×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Practical Demonkeeping
     

Practical Demonkeeping

4.2 167
by Christopher Moore
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Christopher Moore's ingenious debut novel, we meet one of the most memorably mismatched pairs in the annals of literature. The good-looking one is one-hundred-year-old ex-seminarian and "roads" scholar Travis O'Hearn. The green one is Catch, a demon with a nasty habit of eating most of the people he meets. Behind the fake Tudor façade of Pine Cove,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Practical Demonkeeping 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 167 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like Christopher Moore, which I do, you will enjoy this book. If you don't know Christopher Moore and you like quirky, off beat and dark humor you should really read this book.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
I have loved every piece of Christopher Moore's work I have read, until this. Here, in Practical Demonkeeping, you can really see how much Moore has evolved into the comedic story telling master that he is now. In this novel he needed more room to let these characters take more shape. The comedy was there but it was much more subtle as opposed to his next novel taking place in Pine Cove (Lust Lizard Of Melancholy Cove). Overall it was a good book but the author has spoiled me with his later and funnier works. This is a good place to start but not where I started!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story of Practical Demonkeeping by Christopher Moore, opens with one hundred-year-old ex-seminarian, Travis O' Hearn, and an evil, flesh-eating demon named Catch, driving into the small town of Pine Cove. The most mismatched and oddest couple of all time met in 1916 during World War I, when Travis was about to enter seminary to become a priest. During his training to become a priest, the Vatican sent a set of priceless silver candlesticks in for repairs. Travis, who was assigned to polish the candlesticks, discovered they were hollow. Shocked by his discovery, he unscrewed one of the candlesticks and found a piece of parchment inside with an invocation on it. After Travis finished reading the invocation, the events that would follow changed his life forever. Suddenly, the demon Catch arose from the fiery pits of Hell, making Travis the master of an evil demon. This creation would link Travis and Catch in the worst way possible. Travis' life would never be his own. His survival depended on Catch. Therefore, Travis was forced to leave the seminary. His conscience would not permit him to pursue a path of righteousness when he was linked to such an evil beast. Catch revealed a terrible secret to Travis; if he did not feed, they both would die. After several years with Catch, Travis could no longer allow Catch to kill just any person to meet his dietary needs. So, in order to protect the innocent, Travis vowed to find the scum of the Earth for Catch to feed on once or twice a week. Unfortunately, Catch desired human flesh twenty-four seven and hated his master for restricting his needs. Catch's turmoil led him to make sure Travis' life would be a terrifying entanglement of pain and misery. Travis on the other hand, was tired of trying to control Catch, so he decided to come to Pine Cove to find the one person who could rid him of Catch once and for all. The book Practical Demonkeeping is a highly enjoyable and brilliantly written piece of comedy fiction. The book is full of humor, mystery, and suspense. The book mostly takes place in modern day California, but parts of it flashback to the early 1900's during World War I. The rural woodsy setting of Pine Cove adds to the suspense of the story when Catch goes on his "hunting" trips. The problem with Catch and Travis is resolved in a way that will leave readers satisfied. Practical Demonkeeping is a rare comedy gem that no one should miss out on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great, if weird, piece of fiction. The plot manages to be fresh and humorous without trying too hard. Moore's characters are well-developed and each lends something to the story. Christopher Moore's books do not disappoint.
Drewano 8 months ago
I started with the third book in the ‘Pine Cove’ series (‘The Stupidest Angel’) and couldn’t put it down, it was so well written and funny so I was a little disappointed with ‘Practical Deemondkeeping’. I just didn’t find it as funny as some of his other stuff. The characters are great but the situations that they find themselves in just seemed to fall flat for me. The writing is great but overall I just found it to be OK.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little slow to start, but once the dots start to connect... Well, you'll see.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago