×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Poland: A Novel
     

Poland: A Novel

4.2 11
by James A. Michener
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this sweeping novel, James A. Michener chronicles eight tumultuous centuries as three Polish families live out their destinies. The Counts Lubonski, the petty nobles Bukowksi, and the peasants Buk are at some times fiercely united, at others tragically divided. With an inspiring tradition of resistance to brutal invaders, from the barbarians to the Nazis, and a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Poland 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I cannot think of a book that I have read in the past which engrossed me so thoroughly! From the minute I picked it up I couldn't help but donate all my free time to reading it. What I found predominately set this book apart from others was it's ability to not only tell the history of Poland, but relate the history of the entire European continent, and all it's countries through just it's most eastern one, Poland. I was extremely impressed with how Michener was able to display the the history of this country accurately, through ficticous families. This method puts you inside the history and makes you part of it. His ability to not get "stuck" on politically popular points in history (such as not focusing entirely on the holocaust, or Russian occupation) and keeping it as an "indepth overview", so to speak, of the nations history is what kept me reading. I reccomend it to all who have a passion for history. This is not just a historically accurate depicition of Poland, it was quite possibly the best, and most entertaining source of historical information I have ever come across.
Saivute More than 1 year ago
Definitely highly recommended book, Michener provides an unforgettable image about Poland's glorious past. Though not always accurate in historical details, you will enjoy reading every page of the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From Genghis Khan's Mongol-Tatar invasions to Lech Walesa's solidarity movement, the novel intertwines historical figures and facts with a fictional tale of three Polish families - counts, minor nobles, and peasants. Poland's fascinating history comes alive and an understanding of its people emerges. Na zdrowie! (Cheers!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a German Studies major at Columbia University, I am always on the look out for Poland and its relationship of same. I love this book--fictional as it is. The research is tremendous and the story telling audacious. Mixed with dialogue, Michener brings the terrible tragedies of Poland to the fore. I highly recommend the book.
Rembrandt2 More than 1 year ago
Great insight into Polish and Jewish peoples and how the Nazis and others imposed the most cruel genocide in human history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite simply, the absolute best historical fiction book I have ever read. The only fiction book I have ever read cover-to-cover four separate times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unless you have really good eyes do not buy this paperback! The print is jammed into each page and is too small to read. The book should have been made a little bigger so the print was not so small. I had to return the book. I am starting to see this in more and more books...Check before you buy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
J. A. Michener's Poland , paperback page 65 reads as follows: ...Teutonic Knights who crept out of Germany to occupy the Baltic seacoast- which should normally have been part of Poland-acted under the Pope... Fact: Tacitus in 98 AD states in the Germania- that the Suebi - Goths - Aesti (Prussi) live at the Mare Suebicum in Germania. Fact: Before the birth of Christ and Ptolemy ca 150 AD described Magna Germania and the Goths at the Vistula river with the West Baltic Galinder and Sudauer Borusci-Prussi to the east(Aesti). Fact: 550 AD Jordanis describes the Aesti-Prussi as part of the Gothic empire under Theodoric the Great. First record of the Polanen was made mid 900's ,when Miezko I and son Boleslaw I Chrobry received land on loan from the German kings/emperors Otto I,II,III . For this they pledged allegiance to the German kings. Then they went conquering to the north,east, west and south. 1920 and 1945-49 the communists and allies from the Soviet Union and Poland illegally removed the oiginal Prussia-German population. Michener echoes this 'original Polish land' fantasy.