×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Poison Study
  • Alternative view 1 of Poison Study
  • Alternative view 2 of Poison Study
     

Poison Study

4.6 463
by Maria V. Snyder
 

See All Formats & Editions

ABout to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She'll eat the best meals, have rooma in the palace--and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly's Dust--and only by appearing

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Poison Study 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 463 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Magic Study is the book that you see in the store and you think ...hmmm cool name way better cover art than the rest of my SF/Fantasy collection...I wonder. You pick it up, flip through the pages, don¿t really read any and decide it is probably a gimmick. Then you buy it anyway because the cover is Sooo pretty (and maybe hate yourself a little for being so shallow). You go home, sit on the sofa then read the first page. After than you can't possibly move for the next few hours and finally come up for air with a horrible neck cramp and the utter satisfaction that comes with being in the middle of a great story. You decide that it was your amazing subconscious book-radar that led you to your purchase, not a pretty cover. It has enough of the regular markers of the genre to make it a comfortable read but it is told in such a fresh way with very original twists that make it completely new and enjoyable. Yelena's is a world you will not want to leave. The story continues at full speed through the sequel Magic Study which tells a very new tale but still upholds the quality of the first. The third book Fire Study should prove to continue this tradition upon its release.
Librarian-Next-Door More than 1 year ago
This is still, since I read it last year, one of my favorite stories. I read a review on it and gave it a go, with trepidation. "ANOTHER magic book...well, okay," is what I opened the book thinking. The next few hours went by without my knowledge. I eventually had to apologize to my family for neglecting them, and again, when I was grumpy because I didn't get a wink of sleep that night. When people tell me something is THAT fantastic, I am almost always disappointed, because I build it up as something amazing in my head. So I say this hoping that doesn't happen to you, "Read this book. You'll be better for it. I was not disappointed." If you need to fall in love with an idea, a character, a thought, a rather hot hero, then this series is it. It will inspire you to be more brave and take chances in your own life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Poison Study is the first of the three book Study Series. The life of a woman sentenced to death is hard. But even harder is the life of a woman saved from the hangman's noose. In the land of Ixia where protecting herself from harm landed Yelena in prison. Just when she thought her life was about to end Valek, Ixia's Master Spy/Assassin to the rescue. But like every thing else in life there is a catch. The noose might have been a kinder death. Valek only saved her in order for her to become the Commander's food tester. A job that could be a death sentence itself. If someone tried to kill the Commander by poisoning his food she would be the first to go. Yelena's plan to except the food tasters job and then escape to a better life is soon foiled by Valek. When Yelena is poisoned by a substance known only to Valek, she is forced to stay in order to get the daily antiote, that with out would mean her death. Yelena is soon caught up in the intrigue of palace life. With an enemy around every corner. As life wasn't hard enough Yelena begins to show tell tale signs of being able to use magic. Which in Ixia is a death sentence in itself. She is forced to trust Valek in order to survive. Yelena and Vaelk fall in love. But can there be a happy ever after. A magic using food taster and the spy of Ixia, death could be around the corner for either of them. A climatic set of events unfold that shows to the world that Yelena is able to use magic. The Commander then sentences her to death, and then gives her time to escape. With Irys the forth magician of Sitia she escapes to Sitia to find out about herself, and her life before she was kidnapped fourteen years ago. Can love survive magic and a death sentence. With a standing order of death for Yelena in Ixia and and order of death for Valek in Sitia can their love survive. Check out Magic Study and Fire Study 'coming March 2008' to find out.
BookShelfReviews More than 1 year ago
Poison Study was a book that completely enthralled me in its uniqueness. The premise was absolutely intriguing: the idea of a woman being saved from certain death by execution. The catch? She has to serve as a poison taste-tester for the Commander of her country, a job that puts her life in danger on a daily basis. Furthermore, to prevent her from reneging on her deal, each day she is fed a poison called Butterfly’s Dust, ensuring that she must appear for her antidote in order to live. Like most female protagonists of a fantasy series, Yelena is no ordinary girl. Her resilience and quick thinking on her feet is not the only thing that gets her out of several life-or-death situations; it is also the fact that she is unknowingly one of the last possessors of magic in Ixia, a place which forbids the use of any magical abilities on punishment of death. I really liked this element of the story, especially the fact that the neighboring country to Ixia is a magic-using country, which causes all kinds of problems politically. Another thing I really appreciated about Yelena as a character was that she didn’t stand by and let others do the fighting for her. Once she was freed from prison, she began learning how to defend herself from those who wanted to harm her. She took charge of her situation as best she could and that, combined with her intelligence, ended up saving not only her life on several occasions but also the lives of her countrymen. You know me; I love my strong female characters! Yelena is no exception, and that made this book all the more enjoyable to read. Poison Study was a quick, fun read that kept me eagerly turning the pages. You can read this book in one sitting, and it contains all the elements necessary for a good read: action, romance, a strong heroine, a compelling love interest, and a rich world in which the plot takes place. Snyder has created something quite special here, and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
srfeike More than 1 year ago
I've heard so much about this book and have had it in my to-read pile forever. What I found out was this was one of those books for me that after you read it, you berate yourself for putting it off for so long. I absolutely loved it! Yelena is an awesome lead. Throughout the entire book she is unassuming and humble, yet she has an inner strength that is matched by few. Through the course of the story she is able to prove to the people who matter, those close to her, her worth as a person and an ally. All of the characters were well developed and easy to fall in love with, or hate if that was the intent. I really look forward to reading more about them. The author's writing style was fabulous. I love the world she created for her story; my only wish is we would have gotten more of it. What we got was an introduction/overview of the different areas but no real explanation. It worked for the story; it is just my personal preference to have more background.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a fresh take on the typical boy meets girl story. I loved it
KylieSmiley More than 1 year ago
i love this story! full of adventure, some romance, death, magic, mystery....just wonderful! its easy to read, smooth, you want to keep turning the page to see whats going to happen next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read through this book rather quickly, however when I moved on to magic and fire study the series tapered off rather quickly. This book was the best of the three, however I do not recommend the series.
TheTexanBella More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!!!!! When i first saw it at B&B, i was like 'eh, i'll give it a try i guess', but WOW! This book is about a girl named Yelena and how she is origanlly sent to be hanged, because she killed MD-5 General's son, Reyad, but is given a chance to live as being the food taster for the Commander. When she decides to take this opportunity, she is given lessons by Valek, to learn all the different poisons so in any case if the commander's food is poisoned she would know what type of poison it is. But as the story goes along, she gains enemy's that is out to get her, inculding the General. And during this whole time she starts getting feeling's for Valek. This story has many twist that you will never see coming, and you would want to read this story over and over again. Plus seeing the romantic twined of Valek and Yelena come is extremely sweet. Trust me you will love this series!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Poison Study is an entrancing novel by budding author Maria V. Snyder. The fantasy setting and charismatic characters capture the reader as the plot follows the adventures of Yelena, a criminal who barely escapes execution and becomes poison taster for the Commander, ruler of the country of Ixia. The story is a wonderful brew of action, magic, and romance as Yelena struggles to come to terms with her past and the growing attraction to her employer, the notorious assassin Valek. Every reader of young adult fiction and fantasy should read this exciting novel, as well as the sequel, Magic Study. Magic Study is a wonderful follow up to the first book, with its complex plot that keeps you on your toes and hungry for more.
jcsbookhaven More than 1 year ago
The Good Jessica over at A Great Read has been telling me to read this since I started blogging years ago. I should've listened sooner. So good. OK let's walk through all the points that make this story great. The plot line is about a girl, Yelena, who kills her abuser. Yeah girl! I'm immediately rallying behind her. She is put on death row and about to pay for her crime when the assassin, Valek, offers her the chance to become the food taster of the Commander. Ten points already for being an assassin. And steamy. Then we have the setting of Ixia which is divided by eight districts and govered by generals under the Commander's rule. Magic is not allowed in this world, and only in Sitia can magic run free. The journey through the story was so entertaining. Yelena trains with Valek to learn poisons and hopefully not die. Meanwhile, she works on self defense with two great side characters Janco and Ari. She runs into people that she shouldn't trust but does, and people she should trust but doesn't. There is mind control, hiding in trees, fire dancing, and an awesome library. Yelena doesn't start out very strong at all, as a character she is weak but smart. However, by the end I wouldn't mess with her. The Bad There may have been flaws, but I just didn't see them. The Romance Now here we have quite a slow burn romance, and let me say that Valek is a favorite character of mine so I enjoy this pairing quite a lot. However, when the romance happens, it's like YEAH NOW. I was left wondering where on earth that whole middle portion went. Not that I'm complaining too much because of the story there wasn't much romance in it to begin with. Conclusion There's a mo bad heroine, hunky assassin, magic, kingdoms, tree jumping, trust issues, and some truly terrible bad guys. I loved reading this story. There was quite a bit of action and the plot was thoroughly entertaining. I came to love the main characters as well as some amazing side characters. Recommended.
Reading_With_Cupcakes More than 1 year ago
Oh Poison Study.... I don't know how I shall ever find the words needed to express my thoughts completely for this book. First, I guess I should let you know that this is actually my second time reading Poison Study. I read it many years ago at the recommendation of a friend. He was absolutely fascinated with it, so I had to check it out for myself. Over the years, I found myself not really remembering everything that happened in Poison Study. However, I knew I liked it (okay loved it) and had been recommending it to people far and wide as a book that they should read. This book, this series, has made me a forever fan of Maria V. Snyder. Anyways, I felt I should reread it (and soon hopefully I will get to the rest of the series) before reading the new books that have come in the series very recently. When I had heard that Maria V. Snyder was returning to this world I knew I needed to reread the books that already existed. Unfortunately, I am very slow about fitting rereads into my my reading schedule since there are so many unread books still out there. So, I decided to make this book my very first book to read for the year 2016. And it was, and then I proceeded to sit on my butt and not write the review for a good 5 months. The only real reason for this was laziness. That and I kept reading and writing reviews for other books. But here it is, finally. Poison Study. We start out with Yelena. An extremely dirty, skinny rat of a girl being taken to her execution. But first she has to stop and meet with Valek (swoon!) the chief of security. Valek then offers her a way to avoid death, he offers her the position of being the Commanders personal food tester. Yelena is given the option to trade death by execution, a death that she knows when and how it will happen, with a death that could happen at anytime by any possible number of poisons. She chooses to be the food tester. Of course, she plans to figure out how to get herself out of this situation. Unfortunately for her, a whole lot of things keep happening to and around her. The plot of Poison Study is wonderful. It is definitely something that I suggest you read. It has a lot to it. Magic, deception, love, friendship, etc etc. It really is quite fantastic. However, what I haven't quite been able to get over is that I don't think I loved it as much as I did through my first initial read. Why? You know....I have no idea. I had actually forgotten so much of what happened in this story. And I really found it enjoyable. And I still read through it just as fast as I did the first time around if not faster. What I think maybe it could have been after so much thought is that I love this series. Not any one book in it. That I love the story as a whole. My appreciation for this book didn't drop very much, but it was noticeable for me. However, my love for this world is still very strong and I will still recommend it to everyone and anyone that I come across. And I mean....Valek (sooooo hot!) Find more of my reviews here: http://readingwithcupcakes.blogspot.com/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
bookharpy More than 1 year ago
Amazing book I've read another trilogy by Maria V. Snyder and she does not disappoint! Love the intrigue, magic, female protagonist, twists and unexpected developments, and all the characters in general. Great great great character building! To be honest, at first I could not stand Kerrick. His treatment of Avry was just completely inexcusable. When he actually hit her, oh man was my blood boiling. I was so furious on her behalf. Which just goes to show how great a story teller Maria V. Snyder is. I find I fall in love with her characters in their down to earth personalities, worries, and hopes. Everyone should read her works!!!
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written, fantastic story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a great book, I love getting lost in this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Confessions-of-Carlisa More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars Since I’ve started book reviewing more and creeping on all of your book reviews, this one came up a bunch and it seemed to be one of those you-have-to-read-this, this-is-a-YA-classic type of book. Paired with its high ratings on Goodreads and its convenient availability at my school’s library, this book jumped to the top of my TBR pile (which incidentally has also increased exponentially since I started reviewing/creeping more). Anyways, this book. There’s a girl named Yelena. The story opens to her in a dungeon about to be executed…not very good circumstances, I know (and no, I’m not going to tell you why she’s in this position). But right before the end, when you start getting nervous and can hear the faint Jaws music coming in the background, she gets an option. That is not a spoiler…obviously she wasn’t going to be executed in the first chapter of the book. Come on, now. She becomes the Commander’s food taster, testing for all poisons and the like. The story follows Yelena’s adventures through the castle, adventures that include some kissing, some, some killing, and some magic. I really liked this book. Not going to lie, it was super predictable but I enjoyed it despite that. Normally predictability is my pet peeve, no-no of books. When I can see the end from the beginning, I just get annoyed and am that way for the rest of the book. This book was pretty predictable, but I never got annoyed with it. The storyline was engaging enough that I still loved it. Here’s why: The story is original. At least to me. I haven’t read anything else too similar and I loved that. Snyder created this new theory of magic that was beautifully done. I don’t want to spoil it for you if you haven’t read it, so I’m not going to tell you anything about that theory. Buuuut I liked it. And just the storyline in general. The characters were fierce and kicked butt and I loved them all the same. There are actually a lot of characters, now that I think about it. I lot of minor characters, a few major characters, and a lot of in betweeny characters. And their developments were great. Valek and Yelena both grow and change over the course of the book and I found myself rooting for them as it went along. Those were the two things I liked the most about Poison Study. Aaand my coworker has the sequel so I’m hoping to read that before I go home for the summer in a month!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is a wobderfully woven world filled with intrigue vs truth, loyalty vs corruption, duty vs love, blood vs bond... an amazing protagonist to boot! My favorite series after HP and GOT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book afew years ago and I awlays end up reading it again when i don't have any books around to read. I'm a book aholic and I'm always reading always looking for somthing to read because of how much I read. But I can always come back to this book because I know it won't let me down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book completely took over my life, I couldn't put it down. A lot of books are filled with angsty girls who are desperate for a guy, nice to see a character who can think and save herself!