×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pinkalicious: Teeny Tiny Pinky Library
     

Pinkalicious: Teeny Tiny Pinky Library

4.2 136
by Victoria Kann
 

See All Formats & Editions

Pinkalicious goes mini in this slipcase containing four miniature I Can Read titles! This adorable set makes for the perfect gift and features pinkerrific foil to add extra value. This set includes: Pinkalicious: Pinkie Promise, Pinkalicious: The Pinkerrific Playdate, Pinkalicious: The Princess of Pink Slumber Party, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pinkalicious 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 136 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I give this book a 'poor' rating for several reasons... 1. The way the mother talks to the daughter...'you get what you get and you won't be upset', and then the daughter sticks out her tonge at her monther. 2. The 1st appearance of the father and accompanying illustration are of him ordering her to bed with a pointed finger. 3. The Dr. prescribes 'green vegetables', and text says 'yuck!'. Later negative comments describe vegetables as...'choke on an artichoke, gag on a grape, and burp up a brussle sprout', and more. 4. Also not crazy about the sneaking out of bed, and building a tower to climb to the top of the refridgerator. Why expose my 2 children to these things when there are so many good books out there showing good communication between parents and children, and advocating healthy eating?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed with the series. I bought all three books because of previous reviews I had read, but after getting them home and reading them with my daughters, I was very not very happy. Some of the actions and attitudes portrayed are not what we are trying to encourage in our children. I ended up returning all three books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree that this book sends an extremely poor message. My daughter is only 2 so I leave out the negative words about vegetables and change a few things up. When she is older and reads this for herself, I won't be able to do that. I'm not impressed with the book in general and that's a shame because this book has great premise and COULD possibly be a great series for girls. The authors should have just left out the negativity about vegetables, the tantrums, and the disobedient little girl who has no consequences for her actions (sneaking cupcakes when her mother tells her no). Such a shame.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am always surprised as to why this book is so famous! It is awful and does not encourage anything good or healthy. First of all, they make "pink" cupcakes, well, what flavor is pink exactly? I like my food to come from nature or at least have some sort of trace of something real. If I make "pink" cupcakes they are called "strawberry" and at least contain some strawberries, not just food coloring!!! Outrageous! Also, the doctor tells her to eat a diet of green foods, which she refers to as, "yucky!" I do not encourage healthy, real food to be called yucky!! So many things are wrong in this book, again, I cannot see why people actually like it and read it to their children! Since I already own it and my daughter seems to like it, I simply rewrite the book as I read it. I refer to the green foods as magic and because they are so good for you they can cure you of anything, even turning pink! HarperCollins should be ashamed of themselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter likes this book very much because she loves pink, but I agree with many other reviews that are some things at this book that I had to adapt because it is not what I teach my kid... when she had to eat vegetables to dont be pink anymore, we made as she likes to eat them... as my daughter never learned that vegetables does not taste good... the idea was good, but as a book, I would hope the author would take out the children steriotypes (not liking vegetables) and teach them that vegetables are good... isn't why we buy books? to teach them GOOD lessons?
Penny_Books More than 1 year ago
I teach preschool and all the children in my class love this book, even the boys and children that don't like pink love it. It starts a great discussion about how much is too much junk food as well. I just wish there were other colors besides traditional girl colors in this series.
BENRGAGNE More than 1 year ago
I read "Pinkalicious" to my class and they loved it! They especially enjoyed the illustrations. Their favourite part was when the little girl turned all over PINK! The story kept them interested, and they couldn't wait for me o read it again. We also read "Purplicious" and enjoyed it as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very cute and fun story.  I see all the negative reviews about book sending wrong messages, but I think this is really blown out of proportion.  I understand the point they're trying to make, but if you have kids older than 2 yrs, the vegetable comments/sticking out tongue/girl climbing on top of fridge isn't much of an issue.  Both my kids (3 yrs and 5 yrs) are able to mentally grasp that not all vegetables are yuck (they happen to love many veggies actually), everyone has different likes/dislikes, etc.  It is a fun story because they can identify with the character (a strong female character by the way - yay!), and she is silly and does some things they know are wrong (like climbing on refrigerator - they got a big laugh out of that).  Great story and entertaining.  I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of all the color pink (I understand why pink, but its super girly with all the pink and princessy type of stuff).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This could have been a cute book. But, as other reviews have explained, it has lots of content that id not good for small children to hear/see. When my daughter and I read it, we talk about how Pinkalicious' behavior is NOT nice and that she shouldn't eat that many cupcakes anyway. We use all the bad stuff in the book as an opportunity to teach how it is wrong. I would NOT recommend this book to others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book for little girls.
dismom More than 1 year ago
Got it out of the box and read it right away. Gonna need more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a cute story and super fun to read! Pinkalicious is definitely the best book in the series. My daughter loves Pinkalicious so much that we are using this book as her 4th birthday theme.
Pelucha More than 1 year ago
I felt in love with this book the first time I saw it. I'm a very pinky person who also likes cupcakes. After read this one I bought all the other books from Victoria Kann. Last month my daughter's 4th birthday motive was Pinkalicious and I gave her the Pinkalicous and Goldilicious doll and the cupcakes interchangeable toy.
LoveSMMM More than 1 year ago
Love it, My nieces have a few of the books and I finally read it to my princess and she love love loves it!! I had to purchase the book for my daughter and have read it over and over again.. Must have book for girls...
PatriciaJL More than 1 year ago
Pinkalicious is the first book about a girl who loves the color pink so much she turns pink herself after eating too many pink cupcakes. Pinkalicious' is given a bath, but she still is pink. She is taken to the doctors, and is diagnosed with 'Pinktitis'. Her prescribed medicine is to eat as much green stuff as she can, to turn back to her normal color. But Pinkalicious is happy being pink. Even after being swarmed by bugs because she looks like a flower, she still likes being pink. She like...morePinkalicious is the first book about a girl who loves the color pink so much she turns pink herself after eating too many pink cupcakes. Pinkalicious' is given a bath, but she still is pink. She is taken to the doctors, and is diagnosed with 'Pinktitis'. Her prescribed medicine is to eat as much green stuff as she can, to turn back to her normal color. But Pinkalicious is happy being pink. Even after being swarmed by bugs because she looks like a flower, she still likes being pink. She likes being pink so much she eats one more cupcake. However, she wakes up to find she is no longer Pink but Ruby Red. Pinkalicious does not like this at all. Right away she starts to eat anything in the fridge that is green. Her normal complexion soon returns. Pinkalicious finds that she loves her complexion, just as she is. More importantly, she likes who she is just the way she is. Victoria & Elizabeth Kanns' book is not only beautiful to look at, with many pages full of 'pinkness', her message is simple: love yourself for who and how you are. While this book is centered around a girl, and is aimed for girls, such a message can be understood by many.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fabulous book for those who love pink. My 3 1/2 year-old was given this book as a gift and she loves it. It is perfect for reading aloud and is quite entertaining for parents who will be subjected to many re-reads! Basically, Pinkalicious (or Pinkerella) eats too many pink cup cakes and gets 'a rare and acute case' of Pinkatitus. The remedy? Lots of green stuff that is good for you (YUCK!). The book is written from Pink's perspective. We read this aloud each bedtime recently when friend's were visiting and our 5 year old (male) friend loved it too. My daughter has her eye on another story in the series - Purplicious! We are looking forward to finding out what causes that peculiar ailment! There is also a Goldilicious. I would recommend this book for anyone with a young child, probably between the ages of 2 1/2 and 5, who enjoys being read to - particularly if they are going through a 'Pink' stage.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought this book for my niece and she made me read it to her about 5 times that same night. Only thing I didn't like was an illustration where the little girl stuck out her tongue at her mother. I don't have children, but I do feel they are easily influenced and I personally didn't like it. Other than that, I enjoyed it myself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book.. My 3 year old loves this book. I would recommend to anyone.
chen More than 1 year ago
I gave this book as a gift to my 4yr old niece, she loves it. My sister tells me she's memorized most of the story. I later purchased Purpleliciuos, which is her favorite color.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter really enjoys Pinkalicious. We reread the book after they had the toys at Burger King. It's a cute way to get kids to thinking about eating good foods instead of cake and cookies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The little girl in this story is in love with the color pink and her mom makes her some pink cupcakes. She loved them so much she wanted to eat more and more. I think this is a really cute book for younger children especially little girls who love pink. The illustrations are wonderful and go very well with the story. They will keep your little listeners engaged.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was cute! Yes, maybe it doesn't have the best message, but it is a fun book for girls who love pink. There is no such thing as too much pink!
JenBaker More than 1 year ago
Not as terrible as many reviews say, but I'd point out that the book merely reflects a certain reality with (many but not all) kids aged 3-6. Having said that, I don't think it's very well done and wouldn't recommend it. If you're looking for something similar, I'd recommend Diego Dilemma in the Cookie Conundrum instead.
nancy133 More than 1 year ago
My 3 granddaughters absolutely love this book plus the Kann's other books in this series! They are such fun to read! We use the characters all the time when one wants only pink clothes or only green food, makes for fun conversations. Great buy for little girls ages 3-8.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 2 year old Grand-daughter LOVES this story... we first found it during "online storytime" and I had to replay the story at least 6 times... when the little girl sticks out her tongue... my Grand-daughter said "oh, she is naughty", and when she said green veggies were yucky...etc.. my Grand-daughter said " I like to eat vegebles, and I love grapes"... even at 2 she understands that what happens in the story book is not REAL and she knows what is acceptable behavior.... I ordered the hard copy of this book since she likes it soo much.