×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest
     

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest

4.5 17
by Hans Zimmer
 
Captain Jack Sparrow is back and ready for more rabble-rousing in the highly anticipated sequel to the Disney hit Pirates of the Caribbean. The sountrack to Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest features an original score by Hans Zimmer and a bonus remix track by the world-renowned DJ Tiesto.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved the first Pirates soundtrack and I got this after the I saw the second film because I was skeptical about this one. I didn't think it would be able to live up to the first. I must say that the first eleven songs were pure genius, especially "The Kraken". The twelfth song however was a disappointment at best. In my opinion remixes hurt good music. That remix is eveidence to that.
DarthTyranus More than 1 year ago
awesome movie soundtrack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not buy this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked the whole CD from beginning to end although I wish there was more of it like the first one. Anywho my favorite one is "Davy Jones" which it seems like time stops and even for those haters I liked "He's a pirate" remixed by Tiesto It was something new and thrilling.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to say that, even though I didn't really think it possible, Hans Zimmer improved unbelievably on the Black Pearl soundtrack. Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl was my all-time favorite soundtrack, and this was ten times better! There are many clips of the original themes in this score, but they are very strategically placed and very short, perfect to satisfy fans who wanted more of the first album and perfect for many new themes to form. The Jack Sparrow theme is new but in the same style as many of the well-known themes. The 3/4 meter gives it a swaggering, piraty feel, perfect for its namesake. Davy Jones is another new melody (obviously) and it is introduced very well by the playing of a music box at the beginning of the song. I've Got My Eye On You introduces a known theme, and adds to it, creating an interesting (and pleasing) effect. I love the effect at the end of Dinner Is Served the jaunty melody adds a comical air to the otherwise serious soundtrack. I also enjoy the addition of Two Hornpipes it adds a different feel to the soundtrack and prevents monotony. Wheel of Fortune brings in many well-known themes from the first album into the second, which fits as the album is to a sequel. It is a great tie from the first soundtrack to the second. Hello Beastie is a very serious, and brilliant, ending to the album. It ties in familiar themes from both albums in a very serious note, but leaves you with a sense of completeness after finishing the album. Though I do have to say, I hated, HATED the Tiesto remix to He's a Pirate. It was poorly done (you can hear about 4 seconds of something that sort of sounds like the melody) and couldn't have been more inapropriate for the album. Overall, I absolutely love the album and I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of orchestral soundtracks (though it does have organ and guitar effects throughout the album). A must-buy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The cello was haunting and composition is exciting as was the movie. The remix at the end was such a let down. The Tiesto Remix took over 6 minutes and was a waste of time and money.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Actually, I would give it 4 3/4 stars, but sadly the Teisto Remix is just 7 minutes of very boring rhythmic beats and you can only vaguely make out the "He's A Pirate" theme. But holy cow, The music is so awesome! I play the trumpet in a high school band and I sure would enjoy playing the music, esp. "The Kraken," that is the best!! Buy it, buy it, BUY IT! Or at least listen to it - then buy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I totally didn't think this was going to be as good as the first movie, but it was! It had the old score mixed in with great new music. I absolutley have fallen in love with this cd!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just got this CD yesturday. And I already listened to every song. And I love it! My favorite song is the Kraken. I love how the song starts with the cello. I recommened this CD to all Pirates fans.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I got this CD before the movie came out and it was kind of disapointing. Don't get me wrong, it is still one of my favorites but if you are looking for a breath-taking, action pact sountract, try the first movie score
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow. I was honestly amazed - the music here was just as well-designed as in the Black Pearl, but better. With new twirls introduced in an otherwise known and loved soundtrack, this is a must-have for any and all Pirates fans.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with Hans Zimmer's scores after Black Hawk Down and I must say that any film I watch, he has the emotions down to just about a T. I'm so thrilled that it appears he will finally receive justice with a making of the music of Pirates when the third film comes out on DVD as well as the collector's set. My two favorite songs are definitely the Davy Jones theme. I just love the "heart beat" that plays throughout the song, that is essentially also the beat of the song. Second favorite is the Kraken. I know it kinda takes place during a dramatic point in the film, but the music even pumps you up in some ways. Excellent score!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the main characters is Elizabeth Swan ,the lover of Will Turner a very brave man . Another brave man is Captin Jack Sparrow, a very interesting man and he always has his non working compass that never faces north. Last is Davy Jones he is a sea monster whose face is a squid and his body is a crab.The plot is that Elizabeth and Will are getting mairred but Will all of a sudden is arrested and the wedding is ruined and Will promises he will be back for her. Will has a talk with the head master of the group Lord Beckett and he says he must get Jacks compass to keep him and Elizabeth alive. So he sails to sea hopeing to find Jack and the compass. So he goes to this island beacause he sees a ship and it looks like Jacks so there he goes on the island and finds a string and follows it then boom hes in a trap then he falls deep asleep. And the next time he wakes up hes sees on a pole hanging up side down going to the master. There he is sitting on the royal chair and the master is Jack Sparrow. Will is shocked. Then uses there language. Why they are dealing with Will ,Jack trys to escape then ,there is two little boys and Jack just runs. Now lets see what happened to Will . There he is hanging over a hot burning fire then a guy comes and says the master is escapeing then ,they run for him.Safely they escape with only a couple breaths left. Now they have two other crey members Pintel and Ragetti . Well they are not very good pirates. Later at the end of the book Will and Wynern battel on a big wheel on Will whats to save the heart and Wynern wan'ts to stap the heart wan't to figure out who it is you have to raed the book.The time and place is a long time ago and the place is on island and on the seas.The theme is that Will must have the compass to save his lover and his father.I persoly like the book beacuse I fighting and danger.And how I connected to the story is I love advendre and I like not to now what is going to happen next.And another way I can conneced to the story is to the world ,life is a scary place and in the end it is not always a happy ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago