×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Playing the Part
     

Playing the Part

4.4 69
by Robin Covington
 

See All Formats & Editions

Playing the Part by Robin Covington

After publicly self-destructing over a heartbreak a year ago, bestselling romance writer Piper James is now making nice with her publisher by agreeing to teach Hollywood's favorite action star how to act like he's in love. Only playboy Mick Blackwell has no clue what love looks like.

When a seductive heat ignites

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Playing the Part 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
twocoulters More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by Robin Covington; if you have not read anything by her yet – this is a GREAT place to start. The author blended the perfect combination of characters; Mick’s sexy confidence and Piper’s intelligent wit make for a startling story with just a hint of intrigue. Both characters face a complicated career situation and although they are very different creatively when they come together it was spectacular.  I hope that Lincoln St. John, Mick’s best friend & housemate, gets his own story. I was very intrigued by the tattooed, broody, musician.  Disclosure: This ebook was provided to me free of charge for the sole purpose of an honest review. All thoughts, comments, and ratings are my own.
HopeWasHere More than 1 year ago
Playing the part was full of passionate moments that will take capture you until the very end. Piper James is a bestselling author recovering from a monumental blow to her career and self-confidence when her publisher sends her to be Mick Blackwell’s “acting coach,” the sparks begin to fly. Robin Covington jumped right into what felt like the “heart of the story,” but it was only the beginning! Mick Blackwell exudes confidence, charm and raw sexual appeal. From the get-go, they both draw the lines and set up the rules but I loved that Mick was really the strongest of the duo. He was completely swoon worthy and every single thing about him screamed passion (and not just the lustful kind). I connected to him quicker than I did Piper but that’s because we share a couple of the same tendencies and I’m a sucker for smart ass, confident men. To me initially, Piper had some contradictions between her thoughts and actions but further into the story as details were revealed and you read more of her story, all her choices made sense.  On that note, Piper was everything you could want in a heroine. She was strong-willed, determined, and aggressive (the good kind. She’s a girl who gets what she wants). Once I got a little into the book and had more insight on how Piper’s mind worked and her feelings about different things going on, I started cheering her on big-time. Seriously I might have to start a girl crush list to put Piper on. It was a relief to read a heroine who embraced her sexual nature instead of being naïve or a virgin. She gave Mick a real run for his money and a challenge because in that area, she was definitely his equal. Even in her shining moments of glory, I never thought of her as slutty. I really enjoyed that she wasn’t a completely broken person that needed a guy to fix her. Instead, Robin Covington delivers a story that’s engaging and full of sexual chemistry. The relationship between Mick and Piper explodes off the pages. Some scenes are so sizzling hot you’ll be left turning the page and begging for more. Covington completes the cast with Linc (another man who exudes his own sexual swagger) and Piper’s best friend Chris. As much as I’d like to share with you about these two, I feel like you’ll appreciate discovering them and their roles all on your own. I can’t tell you all the good parts. It was an easy read, full of fun, and witty banter. The sexual tension, dialogue and moments that fill the pages of Playing the Part will leave you needing a fan and a bottle of water. If you’re reading my review because you’ve stumbled upon Playing the Part and are curious, Read it. I loved every moment of Piper and Mick’s stories, they were both relatable and their journeys were realistic. I couldn’t help but to be enticed. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic! Love the Brazen line from Entangled - always super hot sexy books!
mackandmilo More than 1 year ago
I was introduced to Robin through her Facebook page. I picked up this little gem immediately after our introduction. It was an amazingly written book. The characters were well developed and I loved that Piper was strong, but gave in to her desires. The chemistry between Mick and Piper was combustible. It was an outstanding book, that was well rounded and enjoyable. I will continue to follow Robin and read everything that she writes.  I suggest you grab this up and enjoy every hot minute of it! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am ALL smiles with my eyebrows raised! Mick and Piper were perfect! Mick is arrogant, sexy and secretly sweet. Piper is strong (despite her past), confident and feisty. Together they sizzle. Mick and Piper find themselves paired when Mick finds himself in need of a an acting coach (much to his surprise) to deliver what could be a career-making performance. But it is a romantic movie based on a book by Piper who is brought in to help the love-challenged pretty boy get it together. And when they meet, sparks fly. This is a heartwarming and hot story that leaves you wanting more. Bravo Robin Covington! ARC provided on exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest book Playing the Part. This book was deliciously sexy and just plain hot.  The leading character was so  clear in my head I thought he was just going to materialize from the pages.  Robin truly knows how to engage her readers with characters that you can relate to and understand.  She leaves you with a vivid idea how that when you close your eyes you can see the character for who they really are.  Mick is the hot smoldering action star who can have just about any woman and Piper is the broken hearted romance author.  When the two connect, there a lot of hot and steamy going on!  This book was so as boring that I found myself turning the pages faster and faster-then I wished I hadn't because there was no  more left to read..  You need to buy this book, you will not be disappoint, it's money well spent.   “I knew...” he said, his words in perfect cadence with the slow glide in and out, filling her after leaving her aching and empty, “the minute I saw you, I knew I had to have you.”  With lines like this you know you are in for a bumpy ride.  I can say Ms. Covington has quickly become my new favorite romance author!      
Anonymous 6 months ago
It is a great story. It is very sexy, romantic, fun and amazing chemistry between two person. It is written very well and once I started reading I don't want to stop. It is very addicted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
romancenovelsincolor1 More than 1 year ago
                                                                                                      a good read with satisfying ending Playing the Part is a contemporary romance.  The heroine is Piper, a Caucasian romance book writer trying to make a comeback after being humiliated by her ex-fiancé who cheated on her and then dumped her publicly. The hero is Mick, a bi-racial, famous action hero movie star.  He has a reputation as a playboy/ “love them and leave them guy”.  Mick’s dream is to be considered a more serious actor by doing “deep” movies instead of action.  However, whereever he goes, everyone wants to associate him with the rough and tough character in his action films. When Piper’s romance book gets picked up to be made into a movie, Mick jumps at the chance to perform as a deep and sensitive character in the movie.  He wants to prove to the world and himself that he can be a “real actor”.  The two meet up on the movie set and the chemistry flies.  Mick falls for Piper almost immediately.  She is unlike the models and actresses he dates.  Piper is smart, complicated, and looks like a “real woman”.  Piper, although attracted to Mick, cannot afford any more bad publicity and seeks only a physical relationship, and even dreads to be seen in public with Mick.  Also, she is scared of getting her heart broken again by another playboy like her ex.  Of course, this good-in-bed yet hard-to-get Piper causes Mick to really fall in love, a situation in which he has never been in before.  Throughout the book, Mick, the man who hates commitment, desperately tries to prove to Piper that he can be a good guy and is trustworthy. The book starts off a little slow at the beginning, but gets better as it moves along.  The grand gestures of Mick are really heartwarming and nicely written.   The book would have been even better if we got into Mick’s ethnicity and childhood more and how those helped shape him as a person.  That would have made the book deeper and developed the character more. Nevertheless, it was a good read.  The ending is satisfying. -Reviewed by Pamela
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HarlequinJunkie_ More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Playing the Part by Robin Covington. This novel sizzles with true love, hot sex and passion. I am a sucker for a happy ending and the epilogue completely blew me away. Best selling romance author Piper James is finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. Her ex-fiance was a very popular actor who publicly cheated on her with her best friend. Needless to say they broke up and she went a little cuckoo. She raked him over the coals in the press, which ended up backfiring on her. They became the new "it" couple and she became just the crazy, jilted fiance. Consequently, her book sales tanked and her publicist is thinking of dropping her. As luck would have it, one of her books is being made into a movie and the film's production company needs her on the set. She now has the chance to jump-start her career by teaching Hollywood playboy and leading man Mick Blackwell how to act like he is in love. It is Piper's job to help him relate to and identify with the character she created. Gorgeous Mick Blackwell is an action movie superstar attempting to spread his wings in a dramatic role. Unfortunately, love scenes are not his forte and he is having trouble creating emotion with his co-star. Mick has been acting since childhood, following in his father's footsteps. He is the apple of the public's eye because he is a publicity magnet and hound. When Piper and Mick meet there is instant chemistry. Piper is extremely cautious about getting involved with another actor, and as such imposes some rules that will prevent any heartbreak during their fling. The no sleepover rule is quite comical. Their indulgence is turning into much more and both are falling in love with each other. Each sexual encounter gets hotter and hotter. It is unfortunate that Mick's manager is a shyster and creates unbelievable havoc in their lives. Luckily true love supersedes even the worst circumstances. A romance writer authoring a book about a romance writer is a very original concept. The sex scenes are viciously hot and passionate. If you are looking for a quick read that will cause immediate panting, then this is the book for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is reminiscent of Bella Andre's Come a Little Closer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A story of reputations lost and found. Mick is a hotshot until he finds Piper. They fall in love and have to battle the press and perceptions to stay in love. Mary Jo Burke
mary8808 More than 1 year ago
There is only one word for this book and Robin Covington, PERFECT! Who would think to use and actor and a romance author to make a great love story. I was happy to ride the emotional rollercoaster with Mick & Piper, it will take you from lust, pain, scared, happy, laughing, tears and love. My mind is still buzzing. Can't wait to read more from Robin, looking forward to it. If you haven't read this one yet, I say give Mick a try, you will not be disappointed. I sure wasn't!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
## Not the best, not the worst. Didn't like that the hero had to be a man-slut once again. It's hard to fathom that this guy will be commited to one person. I doubt it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FIND REVIEW HERE:  http://bookwormbridgette.blogspot.com/p/playing-part-by-robin-covington.html I had begun reading this book with a bit of apprehension, it has quite the slow beginning as we learn who Piper is from her own perspective. But we soon meet Chris (Her manager and best gay-friend) and Mick Blackwell(Hollywood Action Star and Heart-breaker Extraordinaire). Mick is a very appealing guy (as most model action stars tend to be) and Piper decides that a little casual sex would be no big deal. However, to her surprise, Mick who, by his own accord "I don't play by the rules, I play to win." keeps deciding that their casual agreement is not enough for him, a little at a time. Piper and Mick have many bumps in the road and it was refreshing that the two main characters did not hit it off instantly, see stars or hearts or whatever, and live happily ever after... They really had to work for it in this book! From paparazzi mishaps, and broken promises, there were true honest blood sweat and tears put into this match. A few times I found myself wishing I could reach in and strangle Mick for his ignorant giving-ins and failures to say the right thing... But in the end, he made right by me, so I was a happy bookworm! This was a great roller coaster ride after I got past the first chapter!! I recommend this book to anyone that is a fan of contemporary romance and loves to watch the characters have to work for their keep!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa-Lou More than 1 year ago
Well, I went to all this trouble to put together a collage of who I thought Mick would be...onlyand saw that I'm not the only reviewer who chose Jesse Williams. Sigh! Oh well, great minds and all that jazz! If you have been reading any of my reviews you may notice a pattern. There has not been one book yet from Entangled Publishing's Brazen line that I haven't at least 3-starred and usually 4-star. One publishing company, many different authors, many different story lines and types. Well done! Well done! Playing the Part by Robin Covington is a romance story about a publicity-shy author trying to recover her reputation and career and a picture-perfect action-hero who is trying to take his career further but doesn't realize his road-block is himself and his lifestyle. Piper has been enlisted to "coach" Mick Blackwell on how to BE the hero of her novel made movie. Piper knows nothing about acting or coaching, and almost as little about love. After being burned by her ex-fiancee and the press almost a year ago she has no desire to get embroiled in anything bordering on romantic. Mick is 100% on board with this plan. He has never had a relationship or been in love, that is, until he is. Piper brings him to his knees is this snappy, funny story about love and fame and the downfalls of being in the public eye.
XxTainaxX More than 1 year ago
I can tell you off the bat that there’s definitely a demographic that will not like this book at all: spouses of readers like me. Why? I simply could not put it down! My hubby was definitely on his own for dinner and the laundry could wait one more day as far as I was concerned. Piper and Mick have this chemistry that just jumps off the pages. It’s easy to imagine them falling for eachother and we get to experience it all right along with them. The sexy scenes are scorching. I’m STILL fanning myself. Mick is delicious and has this powerful air about him that’s hard to resist. The plot was interesting and seems to speak to the plight of celebrities of today in a very realistic tone. I feel like I got a complete experience with no one element lacking nor overwhelming another. I am very excited to see what Robin has in store for us next. I imagine a certain sexy singer *ahem* will soon have his own story? If you are a fan of romance, you’d be insane not to treat yourself to this gem!
My_Peace More than 1 year ago
After a disastrous break up a year ago, resulting in a lot of negative publicity for Piper, she is trying to make amends with her publisher.  Piper is an author whose book is being adapted for a movie, and she's agreed to consult with the actor playing the leading part.  Mick has never been in love, and he doesn't have relationships, so he has no idea how to act like he's in one!  It is Piper's job to help him get into character. As soon as Piper and Mick meet there are not just sparks, but fireworks!  The last relationship Piper was in was also with an actor and look how that turned out...  Piper is media shy and trying to stay out of the spotlight, but there's no way she can ignore the heat between her and Mick.  She knows she'll be leaving Hollywood soon, just as she knows he's not a relationship kind of guy.  "...hunger for Mick Blackwell was a very dangerous proposition, because while the bad boy was a nice little fantasy, the reality sucked."  Mick lusted for Piper as soon as he saw her, before he knew who she was "She'd turned him on the moment he'd noticed her on the set, and she'd responded to his flirtation, giving it as good as she got.  As long as she wasn't the relationship type..." Piper and Mick soon give into the heat between them (and there is a lot of that!), having some fun while neither is looking for a lasting relationship.  Piper and Mick are good for each other...whether due to the intensity between them or that they're both feeling much more relaxed, Piper is able to write again and Mick starts hitting his scenes.  They have their rules (no staying over for one), and Piper is sure she can keep her heart out of this thing with Mick.  The last thing she wants or needs is another relationship with someone in the spotlight. As determined as Piper is to stay out of the limelight and a relationship, she starts to feel really good with Mick - and not only when they're having sex!  Mick has a sensitive, caring side that he keeps pretty well hidden from the public.  "The problem wasn't even the epic sex that left her aching for more.  The problem was the ordinary, in between times with Mick.  The times where they talked, read quietly, or napped in the early afternoon, the long dinners...conversation..."  And now Mick wants to change the rules, and have a relationship beyond a temporary fling.  Piper makes him feel like no one ever has before. But between the press, her past, and who Mick is, Piper is afraid of starting another relationship, of letting her heart become involved.  It might be too late for that though...and with another media scandal looming, Piper leaves and heads back to New York.  But can Piper let Mick go that easily?  Can they both find a way to deal with the constant limelight and press coverage, real or not?  Piper might need to let her heart lead her after all... I liked both Mick and Piper.  We don't get a lot of background on them, but enough to give us an idea of who they are and where they're coming from.  They are both honest with each other, no game playing or secrets which I really like. Piper is a fun young lady, quite comfortable with her sexuality, out for what she thinks will be a temporary good time.   It's harder for her to accept the evolution of the relationship than it is for Mick, because she's been burned before. She needs to decide who she's going to trust...the press or Mick?   Even though Mick is a movie star and Piper is a famous author, the feelings that both of them go through are easy to relate to, especially Piper!  Outside of the limelight they are a real couple, quickly falling for each other.  I felt like their professions, so different yet so similar added a fun twist to the romantic story line. Robyn gives us a good, steamy, romantic read with Playing the Part.  There are a lot of explicit sex scenes through out Playing the Part, but they work well with the story line and she writes them very well!