×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pretty Dead
  • Alternative view 1 of Pretty Dead
  • Alternative view 2 of Pretty Dead
     

Pretty Dead

3.7 40
by Francesca Lia Block
 

See All Formats & Editions

Even if I wanted to die for someone, it wouldn't be that easy. They just keep dying for me.

Something is happening to Charlotte Emerson. Like the fires that are ravaging the hills of L.A., it consumes her from the inside out.

Something to do with the tear in her enviably perfect nails. The way she feels when she's with the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pretty Dead 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Dana_W More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of this book and it was well worth the read. The artful writing of Ms. Block was a joy to experience and the story a real page turner. Watching Char experience what is was like to be a vampire going through the ages was like looking at a painting. You could feel her emotions-grief, rage, love radiating through the pages. Her anger at her maker, the grief of losing her beloved brother at such a young age. Her love for Emily and Jared and finally the betrayal that changed everything. Read this book. It is a keeper.
Sabrielle More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader and Ms. Block is most definitely the most creative and magical writer I have read. I absolutely love every single book by her. Upon reading the synopsis of this novel I was not sure if I would feel the same about this one. It blew me away. From what I was expecting, it was much more deep and involved than your typical vampy book. I should have known and I will never underestimate this fabulous writer again. She never disappoints!
floppyyy More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, i just thought that since it was short; events moved a little too quickly in the story. But over all it was a good book. :]
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Charlotte Emerson used to be a teenage girl. She loved writing, clothes, and her brother, Charles. Charles meant everything to her - he was her world, her reason for living. Rheumatic fever took him too early, leaving Charlotte heartbroken and lost. Enter William, a dashing young man who offers Charlotte a life of immortality; free from worry, disease, and old age. Charlotte is exquisite as a vampire; her beauty is unparalleled, but she longs for something more - a companion - someone who can replace her Charles. She finds this in Emily - a teenage girl who has endured so many things. Emily wishes to be turned, but Charlotte refuses to damn her for all eternity. Inevitably, Charlotte loses Emily. She also begins to lose something else... I have loved Francesca Lia Block ever since the Weetzie Bat books came into being. Block's use of language and expression creates an incredibly beautiful, yet haunting universe for her characters to mingle in. It is like this in all of her novels. The words flow like liquid across the pages. With PRETTY DEAD, Block has joined the ranks of other great authors by putting her own twist on vampire mythology. Lovers of the undead will devour this novel...make sure to pick it up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am definitely a fan of this book (I got it from the library first and now im going to purchase it), I feel its beautifully written and thoughtout, it contains so much rage and passion.  It is obviously not everyones cup of tea, however I mainly read 400 page books and I feel that this book though small contains the same if not more feeling and story as any other book iv'e read. I say give it a shot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not only a book with complex characters, deep symbolism, and things we all can relate to, it is artwork. I have been there through all of Block's writings, and I can assure you that this is one of the best. I can not promise that you will love this book, but I did. To understand the deeper meaning I had to reread and even just sit and think about this book. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who can have the patience to understand it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JustinBieber More than 1 year ago
Man i love books that is out there and this one really hit the spot i read this and litterally was amazed on the way the writer put it all in words and made you feel rite there I was amazed. Buy this book it is great and hope you enjoy it as much as i did