×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Photograph
     

The Photograph

3.1 28
by Penelope Lively
 

See All Formats & Editions

Look out for Penelope Lively’s new book, The Purple Swamp Hen and Other Stories.

Man Booker Prize–winning novelist Penelope Lively’s latest masterpiece opens with a snapshot: Kath, before her death, at an unknown gathering, holding hands with a man who is not her husband. The photograph is in an envelope marked “DON’T

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Photograph 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the story was intriguing, enough to keep you interested and turning the pages. I dont think her literary style is for everyone though - in some parts with more than one character the narrative would change without any hint, leaving the reader slightly confused as to whose point of view they are in; also the flashbacks to past events were done in the present tense and blended with the rest of text, so in some passages it was difficult to distinguish between past and present events. Other than that it was fairly good, a quick and interesting read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started to read this book to help my son with a paper and ended up buying my own copy to read. I can picture the charecters in my mind. I would love to see a movie made of this but would hate if they interpret it differently than I imagined it while reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
With this new book, Lively comes close to matching Moon Tiger, which still stands at the top of my list of contemporary novels. Lively catches so well here that universal human emotion that begins, 'if only I had known . . . ', an emotion that holds within it the tragic beauty of life, and love. A moving novel, as few are.
Anonymous 1 days ago
It wasn't exactly a page turner, but instead, an interesting series of character studies set in a unique premise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very well written and mesmerizing. I couldn't put it down. I loved the way the plot unraveled and was caught up in the novel all the way. It has a charm that is often found in English novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unlike some of the other reviewers, I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this book, particularly the alternating points-of-view. The language itself was poetic and rich.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book's premise sounds intriguing but the author did not deliver. I had no sympathy for any of the characters. I found it difficult to finish the story because I so disliked all of them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the worst book I have ever read. This was the April book in my book club and only 1 memeber of the club was able to finish the book. I tried to drudge through it, but literally fell asleep everytime I picked the book up. I quit after making it half way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really did enjoy this book, but for some odd reason I cannot say why. It was certainly well written, but a little unsettling. I didn't find it hard to get through as other readers have mentioned. However, throughout the entire book, I kept hoping for something different. I believe there was a life lesson the author was trying to share with her readers. I walked away from this book thinking that there are certain regrets in life that we can live with, while there are others that will haunt us for the rest of our lives. Neglecting the ones who loves us is probably one of those regrets to avoid.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The front cover picture & back cover synopsis led me to believe this was a suspenseful book about a character searching for the truth about someone they loved & thought they knew. I tried & tried to get through this book, but was bored to tears. This is the only book I have ever not been able to finish. Even books I haven't loved, I will usually force myself through just for the point of finishing a book I started. Please don't bother!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The jacket cover of the book was intriguing and I couldn't wait to start reading it. However, it did not meet my expectations. The summary was more interesting than the book itself.