×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History
     

The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History

3.7 29
by Thomas E. Woods, Jr.
 

See All Formats & Editions


Claiming that most textbooks and popular history books were written by biased left-wing writers and scholars, historian Thomas Woods offers this guide as an alternative to "the stale and predictable platitudes of mainstream texts." Covering the colonial era through the Clinton administration, Woods seeks to debunk some persistent myths about American history. For

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Professor Woods does an excellent job of refuting some of the common myths of American history. I sincerely wish this book was required reading for high school students today I wish I had a book like this when I was in high school back in the 1990s. My favorite part of the book is Wood's critique of Reconstruction he shows clearly that the Radical Republicans abused their authority in order to keep themselves in power. I remember my history teacher giving me only politically correct articles to read on this period of history. Parents, buy this book and make your kids read it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a great, enjoyable book! It's filled with little-known facts, as well as lots of good, recent sources -- AND, yes, some old books too (written before the p.c. craze took over). It's NOT true that the author provides no support for his arguments -- book suggestions and internal references are all over the place, not to mention a 10-page biblio. On the Puritan-Indian issue, he cites scholarly articles and one of the most influential books on the issue ever written. What more could you ask for in an intro book? And there's much more. Want to know what the First Amendment was really supposed to mean? How about the forgotten Ninth Amendment? Want to know Jefferson's strategy for keeping government limited? The truth about big business? The truth about FDR and his New Deal? The truth about the War on Poverty? And on and on? You'll find the facts here -- and countless references to follow up on. A treasure. I must have given away 15 copies this past Christmas. My hat is off to this brave scholar, who's written a factually sound and totally enjoyable book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As one who considers himself a minor history buff, I find that I have enjoyed reading books that add to my knowledge. This PIG Guide to American History not only provides what many school textbooks do not, but fills the margins with other titles and sources of information for anyone who wishes to dig deeper into the stories that made America what it is. I thoroughly enjoyed this reading and found each topic well packaged for easy digestibility. This would make a great gift for any college grad who majored in history or for anyone who enjoys learning about our past.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is entertaining, enlightening and a treasure trove of facts, both shocking and trivial. Highly recommended.
jfk1942 More than 1 year ago
.Should be in every school library, Ideal for middle & high school students
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great step/introduction into further and more indepth reading about all the politically incorrect aspects of American History. Read with an open mind and rely on logic and you'll certainly enjoy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Its about time someone wrote something to counteract all this revisionist history taking place all over America.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the book I have been looking for. I absolutely love this book. It uses actual specches and writtings of our founding fathers. It is what they thought, felt, and believed. There is no revision here just the truth. Revision is what you get in the classroom. I would highly recommend it to those who want to know what happened. The only down side I could is the book does not deep enough fo me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I correct a silly spelling error. :0)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Michelagelo Pugliese More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
First of all, this book is in no way meant to be an exhaustive account of American history but what it covers it does so accurately. Read this book if you want a hint of the truth that is hidden from us in PC history courses. Read the references and do your own research if you want to understand the reality of American history. I even recommend Zinn's book; some enlightening facts can be gleaned even amidst the putrid Marxist sophistry and it gives insight into the mindset of Marxists (not as corrupt as you think). Communists denounce this book as 'revisionist' but fail to see the hypocrisy in their appraisal of Zinn's book. I hope Woods writes an account of American history the length of Zinn's book.