it again right now. the writing has this magical lure that brings you right in, letting you really invest in the story and the characters. now, you don't need to be familiar with the Fables graphic novel to enjoy Peter & Max but i think it's good to know the gist of it... you'll be acquainted with many of the characters that fill it's pages (Snow White, Bigby the big bad wolf and Prince Charming to name a few). they're the characters from childhood bedtime stories, fairy tales, Disney movies, even poems and nursery rhymes. the premise of Fables is that all of these characters truly existed in some world or other but fled to ours seeking sanctuary from the evil ruler they've come to know as the Adversary. with that being said, this book tells the story of two brothers: Peter and Max Piper (figured out who they are yet?). the synopsis is pretty much on the nose except not really espionage-y. the bulk of story takes place during the past which has a medieval/renaissance feel to it + magic. the rest of the story takes place in our present modern world + magic. the writing is very light and easy to read but the content is a bit dark at times so i only suggest this to teens and older but oddly enough, it makes you feel like a little kid again. i loved it. as a side note, you can read a preview of the first and second chapters of Peter & Max on the DC/Vertigo website. and for those who have read & enjoyed this book but aren't familiar with Fables, i implore you to check them out. volume 01 is a good place to start but the 1001 Nights of Snowfall is really good too since they're a collection of short stand-alone stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
Bill Willingham does an amazing job with his Fables properties. Here he shows that he can do a prose novel just as well, if not better, than his work with comics. Honestly, his stories would fit both mediums quite well. The author gives us the tale of two brothers, Peter and Max, and how their lives take drastically different paths. Willingham does a fantastic job of creating environments that seem real whether they are real or not. Fans of the Fables comics should absolutely read this but if you’ve never read any of them previously I can’t imagine you still not enjoying this as its easy to follow. Overall, its just a fantastic read.
simongr81 More than 1 year ago
A great read. Couldn't put it down. I would recommend reading some of the Fables comics first, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written!!!! Love the Fables series so this was a no brainer to read. Absolutely loved it, couldnt put it down. Even my husband, who usually reads war novels, military historues, and murder mysteries loved this book. It helps to have some knowledgs of the Fables series, my husband had a few questions while reading it, but i was able to give him the info and fill in the blanks. I know most people feel grafic novels or comic books are for kids or geeks, but if you enjoyed this novel you may want to at least give the first collection a try. They are very well written but i cautioon, NOT FOR CHILDREN. Bill Willingham has written a few childrens books. Again this is a great read and i very much look forward to his next novel about the Fables cast.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great read. The only negative I have to say about it is that the chapters can occassionally feel unconnected. Regardless: well worth a look!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FirstGeer More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Bill Willingham's work since I first read his mini-series that were spin-offs from Neil Gaiman's Sandman comic book series. His current long running series Fables is a great read in re-imagining the world(s) of your favorite childhood nursery rhymes and stories into modern day and tales beyond "happily ever after". Based on the lives of the Piper brothers, Peter and Max (hence the title of the book), it does a good job of weaving the modern tale with the beginning of their rivalry. The tale begins in the modern world, but quickly flashes back to show how the events of an invading army and the gift of a precious family heirloom serve to send the borthers from friendly rivals with some teen-angst rivalry into deadly enemies and their tales of survival. If you have read the Fables books, some aspects of the story are familiar, but you don't have to have read any of them to enjoy this book. If you are, this book doesn't directly tie in with any of the events of the book so far so doesn't have to be read in any particular order with the comics.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rogue_Scholar More than 1 year ago
As someone who just recently got to reading Willingham's acclaimed "Fables" comic series, I have to admit that I devoured this book. Not only is the trademark wit, drama, and characterization present, but it also demonstrates Willingham's ability to weave just as beautiful a story with only words. For those readers familiar with the story of the refugee Fables, the book is laced with references to the series set in contemporary times, but also helps fill in some of the background for a few of the characters during the period the Homelands were occupied by the Adversary's forces--including appearances by Bigby Wolf and Frau Totenkinder. For those readers not familiar, this is still a good book that delves into a rich plot of childhood lost, sibling rivalry, childhood love, and not surrendering to one's fate.