×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Pleasure of My Company: A Novel
     

The Pleasure of My Company: A Novel

4.1 64
by Steve Martin
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the bestselling author of Shopgirl comes the tender story of a troubled man who finds love, and life, in the most unexpected place.

Daniel resides in his Santa Monica apartment, living much of his life as a bystander: He watches from his window as the world goes by, and his only relationships seem to be with people who barely know

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Pleasure of My Company 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the sweetest and most tender books I have ever read. Steve Martin's writing is so effortless and believable and I look forward to reading this book again someday.
Lori_Borys More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for the silly humor of vintage SNL Martin this book is not for you. If you are looking for a thought provoking, engrossing, surprising, well written, touching, human story you need to get this book. It is a quick read but it is possibly one of the most well written amazingly thought provoking things I've ever had the pleasure of reading. Marting creates amazing characters that inhabit the very limited mind he has conjured into being for the main character. It is truly brilliant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book! The characteristics of the main character are awesome. Steve Martin does a great job in the details. Want to see this become a movie!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable. A quick read too.
BlueViper More than 1 year ago
The Pleasure of my Company is probably the one book I've read that seemed very different from all the rest I've read. The concept behind the story (following the life of a man who "suffers" from OCD) is not something I come across often, but I liked it... a lot. The story is about a very intelligent man, named Daniel, who has a pretty severe case of OCD. You'll learn about his struggle to live with this problem, and how he copes with the outside world. You see him grow out of his shell, and that makes it a truly heart warming story. I did; however, find the story to be a little hard to follow some times. I suspect that may just be me though. There are several names in the book, and at first I had trouble keeping them straight. There were also a few parts of the story that seemed overall unnecessary (the pharmacist.) While it can help show what Daniel was like, in the end it just didn't seem like it needed to be there completely. All in all, this story is a great read, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a fairly relaxing read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Steve Martin did not let me down with his second book! I loved the primary charater and could identify with *some* of his flaws. If you read this Steve, please keep writing!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful story that takes you on a journey of new perspective. I never wanted it to end and when it did, I enjoyed the self-reflection it caused. BEAUTIFUL - that is all I can say!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I'd read by Steve Martin, and I have to admit I was impressed. I found the book a little difficult to get into at first, but once I got started I found it hard to put down... I found the book to be very funny (laugh out loud funny), and the main character was amazing. The thought processes were great, because I find myself thinking some of the same things... Almost like a book written by the voices in your head! :o)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best modern fiction i have read - real human folly treated with honesty and compassion
Ms_Marisa2013 More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this book and could not put it down. I enjoy Steve Martin's writing very much and really enjoyed the character in the book. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago