×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Prince of Tides
     

The Prince of Tides

4.3 256
by Pat Conroy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Pat Conroy has created a huge, brash thunderstorm of a novel, stinging with honesty and resounding with drama.

Spanning forty years, this is the story of turbulent Tom Wingo, his gifted and troubled twin sister, Savannah, and the dark and violent past of the extraordinary family to which they were born.

Filled with the vanishing beauty of the South

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Prince of Tides 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 256 reviews.
PHMMD More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of books, and this one has always topped my list of favorites. There's something about the way that Pat Conroy writes that just draws me in (I even enjoyed "My Losing Season", and I have absolutely no interest in basketball) -- his descriptions can conjure up a place or a person in a way that makes you not just see what he's describing, but really KNOW it. I have South Carolina in my blood, and this book makes me feel that in a way that really shocked me the first time I read it. As other readers have said, this book is FAR better than the movie it inspired; it is an absolutely spellbinding piece of literature and one that you can't possibly forget. I am thrilled that it's now an eBook -- I plan to read it many more times on my nook! Pat Conroy is my all-time favorite author, and I truly feel that "The Prince of Tides" is his best.
SC2NY More than 1 year ago
I confess that the 5 stars I gave this book are because of the way it takes me back home - to the South Carolina Lowcountry. As a transplant to the NYC Metro Area, the novel's setting couldn't be more perfect for me. Tom Wingo is a bit crude, but his tales of home are enough to make me want to pack up the moving truck and move back to Charleston. Conroy does a good job of mixing stories of the past and present without treating the reader like a child who needs hand-holding. The transitions can be as abrupt as an errant thought, but also come at predictable moments. There is variety, humor, love and just about every other intense human emotion. P.S. - As usual, the book is MUCH BETTER than the movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE absolute best reading I have enjoyed! I cried I smiled I laughed... thank-you for sharing your talent....I can still smell the ocean breeze...you made my crazy life growing up in our own madness feel like it's ok, keeping family secrets was nothing to be ashamed of, and for the first time in my life I felt true compassion and understanding... I felt safe....bless you
Dickinson More than 1 year ago
Conroy teases the reader's imagination with glimpses of madness and full views of the rational and emotional defense mechanisms that children and adults use to survive their circumstances. The book shows more than you want to see. Though the characters are always slightly larger than life, it is impossible to stop reading. Their stories are annoyingly interrupted and intersected, yet the sneaky familiarity of the themes of archetypal powerlessness, denial and retionalization demand attention. In the end . . . no, the end is for you to find. In fact, stop 30 pages before the end and imagine your own ending. Then peek again into this author's world.
Kevin Flanagan More than 1 year ago
With The Prince of Tides Conroy takes the reader through an incredible and eloquent journey through the passions and many turmoils of the Wingo family. The language employed by Conroy in describing the largely disturbing content of the novel brings a beautiy to his writing unparralled in modern times. This book is an absolute "must-read" for anyone with an appreciation for the English language. I strongly recommend this book. Man may wonder but God decides When to kill the Prince of Tides
Ms_Soni More than 1 year ago
A must read. This is one of the two best books ever written. Pat Conroy is a master storyteller! If you liked the movie, you will love this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book primarily because Conroy is from South Carolina (my home state) and because I wanted to read it before seeing the movie. I was thoroughly impressed by his descriptions of the Carolina Lowcountry as well as the ways of southern life. Not only does he write of the beauty and appeal of small southern towns where life never changes but he also touches on the desire many young southerners carry with them through adolesence: to get away from the stereotypes and restraints in order to experience new things and ideas. This book is the perfect addition to any beach bag or bookshelf. The only thing I didn't like about it were the 20-page chapters! :)
Lace1cat More than 1 year ago
Prince of Tides is everything American. You will find yourself crying, laughing, indignant and in awe that an American family can find itself so lost and aching. Pat Conroy is a bigger person than I am! I could never (and haven't ) forgiven a father who thrived on subjecting such pain and discord to family members. Pat Conroy is the fore-mentioned American Treasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has a compelling plot line showing the best and worst of human nature in a beautiful South Carolina natural setting. I could hardly put it down.
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
I hated Henry, Savannah, and Lila Wingo, Reese Newbury, Herbert Woodruff, and Monique. But I loved Tom Wingo and Susan Lowenstein and this novel. This novel covers the taboo subjects of rape, child abuse, and suicide attempts, and it does so unabashedly and with language and pitch-perfect storytelling ability that will literally tip over your emotional applecart. THE PRINCE OF TIDES peels back the curtains of the small-town, southern life, and it gives the reader a front row seat on shrimping and family loyalty, often taken to absurdist extremes. Almost anything is bad when taken to excess, and beating little kids followed by a flat-out denial that it ever happened takes awful to a whole new level. It's so bad that little children are told to never mention what happen, or pretend that it didn't happen. There's a word for that and irrational probably doesn't even begin to cover it. No matter how much you try to bury something, though, you eventually "come to a moment that we can't pretend isn't real." And this book is filled with several of those moments. This novel also highlights why I'll never live in New York City. I'm a southern gentleman at heart--referring to women as ma'am and ladies and opening doors--so if I were to live in The Big Apple, at some point I'd run into the feminist gestapo, during which I'd have my eyeballs poked out, my throat scratched, and I'd be pummeled to within an inch of my life all because I had the audacity to hold a door open for a lady. So I'll stick to my southern roots and say y'all come back now, ya hear. And if you like the south and enjoy going on an emotional roller-coaster ride, you'll certainly enjoy this novel. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I have read a book by Pat Conroy! Wonderful book. I loved his writing, his choice of words, a beautiful and hearbreaking tale of this family. I cannot get enough.
Cathy Linkous More than 1 year ago
I love Pat Conroy! He has an amazing ability to describe things vividly so you feel like you are there. All his books are about the South and the many layers of being a Southerner. Enjoy!
Drora More than 1 year ago
Pat Conroy is a marvelouse writer. He writes about the gentlest things then follow it up with horrors. He describes nature with the most beautiful, loving words, then change direction to describe the darkest of human nature. I envy his imagination and gift of words.
Fran Deane More than 1 year ago
This man uses words the same eay Motzart used notes.
DixieMac More than 1 year ago
Magical (and I never use that word) ! Please do yourself a favor and read this touching and moving novel. Don't be put off because of the lame movie.
Jahtin More than 1 year ago
This is a rich and compelling read! Hard to put down and sad to find it over!
Patricia Mitchell More than 1 year ago
i was spellbound! i started this book on first day of a 7 day cruise, i finished it before we made our first port-of-call!
Guest More than 1 year ago
probably the best book I ever read! A thousand times better than the movie
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is incredible! I will admit Savannah's self-mutilation frightened me and at first I thought she was going to die. This novel is an incredible read I could not put it down once I started it. I almost felt as though I was living within the book. I think that this is a must-read novel and one of Pat Conroy's best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book to read it is a page turner you just can't put it down. The author did a great job writing the book where you picture it in your mind it is like you can see what is going on when you are reading it. This book will touch you. This book is about family and helping people find themself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well, I've read this book 5 times now! My favorite English teacher in high school assigned this book in every one of her class. My brother, who is 2 years older than me, read it first and couldn't sing his praises loud enough. When it was my turn to read the book for class, I was amazed at Conroy's style of writing. Everything about this book touched me. The setting was so real that I could picture it in my mind, and the family interation really made me emotional at times. It's a great book, and I encourage others to enjoy it as well. Now, Conroy is one of my favorite authors, and I enjoy his books for personal reading out of my English literature classes in college.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has to be my favorite book ever. I never wanted it to end. I loved every moment of it. The emotions throughout the whole book were extremely powerful, and I don't think I've ever cried harder in any other book. There was the perfect blending of humor and heart. An absolute MUST-read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ProfessorMS More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful read. I enjoyed it tremendously. I usually read Stephen King, Anne Rice, and Brian Lumbly. I like apocalyptic books too. But this was able to keep my attention all the way through.