×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pompeii: City on Fire
     

Pompeii: City on Fire

4.2 47
by T. L. Higley
 

Pompeii, a city that's many things to many people. For Cato, it's the perfect escape from a failed political career in Rome. A place to start again, become a winemaker. But when a corrupt politician wrongfully jails Cato's sister, he must oust the man from power to save her. 

For Ariella, Pompeii is a means to an end. As a young Jew, she escaped the fall of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pompeii: City on Fire 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
TLJo More than 1 year ago
A very well written historical novel. It was extremely interesting to read about the early Church and to see Rome portrayed as something other than the perfect society. I enjoy Christian fiction but sometimes feel the story is secondary to the religious aspect. This is definitely not the case with this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The storyline is intriguing and I had big expectations since I have always been interested in Pompei but the story dragged. It would have been better if there were less lengthy descriptions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
becx More than 1 year ago
I wanted to read "Pompeii: City On Fire" before doing my interview with Tracy. I knew her books were Christian fiction and I honestly expected "Pompeii" to be more religious and in your face about God, but it wasn't. This book was completely different from anything I've read before. History, politics, action, suspense, religion and plenty of heart are all combined to create an amazing story. I've never been a fan of reading anything political but Tracy has written those aspects in a way that flow seamlessly within the story. The history of Pompeii comes alive and I could see the places described so clearly. I really got caught up in the book once the main characters Ariella and Cato crossed paths. I loved how these two very different characters could not be more perfect for one another. Their shared dreams of freedom and beliefs bring them together despite their many other differences. I also loved how Tracy's writing and storytelling gave me a connection to the secondary characters. I became interested in Portia and Lucius' lives and felt for Jeremiah and his family. The only thing that threw me was when the story was being told from the perspective of Mount Vesuvius. Once I understood the concept I had no problem at all. I give "Pompeii: City On Fire" 5/5 stars. I definitely recommend reading this book. Even if you're not a fan of Christian fiction it will be well worth checking out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ladylawyer8650 More than 1 year ago
After reading the foregoing stellarr reviews, I feel, again, like the odd man out. This author has talent enough to have made this a fantastic book. Christianity was young. The Jews were displaced. Hedonism was overtly practiced. The destructiion of Pompeii was and is overwhelming. With such ripe subject matter, this book should have been better. That is just one person's opinion.
none123 More than 1 year ago
Great summer read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have visited Pompeii so it was fun to have the picture in my head of some of the area.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago