×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pronto (Raylan Givens Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Pronto (Raylan Givens Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Pronto (Raylan Givens Series #1)
     

Pronto (Raylan Givens Series #1)

3.9 61
by Elmore Leonard
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Speedy, exhilarating, and smooth. Nobody does it better.”
Washington Post

“The man knows how to grab you—and Pronto is one of the best grabbers in years.”
Entertainment Weekly

Fans of U.S. Marshal Raylan Givens of the hit TV series Justified are in for a major treat. The unstoppable

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Pronto 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
McCarthy92 More than 1 year ago
This is only my third Leonard novel so don't take my next line that seriously, but Pronto may be among his best work. Part of it comes from the fact that I love the show Justified and also because Pronto is such a great book. Characters, dialogue, prose, this book has it all. Definitely recommend it.
OB-at-OTR More than 1 year ago
Fans of Elmore Leonard already know about this book but I recommend it for fans of the TV series 'Justified.' The book gives some insight to the Raylon Givins character and some of the episodes of the show. However, be aware that the Timithoy Oliphant character on TV is not quite the same as how Leonard envisioned the character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought for $3.99 on the Kindle app. What in the world with the high cost on nook? The 2nd book, riding the rap, is also cheaper on Kindle, though not that big of a difference. This book grabs you quickly, keeps you entertained, is easy to read, and is really just fun. Leonard is a great writer as the reviews say. I wasnt disappointed.
Zed1955 More than 1 year ago
Great characters, good read.
Colliemom59 More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of the show Justified so I wanted to read the books that the show was based on. I was not disappointed!
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
Pronto is the book that introduces Raylan Givens from the TV series, Justified.  It's a great mob versus the 'good guy' story.  Raylan tends to do everything 'his way' and on his own moral judgments.  When a bookie, Harry, is set -up by the Feds to draw in more bad guys, Raylan decides that 'fair is not fair' here.  Raylan goes off to Italy to 'bring back' the bookie, and to save him from a mob hit. The character descriptions are marvelous, and Raylan's 'biography' is apply drawn throughout the story as he gets to know Harry's girlfriend---soon to be Raylan's girlfriend.  The bad guys range from those looking for any little excuse to kill people, to the big talkers who wimp out when the action calls for gunfire. Scenes in Italy are interspersed with stories of the poet, Ezra Pound.  Beauty for one person becomes boredom and confusion for others.  Like all great 'bad versus good' hero stories, the good guys win in the end!!  If you like the TV series, this is a must read for you!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy the tv series "justified" you will enjoy this first book in Elmore Leonard's "Raylan Givens" series.
lovenook More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, want to read more about these people
Preserved-Killick More than 1 year ago
... from the first sentence, the book never relaxes and ends too soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago