×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Play On
     

Play On

4.5 65
by Carrie Underwood
 
Carrie Underwood looks flat-out glamorous on the cover of Play On, which is a pretty fair indication of what awaits listeners on her third album. This is crossover pop pure and simple, whether it's the thundering rhythms on the Shania-styled strut "Cowboy Casanova," or the preponderance of power ballads. Many of these ballads are infused

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Play On 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
book_luvur More than 1 year ago
Carrie is a great artist. I have both her first two album's, and when I heard she was making a new one, I was so pumped. I got up early on Tuesday the third so I could go pick up Play On before class (I just couldn't wait any longer). Totally worth it! I like her second c.d. better than her first, but there were still a number of songs on there I skip past when I listen to the c.d. So I was a little nervous that there would be a number of songs I wouldn't like on Play On. Not the case!! Most every song I really enjoy. My top favorites are Quitter, Look At Me, and What Can I Say. I listen to them again and again. All of the songs on the album are very original and have great melodies. You can tell they spent a lot of time and energy on this album to make it great. The only songs I don't really care for are Change, This Time, and Play On. This Time, especially, seems kind of like a filler to make the track list run longer. But obviously that's just my personal opinion and other people may love it. So if you were debating whether or not to get this c.d., my recommendation whould be: TOTALLY!!!! It's her best so far.
KateKW More than 1 year ago
CD is quite good.........much better than Taylor Swift. I am still in shock about the Grammys....Carrie Underwood is sooooooooooooooo much better than Swift. Swift needs to grow up. I live in the area she comes from in PA and I don't really know how she got to popular...basically among the teenyboppers I guess. No voice at all. Carrie Underwood has a fabulous voice, range, looks, emotion when singing. Let's put Carrie back on top.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it!!!!! I bought this cd for myself. I have listened to it over and over again. Would highly recommend it to everybody. Yee haw for OKLAHOMA'S CARRIE UNDERWOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Angel8413 More than 1 year ago
This soundtrack has so many good songs. "Cowboy Cassanova" is fun and upbeat, while "Temporary Home" is touchy and moving. Carrie has put together another great team and made a fantastic album. I'm a big fan!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never listen to Carrie Underwood before and now it's playing in my household at least twice a week. I like this album very much and I will follow her new songs.
Theresa30 More than 1 year ago
Every song on this album screams HIT! Carrie has come along way from American Idol. On this album, she has grown and matured into a bonafide superstar with incredible interpretive skills and artistry. Her vocals have never sounded better, especially on the beautiful ballad "Someday When I Stop Loving You", a must have download on this cd. On Cowboy Casanova, Carrie shows her fun, edgy side, and it rocks! On "Look at Me", Carrie shows a softer, more vulerable side in this beautiful love song. I love the duet "What Can I Say", a sad, beautiful ballad about love gone wrong. "Songs Like This" is incredible- a fun, rocking dance song that makes you just want to crank up the volume on your car. "Quitter" is infectiously catchy, and I give props to Max Martin as who knew he could write a good country song? There is much more to say but my fingers are tired. lol BUY. THIS. CD. NOW.!!! You won't be sorry! Congrats Carrie!
shadowcruzer More than 1 year ago
This is the best Carrie CD to date. I absolutely am addicted to this album. Way to go Ms. Underwood. You knocked it out of the park!!!!
Milbrath More than 1 year ago
If you liked her previous two CDs, you'll like this one. I don't think it's anything real special. It doesn't stand out as the CD you'll remember, but it's good country music. Carrie Underwood has such a strong voice and puts so much of her spirit into it that she's able to make a lot of songs sound good even though they aren't fantastic. The best song on here though is Cowboy Casanova. Man, can she sing!
GoCaps08 More than 1 year ago
I was not a huge fan of "Some Hearts", Carrie's first CD. Some of the songs were great, but it sounded like she was being held back by other forces. "Carnival Ride" was much better...she seemed at ease with all the songs, and she proved the doubters in Country Music that Country was in her heart. On this CD, Play On, she tells country music she is here to stay. While radio is overloading Taylor Swift's teen anthems, Carrie is here to give us in our 20's, 30's, and even older, something we can relate to. The disc definitely has some pop flavor to it, but it's still country. Cowboy Casanova, the first single, is a toe tapping fun song. Mama's Song is a tender ballad telling a mother it's ok to let her baby go, she has found a great man. Change was written by the underrated Katrina Elam, and Carrie's delivery is understated and heartfelt. Undo it is such a fun song co-written by Idol's Kara DioGuardi. I'm sure many ladies out there can relate to telling a man that they want to "undo it". "Someday When I Stop Loving You" is a gorgeous country hearbreaker. Carrie's voice is exquisite on the song. "Temporary home" has 3 separate verses, and the 3rd verse literally brought tears to my eyes. Carrie's faith in God is once again evident in another great song, better than "Jesus Take The Wheel" and "So Small". "Look At Me" brings back Vince Gill on harmonies. Vince was the harmony on the Carnival Ride CD version of "I Told You So". It's a beautiful love song about being happy in love, something we don't hear from Carrie that often (maybe an ode to her NHL star boyfriend?) Play On is a good message song about going with the flow and keep going, even in tough times. This disc was worth the wait. It's a mature solid effort that covers a broad canvas of material, but it flows together seemlesslessly. Carrie's voice is in exquisite form, showing off range I didn't know she had.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not really a country fan but I think Play On is a good album. There are a variety of songs in here: slow to fast. The beat is really cool. Each song has its meaning. Just buy it! it's only $10. Before Carrie, I didn't know much country Artists
dawnmp More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy Carrie Underwood. This CD did not disappoint. My husband and I enjoyed all of her songs.
Karina5 More than 1 year ago
i LOVE carrie underwood.<3 she is a great singer, and i just love country music.(: