×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pollyanna
     

Pollyanna

4.1 97
by Eleanor Hodgman Porter
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mr. Leigh Mitchell Hodges, The Optimist, in an editorial for the Philadelphia North American, says: "And when, after Pollyanna has gone away, you get her letter saying she is going to take 'eight steps' to-morrow--well, I don't know just what you may do, but I know of one person who buried his face in his hands and shook with the gladdest sort of sadness and got

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pollyanna 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 97 reviews.
Jo_RH_Book_Worm More than 1 year ago
I had just seen the movie of this book and thought it was so cute. Its about poor orphaned Pollyanna who moves in with her up-tight spinster aunt who feel its only her "duty" to have Pollyanna. The more pollyanna goes into the town, the more she brings by introducing everyone to caring, fun, and energetic personality and showing every situationn has a silver lining by her "glad game". But just as Pollyanna brings the most that she can-a traumatic accident hits that not even Pollyanna can find joy in. You will laugh, cry, and look at the world through all new eyes after falling in love with Pollyanna.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Pollyanna' is a great book. I gave this book 5 star because it has big prints for kids who have difficulty reading small prints and the pictures are really pretty!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am 11 years old and love reading classics. I have read this book as an ebook and have also got from the library. I have read this book so many times and I can't get enough of this truly moving story! I recommend this to anyone who likes a powerful moving story. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pollyanna Whittier is a young girl. Her mother, Jenny Whittier, already died, and her father has recently died as well. Now that she is an orphan, she is sent to go live with her strict, and rich, Aunt Polly. Pollyanna soon does most of the things anticipated by her aunt. When she is running errands in the town, she changes the lives of villagers. As she interacts with the townspeople, she meets a mysterious man named Mr. John Pendleton. After days of trying to get him to say hi and talk with her, one day he asks a lot of questions and they get to know each other throughout the book. She brings him to safety and calls Doctor Chilton. Very soon after that happens, Pollyanna herself mistakenly believed that she could run across the road before the oncoming motorcycle zoomed by. Very, very, unfortunately, she did not make it in time. She is rushed home and the doctor is immediately called. Tragically, Pollyanna finds out that she can not walk ever again in whole her life. Miraculously, Dr. Chilton knows another doctor in the city that can actually fix Pollyanna¿s legs. Her Aunt Polly tells her that Doctor Chilton and she used to be engaged but somehow got in a fight and never talked to each other for 7 years. Now that Pollyanna is in the hospital getting her legs repaired, she must stay there for a couple more months. Finally, Aunt Polly and Dr. Chilton get married right in the hospital!
Pollyanna is one the brightest girls I have ever heard about! She is so thoughtful of others. The genre was historical fiction and I don¿t like historical fiction. But to my surprise, the book was so touching, that it made me want to read it all over again! I am sure my mom would love to read this book because she is easily touched by these types of stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful read for all ages
Anonymous 8 months ago
He closed the door behind him and walked over to his bed. "I honestly don't know how se<_>x works when you're already pregnant." James shifted over her with his knees at her hips d his hands next to her ears.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Do you mean to tell me that there are two james. People can tell us apart if i rate all my rps with one star but you allways rate it with five stars
Anonymous 12 months ago
I love this book soooooooooo much! Its so good. Its great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lovely book for readers of all ages! ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"I was just waiting for your promission before I started." He whispered against her lips, his hands still pressed against her shoulders.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the book i liked it 5 stars for the book:0 for your rude commet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If U like this book u would soooooooo like Hattie Big Sky,:);)<3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And loved it! I want more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the movie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love pollyanna but SO MANY TYPOS I COULD NOT EVEN READ THE BOOK IT IS A GOOD THING I SAW THE MOVIE FIRST DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS TYPO FILLED BOOK!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is also a very inspiring story. You should see the movie if you have not. I highly recommend this book(and the movie)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cant miss this grear classic! When you finnish it read Pollyanna Grows Up read both of these read alooud with a parent if you r age 6 7 8&bull;
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the movie.....a classic......i cant wait to read the book MISTY
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TrixieBelden92 More than 1 year ago
Great book, I read it in school .very touching. I think every child should read it . It is one of my favorite clasics.