×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Princess Mia (Princess Diaries Series #9)
  • Alternative view 1 of Princess Mia (Princess Diaries Series #9)
  • Alternative view 2 of Princess Mia (Princess Diaries Series #9)
     

Princess Mia (Princess Diaries Series #9)

4.4 113
by Meg Cabot
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Princess on her own . . .

Mia has been invited to speak at a gala for Domina Rei, an elite society of powerful businesswomen. But what could she possibly have to say? Michael has broken up with her, her bff Lilly won't speak to her, and her parents are forcing her to see a therapist. Even J.P.'s efforts to cheer Mia up (he's being really sweet!) aren't helping.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Princess Mia (Princess Diaries Series #9) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 110 reviews.
XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX More than 1 year ago
This was such a cute story. Little naive Mia had such a fun personality and she didn’t hold anything back. She was a little distracted at first but she clearly saw things by the end and made the right choices. The other characters were wonderful as well, although some were more typical than others. And it wrapped up nicely, while leaving plenty of room for a sequel.I really enjoyed Mia’s reactions to everything. It all felt very real and she handled it like the average teenager would, I think! She can’t handle the details of her parents romantic lives (who can, really) and she doesn’t even want to think about dealing with princess-type things because she’s already unpopular and doesn’t want to become a social outcast. Meanwhile, she still has to worry about grades and her current crush. The book was a lot of fun, but I didn’t quite fall in love with it. I’m not sure if that was because I had expectations — whether from the movie or my experience with Meg’s adult books — but it was adorable and I definitely want to read the rest of the series! I look forward to watching Mia’s character grow and I can’t wait to see what else is in store for her!   
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall, it was a great book. (Mrs. Martinez would hate my lack of descriptive adjectives.) For parents who were worried about Princess on the Brink, just know that there is nothing to really be concerned about in Princess Mia. Meg Cabot's fans will definitely be pleased with her newest edition to the Princess Diaries series.  This book starts off right where Princess on the Brink left off. After Mia and Michael's tragic break-up (To be honest with you, this sort of made me happy. I was never a big fan of Michael to begin with), Mia decides she wants to lay in bed all day and wallow in her grief over their break-up. Her week in bed gets a little old for me, because how many times can you say that you miss Michael? But it flows along fairly quickly. Against her will, her Dad takes her to a cowboy therapist in hopes of getting her out of her "black pit". Lars had to carry her into the building because she refused to go in herself, which was a laugh-out-loud moment for me.  Nine books into this series, you might expect that the story of Mia, Princess of Genovia, has grown stale and predictable, heading toward a pat ending soon. If so, you're in for a treat with Princess Mia; it's definitely the freshest, most absorbing entry in the series to date.  Also, Grandmere is up to her schemes again, and makes Mia speak for Domina Rei, a society of powerful businesswomen. Mia uncovers an old family secret...which might just be the thing that could help her write her speech for Domina Rei, but could also change her fate forever.    
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!!!!!! Im surprised that Mia hasn't needed therapy until now. She has had to handle so much stress. She is depressed that she broke up with Michael, her grandma wants her to speak at a big event, lily still won't talk to her, and lily's ex boyfriend, JP, likes her. Talk about a stressful life. By the end of the book, you are happy that things finally settle down. A change in Genovia's government also has you wondering if Genovia can handle a princess like Mia. YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually like Mia a lot better without Lilt being her friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the whole series of princess diaries because of mia's love and passion for michil
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Meg Cabot has done it again. PRINCESS MIA is Volume IX in THE PRINCESS DIARIES series. I've been hooked on Cabot's humor and the voice of Mia Thermopolis since Volume I, and this second-to-last in the series has me mourning the fact that it will soon be over.

With Michael breaking up with Mia, and Lilly giving her the silent treatment, Mia has hit an all-time low. She refuses to talk with anyone, go to school, or even get out of bed. But never fear - depression "Mia-style" is pretty entertaining. Days of wearing Hello, Kitty pajamas, watching reruns on TV, and destroying her vegetarian ways by binging on any available meat in the frig, will have readers grinning and chuckling aloud.

When friends and family members realize their efforts to get Mia back into the real world have failed, she is forcibly taken to her first-ever therapist appointment. Once she adjusts to the fact that her therapist's name is indeed Dr. Knutz, and that he has a penchant for dressing like a cowboy and telling horse stories, she recognizes that he might actually be able to help her survive her depression.

The usual cast of characters is still in place, with some expanded roles for characters like the "hot" J.P. and the previously irritating Lana. Grandmere provides her own wacky brand of humor, especially as she deals with Mia's depression and a sudden growth spurt that give Mia a much more "womanly" figure.

Plot twists offer readers romance, mental health issues, important social engagements, and challenging "princess" decisions. Mia manages to deal with everything in her always entertaining and quirky way. Fans old and new are sure to have a great time reading PRINCESS MIA.
Brianna Schneider More than 1 year ago
this one was great, although this one wasnt my favorite
sifu-hotman More than 1 year ago
Much better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was actually really good. I have to admit, the series has been going downhill, but then this book came out and and got a little better. However, I feel that Meg Cabot has to end the series before it goes down again.
MyndiL More than 1 year ago
This book broke my heart. I remember too well how it feels at that age to lose the one who could have been THE one. I felt for Mia as she couldn't even get Lilly to let her explain and felt the loss of her love and her best friend. I love Tina and how she's unfailingly there for and in support of Mia. I think this book was much better than the previous and am very anxious to start book 10.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mooslynn More than 1 year ago
This one is my favorite so far in the series. Yes Mia and Michael are no more. Yes Mia is sad. I mean really sad. And yes her best friend won't talk to her. But that isn't why this book is so good. What makes it so good is that Mia is finally growing up a little. She comes to realize some things about her so called best friend. She even comes to realize some things about all the people she previously hated and even a little about herself. I wish this Mia would have come into light a long time ago. She is a much stronger person and you want to root for her even more. Can't wait to read the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love princesses preety
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:) its a smile face im funny my name is tracy text me back
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WHY DO THEY BREAK UP!?!?Its so sad but it was an ok book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, my copy (ordered in the mail) came in two pieces.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago