×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Power Thoughts: 12 Strategies to Win the Battle of the Mind
     

Power Thoughts: 12 Strategies to Win the Battle of the Mind

4.0 133
by Joyce Meyer
 

See All Formats & Editions

Joyce Meyer has a knack for coining phrases-her fans call them Joyceisms-and one of her best loved is "Where the mind goes, the man follows." This was the basis for Battlefield of the Mind, and in her latest book, Meyer provides "power thoughts," bringing the reader to a new level of ability to use the mind as a tool to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Power Thoughts: 12 Strategies to Win the Battle of the Mind 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 133 reviews.
snidbits More than 1 year ago
In the Introduction to her book, Meyer makes a statement that sums up the importance for taking control of our thought life. She says, "I firmly believe that each thing we do in life gives us experience for the next thing we will do and that our thoughtful planning is perfected by God as we place our trust in Him." She further says "It is impossible to change our lives unless and until we change our thoughts." Meyer shares twelve "power thoughts" for us to grab hold of and meditate on in order to give our mind a mental make-over. These are: 1. I can do whatever I need to do in life through Christ. 2. God loves me unconditionally! 3. I will not live in fear. 4. I am difficult to offend. 5. I love people and enjoy helping them. 6. I trust God completely; there is no need to worry! 7. I am content and emotionally stable. 8. God meets all my needs abundantly. 9. I pursue peace with God, myself, and others. 10. I live in the present and enjoy each moment. 11. I am disciplined and self-controlled. 12. I put God first in my life. I really liked this book. I like the way Meyer has written it so you can break up each "power thought" and study one a week. I definitely want to re-read the book, getting all I can out of it. At the end of each "power thought" she also includes a list of relevant scriptures. Scattered throughout the chapters are questions for you to answer, encouraging us to evaluate our current thought life and what we can do to change it. One thing she said that spoke to me as I'm in a season of waiting is that "Satan often works through or takes advantage of our weaknesses at the precise time God is trying to promote us or lead us to take a step of faith that will advance His Kingdom or move us closer to fulfilling our destinies."
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
If you know me you know how much I feel that Joyce Meyer's adds to my spiritual walk. In having the chance to meet her just weeks after my surgery was amazing. In her latest book, Power Thoughts, 12 strategies to Win the Battle of the Mind, came at a perfect time for me. I am what you would call your classic worrier. I worry more when it deals with a situation I am personally involved with but can handle others problems so much better than I can my own. In her latest book, Joyce shows how these little, nagging destructive thoughts can do us more harm than good in both the physical, emotional and spiritual areas of our life. Joyce teaches you how you can "daily" take up the battle and begin to replace all those thoughts that plague our lives and keep us from the true potential God knows is possible in us. There are chapters designed to help you with worry, fear, walking victoriously through any situation, pursuing peace, meeting our needs abundantly and even how to be content and emotionally stable. Oh where to start for me? The first part of the book is for learning how to implement the change of thinking that has been going on since we were able to put thoughts together and allow us to shape our lives based on what we have thought. Joyce teaches us how to change all that bad thinking and put it into cans. After all miracles really do come in "Cans!!!" It's believing we can, and then repeating it and praying over the thoughts until we can become victorious over them. I received this book, compliments of Faith Words a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and think everyone should get a copy of this for their home. Who doesn't ever have those thoughts that plague us when life hands us lemons? I would easily rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am going through a lot of different emotions lately with getting very upset and angry with people. This book has opened my eyes and showed me how this is wrong on my part to allow myself to get so upset. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with anger, gossip, judging, etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'd also like to recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" by R.A. Clark. It's revealing look at the power of forgiveness. If you ever felt trapped by anger, guilt, resentment and/or pain, then this book is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have you read Battlefield of the Mind? Joyce's new book, Power Thoughts, will take you to the next level of winning the battle in your mind! In this book she gives you 12 strategies to learn how to think good things on purpose. Pre-order your copy today! Also, I suggest you read "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which is available here on BN.com. It's a great book with a powerful message.
lync More than 1 year ago
This book is very good. I don't think anyone can go wrong by reading something written by Joyce Meyer. She is honest and straight forward and her books are wonderful extremely helpful.
LucyBH More than 1 year ago
An amazing book so far. Thru ch.1 it's very much like most things that I've read so far on positive thinking ie "power of positive thinking". However it's never too much and reminders are great for us especially in this economy of keeping our mind clear and spirits high. Looking forward to Ch.2 Now that I am done, it was amazing. Joyce outlines a flexible program to turn thoughts into habits, and habits into success. Sections include: · The Power of a Positive You · 5 Rules for Keeping Your Attitude at the Right Altitude · More Power To You bulleted keys to successful thinking in each chapter · The Power of Perspective It was a powerful book of encouragement and call to action to keep your heart and mind pure, your goals set and live it to the fullest.
anotherjoy More than 1 year ago
Power Thoughts by Joyce Meyer is a follow-up of sorts to her previous book Battlefield of the Mind. This book takes the principles uncovered in Battlefield of the Mind a step further, providing a guideline for practical application of these principles to "renew your mind" and train your thoughts to fall into line with the Word of God. Joyce Meyer details twelve steps, or thoughts, to meditate on, along with scripture to focus on in the process of retraining your mind to turn from a vicious cycle of unhealthy thoughts to the kind of faith-filled thinking that moves people into God's plans for them. I really liked reading this book through the first time (and I will definitely be reading it several times more). I have never read Battlefield of the Mind, but thankfully this is not a sequel in the since that you can't get into this book without having read the other one first. Joyce Meyer basically starts from square one for most people, and points out along the way different books that she's already written that might be useful for more in depth study of certain topics. I've always liked her simple, straight-forward style of writing, and it's especially suited to this particular guide of twelve "power thoughts" to renew your mind. My favorite thoughts (and naturally, the ones I need to work on the most) are "I will not live in fear" and "I am difficult to offend," but I know I need to work on all of them. Thankfully, this book is an easy way to do that. Joyce recommends focusing on each step for a week at a time, resulting a three-month process of going through the book, and then repeating the process over and over again to renew your mind. I read it the first time to familiarize myself with the steps, and I intend to follow Joyce's recommendation. I'm looking forward to being transformed by the renewing of my mind (Romans 12:2). . I received this book free from FaithWords. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
Smurf913 More than 1 year ago
I love this book. It gave me a new way at looking at some things. This has caused me to have more peace and enjoyment out of life. I read it slowly and pondered on the thoughts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book. It is said that language shapes our thoughts. Gods words shapes our thoughts. This book is an inspirational guide to remind us of the power of the mind. I highly recommend this book to inspire us and as a guide.
Love4Me2 More than 1 year ago
I am taking my time reading this book. I have been empowered by all of the information and God has spoken though this book what I need to get through my hard time in my life. This is a GREAT READ AND MUST HAVE!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book saved me. Or more realistically God saved me but i never saw it innthe way jiyce putsnit in this book. Its so amazing!
hrt2hrt_- More than 1 year ago
Highly Recommended-you must check it out!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Saying these power thoughts daily makes me stronger. This book can change you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Highly recommend it
ritef More than 1 year ago
I would recommend
ivorycat More than 1 year ago
I bought this book as a Christmas gift for a friend. She and others have reported that it is excellent. Since it is on the NOOK lend-me list, my friend will lend it to me when she finishes. I am looking forward to another of Joyce Meyer's inspiring books.
Meisha More than 1 year ago
Even better than Battlefield of the Mind!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gbautista72 More than 1 year ago
Started reading July 10, 2014. Easy to read. Simple. Light. I do enjoy the "To Think About" sections. Loved this book! It's good for you. Great insight, words of wisdom & all of it biblically sound. These are godly concepts & will definitely strengthen your walk with God. Joyce is a straight shooter. She does not beat around the bush or sugar coat things. She's real. We ought to embrace this because many of us just need that blunt honesty! Power Thought #12 - I PUT GOD FIRST IN MY LIFE!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book on my tablet. I think Joyce Meyer made some great points that are worth noting and listening to, but some of her opinions are too strong. Overall, it was a great book that made me think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago