×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Private Peaceful
  • Alternative view 1 of Private Peaceful
  • Alternative view 2 of Private Peaceful
     

Private Peaceful

4.5 29
by Michael Morpurgo
 

See All Formats & Editions

As the enemy lurks in the darkness, Thomas struggles to stay awake through the night. He has lived through the terror of gas attacks and watched friends die by his side. But in the morning, Thomas will be forced to confront an even greater horror.

As the minutes tick by, Thomas remembers his childhood spent deep in the countryside with his mother, his brothers, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Private Peaceful 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
bailrr More than 1 year ago
In this book, Morpurgo captivates emotions so stong that it had me sobbing to the last page. Way better than my high school's history books!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgu is a great and an amazing book. The main character, Thomas Peaceful, a sixteen-year-old, lives through hard situations. He witnesses his father¿s death and blames himself for it he also has the fear of being alone. Then when he goes to school he starts to love this girl Molly, but she likes his best friend. Then the First World War begins, and Tom and his best friend lied about their age to go to the war. There they witness and become a part of hard, life threatening situations. He does not know if he is going to make it through enough to make it home alive. This book would be for people who like action, war, and anti-war books with a little twist. It is full of action in 195 pages, which means that it stays amusing from beginning to end. I give this book two thumbs up and give it 5 stars rating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this book for a class assignmnt, abd as soon as I red the first chapter, I was in book heaven! This is an amazing book with extrordinary detail that will have you laughibg and crying at the same time! In my opinion, alothough Morpurgo es get a little gory at times, this would be a great book for book projects(if you havn't already read it). Or of you just enjoy historical fiction novels, this would definetley be my go-to book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got kiked out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chase, no matter how long ago this message may seem to u. Just respond to it anyways. I need to talk to u...please
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My personal opinion of this book is not good! My review is not positive because it sounds like it was written for a Social Studies teacher, it was NOT an uplifting book and because it sounds like the author didn't know how to end the book and made a drop-off ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cougar_H More than 1 year ago
December/15/2011 The reason that I would recommend the reading of this book is that, in my opinion, It is really good book for many reasons. One of the many reason¿s that I would recommend the reading of the book is that the vocabulary really fit the story. The setting is in London, and the main characters are three boys by the name of Thomas (tommo), Charlie, & Joe Peaceful. Thomas is the main character. He later in the story goes to fight a war in France. In the war things take a change for the worst. They put Thomas I charge of a night stand and he has difficulty staying awake. As the seconds slowly wind down he starts remembering the memories he had as a child. One of the memories that he had is his love of his life.. Molly! The story throughout is very entertaining!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kali-Layne More than 1 year ago
I almost didn't want to pick up this book because it was war related, but honestly i don't believe i was ever so touched by a book. To think that honest men had to go through these difficulties day by day, is something that is beyond heart breaking. This is a story of a life that i will never forget. I will carry this story in my heart. I will highly recommend this book to any high school student.
MoneyDM More than 1 year ago
Private Peaceful is about two brothers that go into the war. There are three brothers and one mom. One brother is big Joe he has autism and people pick on him, another brother is Thomas he is the youngest of the three brothers, and the other one is Charily he is the oldest of the three brothers. Thomas and Charily are the ones how go into the war. Michael Morpurgo has a different way of writing his novels and books. He has written many books and novels like out of the ashes, why the whales came, and my favorite one Private Peaceful. This book dissevers 10-10 stars for its out standing thrill and action. Some of the awards the Private Peaceful has won are OBE and young reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gingy More than 1 year ago
My 8th grade granddaughter read this book in class and sent it on to me. It was an excellent read about an aspect of WWI of which I was not aware. Well written and gripping. Interesting format as well. I feel it is important that today's children learn American and world history and I am always sharing books with them about different chapters in our past. I have even bought two additional copies of Private Peaceful to give to another granddaughter on her birthday and for our now 7 year old grandson to read when he is older!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A sad story about a 16 year old boy in the army.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tommo Peaceful and his brother Charlie had a great life together. Charlie took his brother to his first day of school and even his last day. During their school days they met a girl named Molly. They both like her but she only liked one of them. They went to school together and also left together. She really helped them through the hard times when Charlie¿s and Tommo¿s dad died. He was hit by a tree when he was cutting wood. Tommo was with him that day and he believes it was his fault because his father tried to save him when the tree was coming down. That¿s when everything went bad. Tommo¿s mother would have to work at the Big House or the Colonel was going to kick them out of the house. Then Grandma Wolf came to live with them and they hated her because she was so mean. Then all of the sudden Charlie had to go to war. Tommo went to look after him and then they endured intense pain and they also lost some close friends. Now Tommo and Carlie have to survive to get back home. This is a really good book. It kept me interested the whole time and I couldn¿t put it down. I kept trying to guess what would happen next because it was full of suspense. Someone that would really enjoy this book would like suspense and war books. This is a really good book and you should read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I gave this book a four because it was a good book but it wasnâ¿¿t awesome I liked it mostly because it is about war. This book is about two brothers named Tommo who is the youngest and Charlie who is the oldest. The two boys have been friends all of there life and do everything together. The boys also have a mom a brother and Charlie has a girl friend. The boys are told by there land owner that they have to go fight in the war because they were losing other wise they would get there house taken away so they both join and Charlie has some bad times in the war. Thatâ¿¿s all I can tell you so please read it you might enjoy it. I liked the book because it is about war and kind of the wilderness. The book is not part of a series or anything so you could read it when you want. This book reminds me of Band of Brothers or Saving private Ryan a little bit because the whole squad Charlie and Tommo are in work together. I hope you enjoy this book I read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book. Very moving. I'm in high school, and am very picky about the books I read. I have to say that this book is one of my favorites. Since this as good I'm going to look into other books written by Michael Morpugo. Hope you love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
,this is what this book essentially is about. The beginning had me going in a totally opposite direction, but soon, the setting had changed. The grim and gruesome world of war had turned the series of events upside down. It's just saddening what challenges those men had gone through and what little recognition they got. The book is packed with crazy stories and adventures, even the ending is a one big twist on its own. The novel is a wonderful yet greatly thoughtful demonstration of human actions, relations, morals, and values, which in terms had improved my understanding of importance of individual and caring for the ones we love. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a great story, and more importantly, to the ones who are in a deep need of improving their social perspectives and understanding the true meanings of honor, comradeship, and respect.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is just WOW! it is a awesome book that anyone who liked My brother sam is dead should read! The begenning is a little misleading but keep on reading it gets so much better! This is easily the BEST book I have ever read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was amazing..so inspiring and tells what it must really feel like in a war.this book puts yourself in the place that the soldiers are feeling.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This books was really good. It is by far one of my favorite books. It's soo sad but very inspiring!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book a lot. IT made me think of what is happening now in Iraq.