×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pompeii
     

Pompeii

3.9 107
by Robert Harris
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ancient Rome is the setting for the superb new novel from Robert Harris, author of the number one bestsellers Fatherland, Enigma and Archangel.
Where else to enjoy the last days of summer than on the beautiful Bay of Naples. All along the coast, the Roman Empire’s richest citizens are relaxing in their luxurious villas. The world’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pompeii 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 107 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I was first assigned this book for my Ancient Civilizations class I was not exactly excited to read it. I actually dreaded it. I am not the type of person to read historical fiction novels just for fun. But when I picked it up I realized about half way through that I was not able to put it down. Overall i loved the book. It did take me a while to get into because the beginning was pretty much just useless information that kept dragging on but when i got about half way into the book things really started to pick up. I even read over weekends which is very unusual for me. The book was filled with totally accurate and very interesting information but on the side it also had a little mystery, action, and even some romance. I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to anyone and I'm not just saying that, I'm not a big reader especially a historical fiction reader but in all honesty this is now one of my
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story really kept me interested. I had read true accounts of the disaster and a recent show on volcanoes set me looking for fictional stories based on the story of the ruins. This was an excellent fast read and kept me enthralled until the end.
PhilipMA More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly surprised having not known the author or tried a sample. Good story, strong characters and interesting setting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book because my family comes from Torre Del Greco, a suburb of Naples, in the shadow of Mt. Vesuvius. I was fascinated and excited to read, even fictionally, about the country where my family originated. The author's accounts of city structure and life are so wonderful, that for a moment I forgot it was fictional. I was greatly pleased to see that the architecture he describes matches my grandmother's house, down to the shapes of the houses, the cool tiles and the water fountains. Even though we know what happened, it is wonderful to see a new perspective, a more personal view of the events leading up to the disaster.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pompeii is an impressive historical fiction thriller written by British author Robert Harris. It is set during the Roman Empire in the year 79 A.D. along the Mediterranean coast. The protagonist of the story is Marcus Attilius Primus, the new aquarius (water engineer) for the Agua Augusta, the gigantic aqueduct that supplies fresh water to the many cities surrounding the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Drama unfolds as the springs that flow through the Agua begin to fail, affecting the water supply to the region. Attilius is called to assemble an expedition to Pompeii and nearby Mt. Vesuvius to repair the faculty section of the aqueduct. Meanwhile, tremors and rumblings from Vesuvius strike fear of impending disaster in the citizens, who have come to know the wrath of the god Vulcan. Pompeii is a city teeming with crime and corruption, and Attilius encounters a greedy landowner's scheme to divert the public water supply for his own profit. Mass chaos results as the volcano erupts, overwhelming citizens in different stages of evacuation from their homes. Attilius attempts a daring escape through the repaired aqueduct tunnel as Vesuvius unleashes its deadly fury upon Pompeii. Who ultimately survives the catastrophe, and who will perish? The exciting finale will keep readers in suspense until the end. Pompeii is definitely worth reading, because it is exciting as well as educational. Harris uses a combination of fact and fiction that results in a very entertaining novel for fans of both genres. I learned details about ancient Roman culture, and aqueduct engineering that allowed this civilization to prosper. I could also relate to the storyline of corruption and greed vs. good that I see in modern times.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just recommended that our school library pick up a copy .Yes,the novel is very predictable but who cares we already know the mountain is going to blow. The beauty is that he gets into the culture of the times the food ,mice for lunch bunch,and the physics of a aqueduct and the water chemistry. There are enough villans and saviors to keep one happy . I liked it a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Recommended as I was going to Italy. I wasn't sure but was pleasantly surprised. The story held my attention and it was interesting to find how many characters actually were alive then. This is both informative and a great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Robert Harris Book on Pompeii is historical and a good book to read. The book started off with a bang and encouraged me to keep reading on about the aqua Augusta. The aqua Augusta is the main source of water for all the eight villages are surviving on this water supply. As the engineer Marcus Attilius takes charge of the new aqua Augusta it becomes disaster. The aqua Augusta breaks and no one is able to fix it. As the Aqueduct has no water it cause the people to struggle due to never having this problem in generations. Now they relie on Pliny to fix the aqueduct and fix this crisis. He takes his daughter Corneila to help with recording the way through the tunnel.  During his expedition he goes through a lot of life and death  situations with drowning and lava.  This book shows bravery and determination to get the job done. I'm not  not of a reader but this book is interested me to keep reading on. I encouraging you to order this book and give it a try it offers history and knowledge of Pompeii. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hammbone More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story line that personalized this event. Will be looking for other books by Harris.
LN_Adcox More than 1 year ago
The action is fast paced and knowledge of the inevitable catastrophe takes nothing away from the drama. However, the amazing scholarship that under lies the plot and characters is what makes this book unique. We are introduced into the Roman engineering marvel of the Aqua Augusta aqueduct, into Roman politics and corruption, and into the lives, homes and culture of those living in this area of wealth and tourism. Attilius, the water engineer or Aquarius, was almost too honest and dedicated to be believable, but was in obvious contract to Ampliatus, the greedy, ruthless power behind the local politicians. I enjoyed meeting Pliny, the former cavalry commander, now Admiral and scientist, and discovering why a high, narrow blast of gas from a volcanic eruption is or was called a “Plinian” You may think you know the story of Pompeii, but the detailed description of the catastrophe through all of its phases and the corresponding impact upon the people along this area of the Mediterranean coast may convince the reader otherwise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this novel and in certain ways I did but I was left feeling there should have been much more to it. It has a clever plot device in its approach to the subject matter, namely how the pre-eruption activity of Vesuvius affected the aqueducts that serviced the area of Pompeii. The details seem authentic and well-researched. There is even a nice intersection of real history in the person of Pliny the Elder and the major fictional character, the Roman official in charge of the aqueduct. There is nothing wrong with the book, I just wanted more; more depth, more detail and more substance. There was one curious statement at the conclusion about global warming, of all things. Apparently the author is doesn't believe human activity has much to do with it. That out-of-place commentary left a slightly odd aftertaste.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
peabopc More than 1 year ago
Well-written, easy read for someone who's been fascinated with Pompeii since 2nd grade. Compelling story with believable characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago