×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Phantom (Harry Hole Series #9)
     

Phantom (Harry Hole Series #9)

4.1 67
by Jo Nesbo
 

See All Formats & Editions

Following from Jo Nesbø's electrifying international best-sellers The Snowman and The Leopard, now comes Phantom, which plunges the brilliant, deeply troubled, now former police officer Harry Hole into a full-tilt investigation on which his own tenuous future will come to depend.

When Harry left Oslo again for Hong

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Phantom 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 67 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
slow reading. Hard to keep track of what is happening. Lost interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first Harry Hole novel and I must say it was very good. Nice plot twists and plenty of realistic drama.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Marvelously woven plot.  Less 'fictional' than what the real drug underworld is probably all about.  Readers with personal or family addiction issues  should beware of the extremely dark and cruel reminders of the effect of the disease.  Highly recommended if you can detach from the subject matter.
OldReader43 More than 1 year ago
If you like dark, tightly written mystery/police procedural novels,especially Scandanavian ones, you will enjoy this. If you've never read any of the books in Jo Nesbo's carefully plotted Harry Hole series, I'd recommend that you read them in order. However, each of the novels stands alone. The translation from Nesbo's native Norwegian is into "British" English so there are a couple of quirky wordings but they don't diminish the work and sometimes add to its appeal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Complex crime novel deals with drug and alcohol abuse on a very personal level. Dark, believable story that pulls no punches.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
In the three years since the conclusion of “The Leopard,” Harry Hole has been serving contentedly as a non-violent enforcer based in Hong Kong, collecting money owed to his employer. Then one day, he ups and returns to Oslo when he learns that Oleg, the drug-using son of the love of his life, has been arrested for the murder of a fellow junkie. The police consider the case closed, so Harry acts independently to investigate. And along the way he finds himself immersed in the midst of Norway’s large drug problem. Hole uncovers a trail of violence and disappearances, police and political corruption, and Harry himself becomes a target of the mysterious drug lord Dubai. The novel is a bleak story of damaged individuals hooked on drugs, and the sleaziness inherent in the activity. The prior novels were forceful, clearly showing Harry’s tortured soul, and his unswerving ability to dig, dig, dig to the heart of a case, honestly and insightfully. “Phantom” accomplishes these ends, but to some extent is confusing at the end; whether the author did this purposely or not yet remains to be seen. As usual, the novel is translated faithfully and excellently, and the book is recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a fan of Harry Hole series, this latest book will not disappoint. It has a very surprising ending which makes me hope there will be another book soon.
rocky5 More than 1 year ago
Having read quite a few of Jo Nesbo's books, this one starts out more gently. Some just assault you right off the bat. It will grip out, however and bring Harry Hole back onto the scene. You will get reacquainted with his lady love. This one deals with drug trafficking. If you haven't read his novels before, you might want to get a couple of the older Harry Hole mysteries and this one, so you can get to know the character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book! I have been following Harry Hole series since the Bat. Can't wait to see what happens next - it can't be over!
drlcrane More than 1 year ago
As good as it gets although sometimes you do wish that Harry could find happiness. Still the ending surprised me, I will be disappointed when the series ends but I expect that Nesbo will come up with something equally great.
KristaSaysSo More than 1 year ago
Well I don't want to give anything away! This one is surprising and I really had no idea how it was going to end. As always, the Harry Hole novels are great page turners.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jo Nesbo's books always have interesting information, characters, and plot twists. Some things you can see coming but others are a surprise. You want to see how things are resolved once the story begins.
pjcolbert More than 1 year ago
A moving story of a former cop and step father trying to save his own from the all consuming drug culture in Oslo, Norway. Its sometimes hard to identify the good guys and nobody wins.
bookbilly More than 1 year ago
With all the previous reviews, there's no reason to outline the plot and risk spoiling the surprising ending (if that truly is the ending). Phantom continues the line of Scandinavian detective novels featuring world weary, scarred (literally and figuratively in this case), psychologically impaired, but brilliant and dogged detectives willing to cut through bureaucratic and legalistic obstacles in the pursuit of the guilty party. All this takes place in the bracing and oft gloomy weather patterns of northern Europe, specifically Oslo. The pattern is consistent with the genre. A thrilling and enticing introduction, a somewhat belabored middle section as clues and false trails are planted and interspersed with periodic suspense, and a final rush of a "don't put this book down" climax, but here, interestingly, an ambiguous ending. To me, that's a good thing, as pat resolutions can be unsatisfying. Nesbo fans will enjoy this well written novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great! I did not see the ending coming! This author is one of my favorites. Every time I thought I got the plot figured out I was wrong. I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not as good as his previous books featuring Harry Hole
Stevec50 More than 1 year ago
Harry Hole, grew tired of his life in Oslo. His life working homicide for the police and the people he saw touched and destroyed by events. For three years he lived and worked in Hong Kong, getting individuals to pay their debts on time for his employer. When he learns that the Oleg, the son of Rakel, his one true love, and a boy he had helped raise for many years has been accused of murder he returns to Norway to clear his name. Harry no longer has the protection of his badge, but he still has a few loyal friends and some individuals who owe him favors. Working his way into the violent drug culture in the streets of his hometown, Harry finds that there are few people he can trust and a number of people who don't like his snooping into things. Told from several different perspectives, including that of the murder victim as he lays dying the story reveals a history of deception and greed. Nesbo once again writes a brilliant, if brutal, tale of a Norway we don't see promoted to tourists and perhaps ignored by those who actually live there. The Harry Hole books are international bestsellers for a reason and Nesbo been nominated and received so many awards.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Look up. Age: Eh. Around 25-30. Race: Argonian (You know. The lizard looking race from The Elder Scrolls?) Looks: Black scales, a line of black feathers on the back of his head, red eyes, reptile teeth, snout and tail, raspy voice. Attire: Dragon scale or Deadric full armor minus the helmet. Weapon: Ebony (not wooden but extremly powerful.) Greatsword and Ebony bow. Cool facts: Dragonborn. A soul of a dragon in the body of a mortal. He can perform thu'ums. Meaning that if he shouts three words in dragonic, some powerful or useful effect takes place (fus ro dah (force balence push)= object flies miles away.). There is no possible way to deflect or dodge a shout. He also breaths underwater as a natural ablite. Making him great for ambushes. History: A former Dark Brotherhood (another assasin group (still can't spell it.)) member, he quit in search for a group with a higher pay and more respect. He knew everyone was jealous of him because he was the best in the Dark Brotherhood. Now he's here. Something else you should know: He works well with someone else to help. And he's also good with healing certain wounds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all the Harry Hole novels and this is my least favorite.  To say they are getting more and more depressing is an understatement.  Evidently, nobody can be happy in Nesbo's world.  I found myself having to reread parts and go back and forth a few times in order to attempt to keep the characters straight.  By the end, other than the obvious, I truly don't know what happened.  I turned the page and the book was over.  I definitely do not think one could read this book and make any sense of it without having previously read the series, or at least the few books before this one.  I disagree with reviewers who state it can stand on its own.  I will read the next book in the series hoping it won't be the last I purchase.
LarryMason More than 1 year ago
Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole series is simply terrific. Not only is the plot development exquisite, keeping you on the edge of your chair until the very end, the character development is fascinating. You're as much worried about the safety of Harry and his "family" as you are about his mental health and sobriety. I can't wait for the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago