×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Please Please Please
     

Please Please Please

4.0 29
by Renee Swindle
 

See All Formats & Editions

Babysister gets what Babysister wants. Always has. Always will. After all, she's been spoiled rotten ever since she witnessed her mother's death as a child, and she's made the most of it-especially with her dad. So when her oldest friend, Deborah, begins to date a fine-looking, fine-acting man named Darren-Babysister doesn't think twice: she wants Darren for herself.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Please Please Please 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
VinsonJenkins More than 1 year ago
This was a great read! What I loved the most was how real Babysister was, and by real I mean a truly flawed, normal, dumb woman. There was no sugarcoating in this story line. The women weren't all beautiful with hair down their backs and money in the bank. It sounds like something I would have heard from my friends at work. The only down fall is the flashbacks to the past. While some were helpful in understanding Babysister, others were not needed and slowed down the story, but not enoug to make you want to stop reading. I can't wait to suggest this book to my book club, the discussion about trifling Babysister will be crazy!!!! Can wait to read the next book!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book had a very very very slow start. I am use to reading books that from the first word grabbing my atttention, i didn't even get past the 3rd chapter. If you have patience and a beg. reader then you might like this book if you can push through the first couple of boring chapters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nnnnnnnoooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im 12 and im not allowed to date.// anyway, i agree with the first response you got, also wait a while. Maybe untill 6th or 7th grade. You'll understand dating. Its sad how many heartbreaks you'll have to go through just to have only one person be yours forever.... it really is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Recess? What grade are you in? Fifth? Wait a frw years sweetheart. It's not worth it at that age. Take it from someone with experience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok, so this boy that i like named Jacob likes a girl named Cate. He doesn't know that i like him. Yesterday, he hugged Cate right in front of me, and i felt like dieing. She doesn't like him, and i sit next to him during lunch and play with him during recess. Should i tell him that i like him and see what happens, or should i just not interfere?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so based on real, everyday situations, which is why it was so hard to put down! I think Renee Swindle did a excellent job on this book, which is why I also recommend friends/others to read this book if your interested in reading about surreal life issues such as: gossip, he-say,she-say, love, hatred, antimosity, relationships, attitude, and rumors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS IS ALSO A MUST READ, I READ THIS IN ONE DAY!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Good book but it did drag a little in the middle and towards the end. I found myself rolling my eyes at Babysister I don't know if she really got it? That what she did was truly wrong. Worth the read but I wanted more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This first novel for Renee Swindle is a page turner. I purchased the paperback copy (Summer 2000). The cover got my attention. Reading the excerpt kept my attention, I could not stop turning the pages until I was finished. Wanting to support a new novelist was a great idea. She has great potential. I want more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed reading Renee Swindle's work. Someone recommended it to me after reading Carl Weber's Looking for Luv (another great book about Black men and their adventures looking for love)... Babysister (the name already tells you that she is not just spoiled, but also a spoiled BRAT) is a character that you love to hate. She knows what she's doing is wrong, but ever since she was four years old, everyone gave her whatever she wanted... and if it wasn't given freely, it was given out of guilt. This is how Babysister grew up in a bubble... she was always protected by somebody... her father, her best friend, her brother (although jealous, he still protects her)... There had to come a day that the bubble was going to burst... and I'm glad it did!!! This book is more than just a story about cheating on your best friend... it's about growing up.... and you truly watch Babysister grow up..... Wish I could have read a little more about Darren's fate... but then again... that could be Renee's next book!!!! *wink*
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very good read.Definitly a page turner.Renee had her characters so life like.Babysister had you wanting to tell her to wake up there is more to life than just a man.Why risk everything for nothing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Renee Swindle's Please Please Please was a delightful read and redeeming. I would pass this book onto others for the lessons it reveals to you. Like, honesty, love, trust, compassion and redemption. I laughed, cried and fussed as Babysister went along with her life as though no one else's feelings matter. She didn't even care who she hurt as long as she got what she wanted. I cheered when this lesson was revealed to her. She had the love and support of family and friends but, that wasn't enough and besides when you don't have self-love there's an emptiness that no one can fill. She had to learn that and I was grateful she had Lisette to tell her that constantly. Babysister thought Darren could fill that void in her life and almost loss her bestfriend Deborah because of it. As you read you see Babysister's growth and ahh ha moments. Renee needs to write a part II to this book because, it left questions for so many readers, including me. I look forward to a possible sequel and wish Renee the best with her second novel and writing career.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I consider this book to be outstanding. Thank you, Renee, for your insight of how it is to be the other women. I couldn't put the book down. Please, Please, Please give me some more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great when you first read it its life their talking about you , you really get into it, it makes you wanna keep reading and never stop its very life like.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was ok i can't give it 5 stars because I've read better but it's a good book to keeps you reading. I recommend it to all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Thank you Renee Swindle for a well-written book. I read the book in 2 days. The characters in the book were very realistic. I think it's safe to say that we all know a 'Babysister'. I fussed about her all through the book. An excellent read. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys reading and fussing at the same time. :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
You did it Rene Swindle. Thank you for writing a novel about Babysister. She truely is a character I can identify with on a personal level. The book was juicy and heart-warming, I just could not put it down for one second. I felt great when I finished the novel. I recommend all to read at least twice. Thank you , Thank you, Thank you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I've read in my life. It's like watching a movie. I couldn't put this book down for one moment. I recommend this book to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have finally finished reading this book. In 30 days. It was so hard for me. I can read 300 pages in 4 hours. The more I read this book. I learn to enjoyed it. I had the hardest time with chapter 6. Again, the book is well written. I hope to read your next book soon. I feel like this book was written from reality. We all know someone who is like the babysister. So sister keep your business to your self. Dont tell the babysitter? lol Blue
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book blindly; however I was not disapointed... Babysister makes you happy and sad as you accompany her on her journey to follow her heart!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great. I couldn't put it down. The characters were so real and not boring by far. The feeling was there as well. I was feeling love and hate for the right people at the right time. The conclusion up was great also. Swindle didn't leave you hanging about any of the characters in the end. Ms. Swindle did an exellent job with this book. She put her heart into it and I can't wait until the next one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
BABYSISTER, IS A SISTER YOU LOVE TO HATE. ALWAYS THINKING THINGS WILL GO HER WAY WITHOUT ANY THOUGHT FOR OTHERS AND THEIR FEELINGS. I THOUGHT DEBORAH WAS A LOVING AND FORGIVING FRIEND. I ENJOYED THE WRITING AND THE STORY LINE. HATS OFF TO MS. SWINDLE FOR HER FIRST NOVEL I'M LOOKING FORWARD TO MANY MORE!
Guest More than 1 year ago
THE BOOK STARTED OUT VERY INTERSTING BUT AS THE STORY PROGESSED IT BECAME KINDA BORING TO ME. IT STARTED DESCRIBING TO MANY PASS ISSUES THAT WASN'T INTERESTING . I WANTED TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN, BUT I CONTINUED TO FINISH THE BOOK.AS I CONTINUED TO FINISHED READING IT IT BECAME VERY INTERESTING IN THE END.IT WAS ONLY THE MIDDLE OF THE BOOK THAT I FOUND BORING.