×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Place Called Wiregrass
     

A Place Called Wiregrass

4.3 28
by Michael Morris
 

See All Formats & Editions

Erma Lee is on the run . . . Running from an abusive husband . . . running from a mother who doesn't care — never cared. Running from a soul-numbing factory job that has held her down her entire life ...

Erma Lee and her granddaughter, Cher, flee to the town of Wiregrass, Alabama, to escape the past and start over — or so Erma Lee thinks. Erma Lee forms

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Place Called Wiregrass 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This wonderful novel captures the voices of the impoverished and the well to do; convincingly presenting two women from different sides of the track. Where this novel could have gone down the all too familiar avenue of male bashing or jaded romance, the author instead keeps the focus on the relationship between two strong willed women from different levels of society. The dialect in this novel will resonate with anyone familiar with the south but what shines the brightest are the variety of people described in the small town of Wiregrass. You'll be pleased you took the time to pay a visit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved "Slow Way Home" and recommend it much more highly. This author has a way with words that is beautiful and southern. His storytelling is often compared with Flannery O'Connor. Unfortunately this book did not live up to my expectations. If you enjoy preaching and Bible quotes you would more fully appreciate this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best book i have read in a long time.it was so good that i bought another book by the same author.
Carson-Rogers-Conway More than 1 year ago
I need to preface my review by saying that I love southern fiction. This novel is southern fiction and then some. It is written in a dialect that sounds real and the setting is humid, beautiful and haunting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Living most of my life in a small town the people in this book ring true. I love how the writer captures the small town life and gossip mill. I laughed, I cried and sometimes I got mad but at the end I was satisfied with this book that shows the endearing relationships of strong women. The setting and friendship in the book shine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of my all time favorite novels and movies is Fried Green Tomatoes. The entire time I read A Place Called Wiregrass I was thinking about the women in that novel. In fact, I read this novel straight through over the course of one weekend. Simple words told through a simple but street-smart character named Erma Lee gave me a good idea about the struggles of women in violent households. My favorite line:'Young, old, black or white bitter spirits speak the same language'.Yeah! I also loved the way that faith is covered in the story. With sinners and saints in the book, it's real to the core.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you like and know good southern writing like that of Pat Conroy, Cassandra King, and Silas House then this book is for you. I found out about it thanks to a website recommendation and loved it. As a native of the real Wiregrass (Dothan, Al) I can speak to the authenticity of the characters and the dialect. Reading this book was like a visit home. The plot twist at the end kept me up until the early AM. Reading it at the beach was an even better treat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this novel. It was discussed at our book club and made us all think about the lasting impact of domestic violence. The characters were realistic and the voices crisp but it was the refined Miss Claudia that stole the story. I thank the author for not writing another 'same old same' story about violence in the home. This novel left me with hope and I confess I had a few tears at the end. It was a deeply moving read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a Southerner, I was offended by this novel. The South is not filled with impossibly flat characters like those that populate Wiregrass. For a novel claims to be 'realistic fiction,' A Place Called Wiregrass utterly lacks any attempt at verisimilitude. The characters here may have experienced tragedy or poverty, but seem to have no lasting psychological trauma or character defects beyond perhaps their initial inability to believe in a God that is portrayed as shallowly as they are.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am writing this review in a sleep deprived state because of the two consecutive nights I stayed up reading 'A Place Called Wiregrass.' I was so totally engrossed in this wonderful story that sleep became irrelevant. I found myself cheering for Erma Lee and delighted by her unlikely relationship with Miss Claudia Tyler, the very genteel Southern lady with whom Erma Lee shares a secret bond. 'A Place Called Wiregrass' is a beautiful tale of friendship, strength and personal growth. I loved it! Kudos, Michael!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sent me looking for more of this author's work. Unconditional love and acceptance as well as mutual need and giving the core of this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book reminded me of some of the old classics with solid writing and a page turning plot. Issues in this book kept my book club talking about it for days. The characters stay with you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great read. The different relationship storylines are compelling and touching. The merging of the two south's (the aristocratic and the down-trodden) was really interesting to read. This is a great book for a book club! Good conversations emerged at our discussion of this book. Everyone loved it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have read in a very long time. I have suggested to several of my friends that they read this book. I still can't believe that this is just his first book. Michael Morris is certainly going to have a following of loyal readers if all his books are as well written as this one!!!! I can't wait until he writes another one!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Our book club picked this book after reading a newspaper review that called it "a beautiful work of art." It is beautiful but more than the standard high brow literary novel this one also has a page turning plot. The main character struggles to rebuild her life with the help of those in a small town. All the while she has to avoid her convict son in law who turns up in town to torment her. A great read, well written and an ending that leaves you uplifted. Simply put we loved it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Our club loved this book. Many in our group thought that it was the best first novel they had read in years. When I picked it up, I was hessitant. The abuse angle has been played out so much but the women in this book are different -- resourceful and determined to make a fresh start. Surprisingly, it was not at all depressing but instead inspiring. The ending really spun me around and made for a lively discussion at our club meeting. Erma Lee and the other characters just stay on your mind days after the last page is read. Long live Erma Lee!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this remarkable first novel, Michael Morris gives us a masterful work of Southern fiction with characters we will all recognize. Erma Lee and other women in the story are being made stronger through the havoc rained on their lives by villainous and vile men who serve only their base libidos. Gerald and Erma Lee's pastor, however, epitomize the strength of men who depend on their faith -- not their libido --to guide their lives. In contrast to Erma Lee, Gerald and other honest characters, there is a parade of snobbish women and a pastor who illustrate much of what gives the Christian faith a bad name. Erma Lee's fight for a better life for herself and Cher, her teenage granddaughter, is inspiring. Her search for faith is a realistic journey -- not sugar-coated or trivialized, but colored by explosive confrontations with her worthless, estranged husband and Cher. The crises that drive the novels' conflict give the reader a totally satisfyling reading experience.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Michael Morris is able to get inside the mind of Erma Lee in this powerful first novel, A Place Called Wiregrass, so that the reader makes a real connection with her. It is unusual for a man to be able to capture so well the thoughts and emotions of a woman. The descriptions of the inner and outer lives of his characters are compelling and real. This novel has humor, tragedy, friendship, love and redemption. I hope that another novel by Michael Morris soon will be forthcoming!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a writer, I can't believe this is a first novel. Michael Morris is definately an author to keep an eye on because he obviously knows how to tell a captivating story and create characters that any reader will fall in love with. The characters in this book are real and Michael writes them as if he has known them his whole life. They show strength and integrity developed through adversity and, although they are ficticious, become people that you admire and want embrace as a friend. As I read his book, I felt like I was a part of the story. I felt like I was there. I've never physically been to Alabama, but after reading this book I feel like I have. No matter where you live, A Place Called Wiregrass is a must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What more can you say about this book! I am truly a fan of southern writing and this book is a wonderful example of southern writing at its best. We all know these characters; we just might not admit it. It is so wonderful to read a book that has a positive message for a change. The book shows us how much we can learn from the people around us and how God always provides. If you have not read this book, you are really missing out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Im telling you it takes a great book for me to get interested and boy i couldnt put it down, it realy hit home in alot of ways, Thank you Mike Morris for your keen words, I am so proud and cant wait to read your next book. I wish we had a lot of miss Claudia's here. and more brave women like Erma Lee.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A Place Called Wiregrass is a wonderful novel-- eloquently told, with empathetic and richly drawn characters. Erma Lee's voice is both provocative and powerful as she navigates through often difficult circumstances, along the way discovering the power of friendship, prayer and her own inner strength. Michael Morris is a compelling storyteller, and the book reads like the work of a seasoned author -- it's difficult to believe this is his first literary effort. In a nutshell, you'll be glad you took the time to visit a Place Called Wiregrass.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A Place Called Wiregrass is an inspiring story of strong women, kindred spirits and the strength to overcome domestic abuse. I became best friends with Erma Lee and Ms. Claudia and found myself sitting in Ms. Claudia's bedroom wanting to share my experiences and add my 'two cents' worth. I didn't want the book to end!