×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pride and Prescience: Or, a Truth Universally Acknowledged (Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mysteries Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Pride and Prescience: Or, a Truth Universally Acknowledged (Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mysteries Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Pride and Prescience: Or, a Truth Universally Acknowledged (Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mysteries Series #1)
     

Pride and Prescience: Or, a Truth Universally Acknowledged (Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mysteries Series #1)

3.8 41
by Carrie Bebris
 

See All Formats & Editions

Pride and Prescience (Or, A Truth Universally Acknowledged), a Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mystery, embroils the joyous newlyweds Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam Darcy in a mystery involving one of their wedding guests.

The lovely Caroline Bingley is engaged to marry a rich and charismatic American. Unfortunately, this windswept courtship is marred by many strange events

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pride and Prescience: Or, a Truth Universally Acknowledged (Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mysteries Series #1) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In my last critique of this novel I judged it as absolutely wild and ridiculous. Now, after reading Linda Berdol¿s take on Darcy and Elizabeth, I had to reconsider my hash words. This book truly stays true to Darcy and Elizabeth. They act in the precise manner Jane Austen would have wanted them to act in the given situations. Darcy is¿well Darcy and Elizabeth is full of sharp wit and spunk. Best of all there romance tastefully hinted upon and discrete. I truly think this Author has an unparalleled ability to capture the real Darcy and Elizabeth. Where this book fails however is with its ridiculous plot. This isn¿t Gothic it¿s insane. Magic rings, spells, and so on. It¿s all too, too much. But the characters are so authentic to Austen¿s that I advice reading it anyway. I¿d love to see this author continue Austen style books with less outlandish plots.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutley loved this book. It honestly stayed true to the original characters and hinted romance without being raunchy. She really imitated the feel of a JA novel without being too flowery.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was really disappointed with this book. I love the Jane Austen series and and love Pride and Prejudice. The dialogue was authentic, but it was a poor facsimile for the world of Pride and Prejudice. The whole cursed ring was completely unbelievable and unrealistic. I would recommend reading the library's copy before buying it from the bookstore.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Really - Lizzy and her Mr. Darcy sleuthing around Netherfield after mysterious events? And wondering if witchcraft is involved? This is just too dumb to believe. I gave it one star for some cute and true-to-character dialog...that is, when they are not talking about the rediculous events. Carrie D can write Regency stuff...but this is hocus-pocus fluff.
BooksCatsEtc More than 1 year ago
I love Jane Austen and, for the most part, I found this Austen-based mystery fun. It has a fairly good bead on the tone and characters of the original story -- not that there weren't a few flubs, esp. places where the language seemed a little too modern, but I'm willing to overlook a few missteps in a first novel if the writing is generally good and the story enjoyable. One thing I didn't much care for was the introduction of woo-woo into the story by introducing supernatural elements and making them "real". I found that disappointing. It's enough that Lizzie is Elizabeth freaking Bennett Darcy without making her the Queen of Woo as well. I liked this story just enough despite the woo to give the 2nd novel in this series a chance, but if the supernatural nonsense continues I doubt I'll be reading the 3rd one.
SciFiGirl13 More than 1 year ago
I started reading these mysteries out of order, but it doesn't matter. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Bebris does a very good job with mr. And mrs. Darcy's witty banter as did Jane Austin. I find myself laughing while reading imagining the conversations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hahaha at least ur name goes for both genders
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The storyline is a mystery, but it is fairly light while being an interesting story
melissa belcher More than 1 year ago
Very well done for a sequel. The story started off well with Elizabeth and Darcy as the same characters from Pride and Predjuice. There was witty conversation and a believeable story line. Caroline Bingley announces her engagment to an American at Elizabeths wedding. The Darcys postpone returning to Pemberly to attend the wedding. Immediatley after Caroline begins behaving very strangley. Her family even considers having her put away. This is the point where the story line changes and magic is brought in. The story feels very sci-fi. If you want a good read and not strict jane austen you will like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
crazylilcuban More than 1 year ago
Entertaining mystery story based around the characters from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, with Elizabeth and Darcy being of course the main protagonists. This story, the first in a series of Mr. and Mrs. Darcy mysteries, blends Jane Austen's characters with a story of intrigue and a dash of supernatural mystery. I really enjoyed the book; it wasn't deep and philosophical, but it was an entertaining mystery with a surprising twist. As a Jane Austen fan, I think this was one of the better "sequels" that I've read that creates new stories around her characters. The characters acted in believable ways, and the story kept me interested at all turns. I'm looking forward to reading the second book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago