×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Princes of Ireland
     

The Princes of Ireland

3.9 84
by Edward Rutherfurd, John Keating (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Edward Rutherfurd has introduced millions of readers to the human dramas that are the lifeblood of history. From his first bestseller, Sarum, to the #1 bestseller London, he has captivated audiences with gripping narratives that follow the fortunes of several fictional families down through the ages. DUBLIN, a sweeping panorama steeped in the tragedy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Princes of Ireland 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 84 reviews.
bryguy More than 1 year ago
If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with its sequel The Rebels of Ireland. Extremely in history taking you from the Ice Age, through the Druids, Irish chiefs and High King, Vikings, Strongbow, Brian Boru, King Henry(s) and more. Rutherford also is great at helping you understand why the history happened the way it did through the characters he develops. The last chapters are riveting. The great news is I am reading the sequel and it starts off even better than the first.
TulaneGirl More than 1 year ago
Though not my favorite of his novels, it was a pleasant, quick read. I absolutely love how Rutherfurd incorporates actual historical events with the family saga. From the druids, through St. Patrick, through English conquest, this saga uses real events to add mystery and drama to the story of a few families. Can't wait to read "The Rebels of Ireland."
The_Full_Crumb More than 1 year ago
When I first began this book I almost immediately put it right back down. It's a quick read with not much of a creative writing style. I like my character development to go on for tons of pages and in this novel you get very brief biographs. With that being said, I kept with this novel and was very surprised how engaging it became. I have always kept away from Michener and other various writers who write long epics about a certain place's history. I must admit that I really started to fall in love with this novel. I knock the writing style, but Rutherford (is trying to write a complete Irish history) has a way of making you attached to certain characters. I particularly enjoyed the part about Brian Boru. I would have loved if Rutherford brought more of the Celtic mythology out in the opening of the novel. Cuchulain and such. Nevertheless I became fully engaged in this novel and am now in the middle of The Rebels of Ireland. I think 3 stars is a very fair rating, I might have ranked it a bit high for my tastes. Maybe if he separated this history into 6 novels like Clavell did I would have loved it a lot more. I still recommend it and particularly if you have an interest in a loose and quick history of Ireland.
EEis4Me More than 1 year ago
A truly engaging and interesting novel about a geography that has always interested me. Long book, yes, but I did not want it to end. I was very sad when I finished the book but just found out there is a second book, going to buy it today! Wish he would turn his research and writing skills to write about Asian history now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy Rutherfurd most times, but I found this book sort of bland. I was almost waiting for it to end. The characters were just not as interesting as in the others I've read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rutherford is an amazing writer. Although it is long, he paints such an incredible picture that the reader feels he is living the story while reading it. His sequel, 'Rebels of Ireland,' keeps the story going into the 20th century. I highly recommend both of them.
Anonymous 22 days ago
Amazing character development throughout the book. The storyline continues seamlessly though time. Jam packed with great Irish history. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. A flash back to home
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
QueSeraSera More than 1 year ago
Rutherfurd's two books on Ireland are my favorite out of all his novels.  They made me extremely proud of my Irish heritage.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago