×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Private Patient (Adam Dalgliesh Series #14)
     

The Private Patient (Adam Dalgliesh Series #14)

3.7 108
by P. D. James
 

See All Formats & Editions

National Bestseller. 

Cheverell Manor is a beautiful old house in Dorset, which its owner, the famous plastic surgeon George Chandler-Powell, uses as a private clinic.  When the investigative journalist, Rhoda Gradwyn, arrives to have a disfiguring facial scar removed, she has every expectation of a successful operation and a peaceful week

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Private Patient (Adam Dalgliesh Series #14) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 107 reviews.
Nutmeg-Anne More than 1 year ago
Beyond the well developed characters and the interesting plot line of this book, P.D. James is a truly talented writer and a joy to read. The book was mentally comfortable from page one to completion and I, personally, intend to begin a collection of her writings. I'm sorry it's taken so long for us to become acquainted. The "Private Patient" had its delightful share of twists and turns, but none so outrageous that the story didn't have a natural flow that allowed me to personally assist Commander Adam Dalgliesh throughout his investigation. Once begun...I found it difficult to put this down...and found myself rushing to complete my daily chores so I could rejoin the investigation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are not fully developed as individuals rather than types, but the plot holds interest. The story is original within the genre but still within the Agatha Christie "closed House and limited suspects" where all the characters might have a motive. I always enjoy reading about Adam Dalgliesh and would like more details about him.
katknit More than 1 year ago
If The Private Patient is truly PDJ's final Dalgliesh novel, she's taking him out in style! AD has always been the most human, humane, and cultured of the detective genre, and at long last, he's gained some well deserved happiness. Although most of his cases have been firmly closed at the end of each story, in this one, James has left some wiggle room. This is a fine police procedural/human interest story, as beautifully written and atmospheric as we've come to expect from her. Five stars for yet another thoroughly enjoyed little masterpiece.
lilySW More than 1 year ago
I re-discovered PD James with this novel. Had read 1 of her novels years ago & remembered I had enjoyed it. All characters are well developed & the "mystery" involved always holds your attention. Her central character, Detective Adam Dalgliesh, is superb. Went out & bought 2 more books from this series. Also feel her use of language is part of the overall appeal of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. Although I have liked all of the previous Dalgliesh books, I've always felt that AD and his associates could stand a few doses of Prozac. While the regular cast was introspective, they didn't seem to be suffering from depression this time. The story was compelling and held my attention. As an American, it was an interesting insight into medical practice in the UK. Good ending either as a series finale or to take advantage of that wiggle room James left for a future novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love P.D James. I love the way she transforms mystery into a literary experience, but having said that, this latest book is not her best. It is still a wonderful read, but the plot is not as compelling as her other books. I found that I quickly forgot the book after reading it.
RJ951 More than 1 year ago
Typical PD James style and substance. Similar to The Lighthouse in feel and overall a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fan of james for many years but i found the read to be a very slow go
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It kept my interest from the beginning and led me to a conclusion unexpected. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good story, not just mystery lovers.
happygranma More than 1 year ago
I have been reading her novels for 30 years. This one is just as wonderful as all the others. She's a great writer. I recommend this book highly. And I recommend readers start a the beginning of her body of work and read through it in entirety. She's nearing the end of her career. She will be missed.
jrf2read More than 1 year ago
As with another British writer, John le Carre, readers must be patient and let the story come to them. Her descriptions not only set the stage but give readers a glimpse into life in another country. How things are done or in some cases simply NOT done. Commander Dalgliesh is his normal brilliant self and is moving into another phase of his life. This is a very satisfying read...just sit back and enjoy settings, characters and mystery.
emmi331 More than 1 year ago
I was sorry that some reviewers had trouble with the wordiness of the book, but this is characteristic of the author. If you're looking for a cozy village mystery to be finished in an afternoon, her books are not for you! This novel, like her others, unfolds slowly, with plenty of character development and setting detail. I gave this four stars instead of five only because I found the resolution of the mystery a bit murky. But the journey through the book was still worth the read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PD James remains in fine form in this murder mystery. As usual, in her books the interior life is every bit as important as the exterior one and while I did not find the "who done it" too much of a challenge, I appreciated the leisurely pace of the book. (I only wish she had turned more of an eye to countryside descriptions of the beautiful Dorset area)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What can be a better setting for a murder mystery than a secluded old house and a limited number of characters with motive and access to the victim? Unfortunately, setting isn't everything. PD James characters are usually well crafted and the plots intricate. However, this story was sidelined, as have been several of her recent books, by references to the Dalgliesh-Emma romance. Enough already. The romance seems contrived and superficial and slows down the pace of the plot.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
London born actress Rosalyn Landor is the perfect choice to read a P. D. James mystery. The daughter of an actor/broadcaster Landor grew up with reading aloud, story telling, and that love for the spoken word is reflected in her voice performances. Her readings are well modulated, precise as she carries listeners along to what is in this case a surprising denouement.

What lover of mysteries has not read or at least heard of P.D. James? The author of 19 books she spent some 30 years in the British Civil Service and recently celebrated her 88th birthday. One of her many gifts to readers is the creation of Commander Adam Dalgliesh, a consummate investigator who is often given to Holmesian discussions as he presents his thoughts to various characters and suspects.

With The Private Patient we visit an impressive old house, Cheverell Manor in Dorset. Once a family home it was sold of necessity to an eminent plastic surgeon, George H. Chandler-Powell, who now operates it as a clinic for the privileged. Rhoda Gradwyn comes to him for the removal of a disfiguring facial scar. She's an investigative journalist (her work is similar to that of a reporter for a supermarket tabloid in the USA). She's with us only briefly as she's soon dead of strangulation, a murder committed by an unknown person wearing latex gloves.

While the crime most definitely has affected Rhoda, it also affects the good doctor as who would want to come to a clinic where a murder has just occurred? Commander Dalgliesh is summoned to investigate. He has a great deal to look into considering the clinic staff, the departed's boyfriend, and others who were a part of her life for good or ill.

Once again James treats us to her vivid descriptions of setting and extensive vocabulary - the perfect word for every thought and situation. A pleasure to read - do so slowly and savor this author's unique style.

- Gail Cooke
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good setting of the stage by the author especially with respect to her character descriptions
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Because it is also has the most humor! For p j james that is. Very few mystery writers can add humor into a mystery unless it is with a standard secondary cast member. Crispen can be very funny and often the humor is from an animal
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
P.d. james is my new agatha christie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always enjoyed books by this author. I thought this was a good read. Fans will not be diappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago