×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Peter Pan in Scarlet
  • Alternative view 1 of Peter Pan in Scarlet
  • Alternative view 2 of Peter Pan in Scarlet
     

Peter Pan in Scarlet

4.5 26
by Geraldine McCaughrean
 

See All Formats & Editions

"An exquisitely rendered, magical return to Neverland." —Horn Book

"McCaughrean captures the excitement of the original story." —School Library Journal, starred review

"The much-honored McCaughrean delivers an 'authorized' sequel that stays true to the orginal's style and spirit but speaks to modern sensibilities as well." —Kirkus Reviews

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Peter Pan in Scarlet 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
curled-up-with-a-book More than 1 year ago
This is the only "authorized" sequel of Peter Pan. I wasn't sure about reading it at first becuase some things are precious and should never be tampered with. This book couldn't be more different from the first but has the a child-like nature. By child-like I mean, remember when you were a kid and every time you went into make-believe it was so real and so serious that you were truly in another world? Well this book takes you back to that place, it so childishly real and serious that I was lost in it... A lost girl if you will, I forgot where I was, who I was in the best possible way. Read this book you won't regret it.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
PETER PAN IN SCARLET by Geraldine McCaughrean should be read by every fan of J.M. Barrie's PETER PAN.

The reader will return to the age at which they first read the original and re-experience the wonder of seeing the world through the eyes of Peter Pan and his gang of comrades in adventure. It is the first approved sequel to the original tale, and the author manages to capture the style and excitement of Mr. Barrie's classic. It is remarkable in every sense of the word and, like the original, proceeds go to the Great Ormond Street Children's Hospital and not to Barrie's estate.

Set in the 1920s, nightmares are slipping out of Neverland and into the real world to find Wendy and the original Lost Boys, who are now respectable adults with children of their own. They revert to children in a magical way and the adventure begins.

Neverland is no longer a land of eternal summer. It is currently Autumn, something that has not happened before. When Wendy and the Lost Boys make it back to Neverland, they meet Peter, who is alone but still the essence of Boy. After fighting through the denial of Peter, who loves Neverland in reds and golds as much as he does in shades of green, it is up to them to save it.

They face their worst fears, remember who they once were, and deal with the sadness of loss and the joy of love with a youthful exuberance that J.M. Barrie would be proud of. His creations are treated with the utmost respect and tenderness by an author who is truly in love with her story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
perer is my disney boyfriend so ha ha. This book is awsome i feel like i wanna be wendy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I tried to read it in second grade but it was too big. I tried again the summer before 4th grade amd loved it. I took the book everywhere because I couldn't stop reading it. It's the best book ever !!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great but it does get kinda scsry. The basis of the story is that wendy snd the lost boys return to neverland because something had gone wrong. Towards the cend of story they find a great treasure but be warned. When vhence you put on someone elses clothing in neverland you become that person. Oh and you musnt trust the one who owns the carnival for that who is thought to be dead is not. The book might be kinda intense for younger kids because peter pan turns into cap- whoops. Almost gave away thr secret. Hee hee hee.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's too bad that Geraldine McCaughrean has to say that she is the 'official' author to the sequel to James Barrie's original story of 'Peter Pan' because it's just not that good. It's certainly not as entertaining OR as well written as Dave Barry's sequels whether 'official' or not. It just smacks of one-up-man-ship on the part of the author. Let the book speak for itself. This reviewer is glad to say that I can't wait for yet another of Dave's sequels to hit the shelves! You will actually like this book if you liked 'Hook'. Somewhat similar in that the characters are grown up and go back to Neverland.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing but...........IT MADE ME SO SAD! Prepare for some heartwrenching with this otherwise fun book. This book is about when Wendy and the boys are grown up and decide to find some way to go back. (Spoiler:one of them is dead:(TEARS!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This author does a really great job with using the real story of peter pan and putting a cool realistic/science fiction twist on it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book it is epic!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great follow up to J M Barrie's classic novel.The plot had alot of twwist and turns which was perfect for this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Desert-Queen14 More than 1 year ago
J.M. Barrie is my favorite author and I don't believe anyone could match his ability to make his readers smile, sniffle and think hard all at once. "Peter and Wendy" appeals to people of all ages because it deals with the conflicts we have faced, are facing or will soon face as we move through the stages of life. "Peter Pan in Scarlet" does not accomplish the same objective, but McCaughrean's writing is faithful to many aspects of Barrie's. Children will laugh at her book, adults will smile, and betwixt-and-betweens who appreciate Peter Pan's character and struggles will understand what the story accomplishes for him. It does not pretend to be as psychologically revealing as the original novel, but in it Peter Pan and his Legend are developed in a delightful way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reads_a_lot More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book. When I first picked it up, I wasn't so sure, because some things shouldn't be messed with. But this book was amazing, written truly in the spirit of the original J.M. Barrie, but it makes a bit more sense. :D It was a wonderful story, that I already can't wait to reread!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to say that there are some really great snippets of writing in here that tap into the mind of a child. Everything has its own personality, whether alive or not, and reading those parts made me feel like I was five years old again and snuggled up with my favorite picture book. However, it took me about six months to finish this book because it was almost TOO sweet and I wouldn't pick it up again until weeks later. Plus, I did not like the direction the author took the characters--I feel it ruined the storybook magic of Peter Pan. I would recommend it for those little bits of clever writing, but not if you are looking for a book you can't put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Peter pan is my husband so sorry 2 dissapoint u all out there who like him but he is mine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!