×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Prodigal Daughter
     

The Prodigal Daughter

4.0 62
by Jeffrey Archer
 

See All Formats & Editions

With a will of steel, Polish immigrant Florentyna Rosnovski is indeed Abel's daughter. She shares with her father a love of America, his ideals, and his dream for the future. But she wants more to be the first female president.

Golden boy Richard Kane was born into a life of luxury. The scion of a banking magnate he is successful, handsome, and determined to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Prodigal Daughter 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although fictional, Archer has injected enough historical facts into his yarns that they almost mirror reality, this one was no exception. The Prodigal Daughter is the story of the rise of a first generation Polish American woman into the American educational, business and political systems. She aspires to become the first female President of the United States. The story gives the reader a small glimpse of the behind the scenes deals and deception rampant in American Politics. Easy and understandable but not a page turner; it is simply put, a good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I noticed that this book was written a few years back. I hope it was in the best sellers list or even on Oprah's must read list. This is one of the most entertaining and compelling book I have had the pleasure of reading for quite some time. I love that the author introduced you to the main character from the time she was born to her presidency. I felt that I was there every step of the way. I think that Florentyne's success in her life was all due to the wonderful nanny who raised her, guided her, nutured her and devoted most of her life to make sure she stayed on course. The mother, Zaphia left all of the care of her child to the nanny. Which was a good thing. I admired Florentyne and Richard because they were both raised in a life of wealth and privelege and they used it and not abused it. Florentyne seemed to have the "Midas Touch" She was the definition of success. She was able to juggle family, husband, and a demanding career, and still come out on top. In reality, this is not possible. Something has to give. I felt she deserved to be elected president by the people's vote instead of being plucked off a golf course and being whisked off to the white house. She finally achieved her dream but under the circumstances she could not have forseen. Wonderful book, five star rating, highly recommended, Jeffrey Archer at his best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad that I was able to get this on my Nook tablet. Bought the actual book at an airport book store many years ago, and then proceeded to forget it on the plane when I landed. This is a must read!
Pastor_Ron More than 1 year ago
Jeffery Archer tells stories that span generations and in which the good wins but at a cost. This story is a fun read. There are some good insights into the immigrant experience of adjusting to America. I would recommend this to anyone who wanted to spend a day, sitting by a fire, reading an uplifting and interesting story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have already read it three times...it says everything!!
RudyRantz More than 1 year ago
Series book helps to read the first two, but not mandatory. Good story line.
AlexisJ More than 1 year ago
Very good novel but not quite as good as Kane and Abel. I got a little hung up with all the paranoia about the Russians though. Really? Still? But all in all an enjoyable story by a gifted author. And I will read #3 of the trilogy. "Shall we tell the President". Be sure to read the books in this order 1 - Kane & Abel 2 - prodigal daughter and 3 -Shall we tell.... Happy reading.
Punishment More than 1 year ago
I discovered Jeffrey Archer by accident and he is now one of my favorite authors. Looking forward to his next book. He spins the story in such a way it keeps you guessing without extra dialogue and scenery. Couldn't hardly put the book down. The end was exciting and unpredictable. The good guys (women) do win sometimes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I.u.ii..mmk..,lmkjinkji..inimomim..jn ..i kj.k..iuimmn J U im.mj.nmmmii.,kmbbj.. mk.,miiy.ikm.uoi b ,imkjui ujmymi ,mmmkmoommi.mijkkkmnmkmu,mm. I.m.I.h.kh m.bhoji.mjh.mgjnm .mkmkm.I.ikk...k.nj iyimiy,kjnukm I mu.ih Kmm.n. ohio.k...ninmin.k.k Mkjn hmiykm., Kimik..uikgjnm.ikimkkhm mikhm jinkini ..,oik.j j .u.mmk
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Archer books, but Prodigal Daughter added more political pages than necessary to read. Should have gone right to the ending source. Not being a very political person myself, book became quite boring during the "political" pages. Just scanned and kept going. I have order "shall we tell the president" and hope I have not paid $9.99 just to read more politics....hope this is the end of this trilogy, which was great in the beginning...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Jeffrey Archer books. He keeps you interested from the begnning of his books. Great writer. good story.
capVA More than 1 year ago
Too much from Kane and Abel and way too political for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quality sequel to Kane and able with a strong woman main character Ending could have been extended- unless another sequel is planned...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't see where anyone could give this book ONE STAR, while claiming to have read "KANE & ABEL" and liking it. The "PRODICAL DAUGHTER" is also another Jeffery Archer 5 STAR novel...RADAR...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow.. Just wow..!! A sequel as good as the original..!! (if not better).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book and so far all of the ones I've read! In this one i kept getting so mad at the ones that made Florentyna believe the lies! Kept me reading for sure and now I cantwait to start the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago