×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Prophet of Yonwood (Books of Ember Series #3) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
     

The Prophet of Yonwood (Books of Ember Series #3) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

3.9 349
by Jeanne DuPrau
 

See All Formats & Editions

It’s 50 years before the settlement of the city of Ember, and the world is in crisis. War looms on the horizon as 11-year-old Nickie and her aunt travel to the small town of Yonwood, North Carolina. There, one of the town’s respected citizens has had a terrible vision of fire and destruction. Her garbled words are taken as prophetic instruction on how to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Prophet of Yonwood (Books of Ember Series #3) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 349 reviews.
swimmergirl1 More than 1 year ago
This book was very exciting and kept you on the edge of your seat! It tells about a girl who wants to move into her great uncle's house with her mom and dad. But her mom and aunt have different plans. They are planning to sell the big old mansion. While Nickie is at the mansion she finds herself a friend. But befor Nickie got to Yonwood a phrophet had a vision that greatly disturbed the people of Yonwood. Nickie tries to be good but when it went too far she had to find out the truth. If you like thrilling and sad adventures, you will love this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book it was my favorite! I injoyed reading this book! My mom read it with me and she loved it! It was amazaing! It was so thilling! Im on the 4 book of The City of Emeber! I love this author!!!!!! It felt like I was in it! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I SOOO LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS BOOOOOOOK!! I LOVE THIS BOOOOOK!!!!!!!
Maggiemae13 More than 1 year ago
I thought that the Prophet of Yonwood was a great book because it tied together the first two books and explained a lot. It was also exciting and the characters were interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good book, and for those who are confused, the series order is 3, 1, 2, 4.
JoanofArcreader More than 1 year ago
In the Third Book of Ember, you find action and confusion. This is the one of my top ten books that I have read. This is also a book that I couldn’t put down. I like this book because you can see the connection from this book to the first book. I would recommend this book to middle schoolers. I will probably read this book again and again. On a scale from one to ten, I would give it a nine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In a time in the near future, the United States and Phalanx Nations are having trouble cooperating, and each have bombs aimed at each other. In this time period, an all out war could mean the end of the world. Many people, however, are living out their lives and just hoping that the end doesn¿t come. Nickie is a Philadelphian who goes with her aunt to fix up her great grandfather¿s old house for sale in the small town of Yonwood. Yonwood has a resident who had a vision where the would was going to burn, and then she went unconscious. People learned of the vision through her mumblings, and many thought that the vision was from God protraying the end of the world. The people of Yonwood decided to cleanse their town to ¿make a shield of goodness¿ by not sinning and punishing those that did sin. In the new town, Nickie must decide who she is going to befriend and who is doing the right thing from the cast interesting characters. There are Amanda who served Nickie¿s late great grandfather before he died Brenda Beeson, who is trying to stop sinning in Yonwood Grover, the herpetologist-in-training and Hoyt McCoy who ¿has a sense of wrongness about him¿. This prequel to the City of Ember is out, and I couldn¿t wait to get my hands on it. However, what I found was a boring book that didn¿t do a very good job of linking this book to the rest of the series. This award-winning concept of the world possibly ending is hampered because of the fact that the book didn¿t have an ounce of excitement in the first half of the book. Even though this book can be read by either gender, I am sure that girls would like this more than boys because, at times, it was a little heartwarming. However, I would really try to stay away from this book even if you liked the other books in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't like how slow moving the book was. I also didn't like Mrs. Beeson. My favorite part was the afterwards part where you found out what happened to everybody. The wrost part.of the book was when they took the dogs away. Overall this book was a good book and I liked it. I liked that the Prophet was mysterious. I also liked that Nickie got Otis back. If I could change one thing about the book I would have Nickie and Grover fall in love!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im only three chapters in but so far this is great. Im 13 but im sure adults as well as kids a few years yonger than me would enjoy it. I love the descriptive writing and the developed characters. I also love Greenhaven. It sounds really cool. I think the plot of the story sounds amazing and i would recommend this book. And im only three chapters in too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Does nickie accomplish all of her three goals?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is totally amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AMAZING BOOK! AMAZING BOOK!! READ IT SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it so much I shared it with all of my nook friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book! Love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book but was a little confused that she went back. Also liked that everyone trusted in God .it was so stupid that brenda thought eveyone who 'sinned' was BAD once she said that i wanted to punch her . then she made everyone give up their dog, even her own, and i wanted to tie her to a rocket and blast it off into space THAT isnt trustin in God
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just started the book but why isn't it based on Lina and Doon? That confuses me most. I can read perfectly ok with it but no Lina or Doon? UNBELEIVABLE! I thought that in the end they get married or Doon admits his love for Lina
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It looks cool and all but i find that this should be the verry first or the last one by putting this in thee middle realy ruins the series at first i asked myself where lina and doon where so i looked in every page and i said to my self that it didnt have anything about ember exept for a few refrences
Olive1524 More than 1 year ago
I acually disagree with someone that wrote a comment or a review because she said that it didn't make sense but it all did to me when I've figured out that that was the past and the others were in the future and everything connected.I think that the end always makes me smile and I love it. The first time that I've heard of the ember series is when my teacher first read it to us in read aloud. At the beggining of the book I thought it was going to be a book on a key to a door which would get boring, but instead, it was way more fasinating. I checked the other books out from the same seiries and I did the same with this. I really want everyone to read this seieris because I can't even resist it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got interested in the series after seeing the City of Ember movie. I'm glad I did.
Books918 More than 1 year ago
My daughter has loved all of the books in this series. The first two books in the sequel are about people coping in a post-apocalyptic world. This third book in the series is a prequel. They are well-written and thoughtful books.
Amy2kids More than 1 year ago
This book is actually written to be a prequel to The City of Ember. It was a very enjoyable read. The only disappointment was the original charactors are not mentioned and I guess I grew fond of Lina and Doon. I look forward to reading the fourth book and feeling the hope and adventure Lina and Doon give to us. Not my favorite book of the series, BUT definately a great story!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I personally found this story very good it had a nice little plot to it and it was more touching than the other two books-it actually made me cry a little! I was a little disapointed about the apperance of the supposed ghost not amonting to anything toward the end, but oh well. It was a cute story! *ANd to the person who said that the characters of sparks and ember were a lot like Grover and Nickie: It's Lina not LANA.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I liked it. It was good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hated it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heavily relgious and hardly fits in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very different from the others, having deeper themes but less action. I found it my favorite book (so far) of the series, as it was very emotional. Although the last chapter feels like a last attempt to pull the book to the rest of the series, this book gives sufficient lore and could be a good standalone novel. Would still recommend for readers of the series. I read the entire thing in a single afternoon, I couldn't put it down!