×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Provoked
     

Provoked

4.4 69
by Rebecca Zanetti
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Paranormal romance at its best!” --Cynthia Eden

A Time For War…

A casualty of the war between the demons and the vampires, Jase Kayrs has been missing for six long years. His older brothers want answers—but they’re going to have to get them from an unlikely source. For when Kane Kayrs tracks down Amber Freebird, what he finds

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Provoked 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
DavinciKittie More than 1 year ago
A GraveTells Review: Smart, smokin' hot, & emotionally intense! Jase Kayrs, the youngest and most care-free brother of the vampire nation's ruling family, has been a captive of the demon army for four years now, and a pacifist, eco-loving Demon Destroyer is his only hope of rescue. Now there's a tough predicament for a vampire wanting to use her as a weapon... unless that vampire is Kane Kayrs, and the logical solution is a union that will result in Kane inheriting his mate's abilities. He'd be able to do the fighting himself and share his empathic abilities with a woman who can use every shred of help defending her brain from the demons hellbent on annihilating it. But marriage and life-long mates should be based in love and happily ever after, or so Amber says, and she is strong and stubborn enough to stand up for what she believes in against even the most brilliant Kayrs brother. The Kayrs men are large and in charge, domineering, and genius scientist Kane is no exception. Instead of using his brain as an excuse to be less involved in his romantic overtures, he taps that vast supply of knowledge & intuition and turns it into sheer, dominating pleasure... and I do mean DOMINATING! I thought Conn was hot in Hunted (and he was, don't get me wrong! *fans self*), but Kane is memorable enough that I am still thinking about him 2 weeks and half a dozen books later. Kane Kayrs is an incredibly dedicated lover, and his combination of meticulous attention to detail and raw force of personality makes for some smokin' scenes between him and Amber. I absolutely loved Hunted (#3 in the series - it won our Book of the Month award in May 2012), but I think what sets Provoked above even that high standard is the integration of Jase Kayrs' storyline. Jase has a rough time in this book. Four years of mental and physical torture in demon captivity have stolen nearly all his strength and fighting spirit. Even if he does survive, who will he become? The scenes where the Kayrs brothers are dealing with Jase's situation are emotionally powerful, and exactly what the series needed to amp up the intensity as it moves into the final stages of the demon conflict. How Ms. Zanetti functions with all these uber sexy, domineering, hot hot HOT men in her head, I have no idea - I'd be a quivering mess of "yes, please, and thank you" just about all the time! Hah! If you haven't started reading the Dark Protectors series, what are you waiting for? Go go go!! PS - Amber names her pets after Star Trek characters. Who can resist a heroine like that?! Hunted was my first trip through the Dark Protectors universe (book #3 in the series) and I fell in love with Conn, Moira, and all the Kayrs brothers. Consumed was an excellent followup and gave us a glimpse into the leadership of the shifter nation, allies of the vampires. Now with Provoked, the storyline has moved from isolated conflicts and ground-building side plots to a full-on sprint into what is sure to be an explosive next few books. If you have never read a book in this series, now is the time to start, so you can get caught up in the release madness of Ms. Zanetti's brilliantly addicting storytelling and world-weaving! This is not a book or series to be missed and is a new GraveTells Fave!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And then there is Kane Kayrs. HOTNESS!!!
ReaderLoverKV More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Absolutely spontaneously wonderful! A must read! Well written Rebecca Zanetti! Well Done!
MomRocks88 More than 1 year ago
Love the Dark Hunter Series! I loose a couple nights of sleep each time a new one comes out. Looking forward to Rebecca's next series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic!!! Can't wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Amber and Kane's story but need the next book soon. The book had great action, love and hints of the future book. A great read and left me needing Jace and Zane's stories. Rebecca keep the books coming, I am hooked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was pleasently surprised with Kane. He wasnt as emotionless as i presumed and im so glad he finally realized that himself. There is a ton of action going on with the war between the vampires, kurjans, and demons and so much passion it will ignite you on the spot! A definite must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am sooo in love with this series! I cant wait for the next book because there were so many unanswered questions about Jase, and the whole Janie, Kalin, and Zane triangle. I highly reccommend this series! You will not be disappointed
selly6767 More than 1 year ago
This book was great! I am looking forward to the next book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE this series!! I only wish we knew when the next book would be coming out... you get to the end of one and you don't want to stop! Something longer than about 260 pages would be wonderful - you just can't get enough of the Karys brothers or their group of "misfits"!
bfamily13 More than 1 year ago
love her series!
ldosch More than 1 year ago
Nail biting excitement. Dage Kayrs is the King, Talon is the strategist, Conn is the fighter and Kane Kayrs is the smart brother. So there is no one more upset than Kane that he hasn&rsquo;t been able to find a cure for the Virus-27 which is plaguing his people and his allies. And why are the inoculations for the shifters suddenly no longer effective? And why after four long years hasn&rsquo;t he been able to find his brother, Jase, who was captured by the Demons? Demons have the ability to torture and cause pain in the mind. Even if they find Jase and rescue him, after four years of physical and mental torture, will there be anything left of the fun-loving Jase that they all love? What they need is a Demon Detroyer who can counter the Demon&rsquo;s powers, but no Detroyer has been found in decades. The Demons have hunted them all down. When a Destroyer is finally located, Kane races to find her only to find out she&rsquo;s a vegan, pacifist who thinks Kane is absolutely crazy with this talk of demons, vampires, shape-shifters and kurjans. Not only does she think he&rsquo;s crazy, but she has no intentions in fighting anyone, ever, even if she had any idea what superpowers he is talking about. Although Amber is probably the most exasperating woman he has ever met, Kane is convinced that the sensible thing for them to do is mate, then he would share her physic ability and be able to use it as a weapon against the demons. That fact that she can&rsquo;t see the logic behind his offer is astounding. There is no time for poetry, sonnets or ridiculously <em>love</em> in a time of war. Kane can feel that he is running out of time and Kane needs Amber&rsquo;s cooperation or her power soon if he is going to save his brother. Kane isn&rsquo;t sure what is frustrating him more, his inability to solve all the problems that his people and his allies are facing, his inability to save his brother or the tiny slip of a woman who can&rsquo;t see the logic of doing things his way. But he is right about one thing&hellip;time is running out for Jase and if they don&rsquo;t hurry there may be nothing left of Jase to save&hellip; THOUGHTS: I think I ran out of fingernails halfway through the book and started chewing on my fingers. Oh my God, poor Jase!! When is the next book? When?? I need to know what happens!! I love how Amber twists up the stoic and logical Kane. To Kane the logical thing since Amber won&rsquo;t fight and doesn&rsquo;t know how to use her powers, would be to mate with him and he would then share her abilities. He could then go save his brother. Amber wants love, especially when you re talking mating forever&hellip;forever forever&hellip;since they are nearly immortal! Surprisingly the brilliant Kane is absolutely certain that love doesn&rsquo;t exist, and he can&rsquo;t seem to make the connection between the feelings he has for his family and how he begins to feel for Amber and label it love. I will say that I was so torn up about getting to Jase, that I was distracted by the romance. &ldquo;Yeah, yeah, yeah, tell her you love her and let&rsquo;s go!!!!&rdquo; With everything going on with Jase, and Kane and Amber, we see little of Janie. But what we do see is that Janie is growing up and already getting very powerful with her abilities, and in the dream realm where they meet, the tensions between Janie, Zane and Kalin are heating up, and Zane saying &ldquo;...get ready. I&rsquo;m coming for you, Janie Belle. Soon!&rdquo; left me giddy. *he,he,he*
AVoraciousReadr 9 months ago
*Book source ~ NetGalley War is taking its toll and Jase Kayrs is enduring more than his fair share of the brunt of it. Kane Kayrs and his brothers have not given up hope that they’ll find their youngest brother, but it’s been years since his abduction by the enemy. When they learn of Amber Freebird and her rare ability to affect demons they send Kane to bring her in. The problem is, Amber has no clue that’s she’s other than human. They must convince the vegan pacifist to fight for them. For Jase. Before all is lost. I didn’t enjoy this story as much as the others in the series. Kane comes off as much more arrogant in his story than the stories that came before and, man, for a genius, he is certainly stupid when it comes to love. Lol There are content errors, mostly with timeline, but other than these issues the story is fast, hot and exciting. Prepare to have your heart wrenched out of your chest when it comes to Jase though. That poor man has really been put through hell.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The series is so damn good I don't want it to ever need.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gaele More than 1 year ago
AudioBook Review Stars: Overall 5 Narration 5 Story 4.5 Kane is the ‘logical brother’, tightly controlling his emotions and edge to apply logic to situations to emerge with carefully laid plans that will aid the Realm in the war. With Jase still being held by the Demons, suffering unimaginable torture, Kane has been sent out to find the most elusive of them all, a Demon Destroyer. Not quite sure that any actually exist, he has been drawn by the power signatures to a honky tonk bar. Amber is the one sending off the signals – pushing at Kane with her power, although her control and knowledge of who he is, and what she is are limited. Kane finds her attractive and intriguing, if wholly frustrating, and the two butt heads almost instantly. Kane was the least ‘present’ of the Kayrs brothers throughout the earlier books: sure he popped in, but his scientific leanings, his solid belief in logic and the hoops he’d seen his brothers jump through because of their enhanced human women leave him delightfully perplexed and give us plenty of information about how his mind works and his personality. Amber was the first female in this series that I didn’t instantly like, and found her difficult. She’s a vegan, a preachy one, and her environmental stance would have been a better point of conflict / compromise in their story had she not taken every opportunity possible to give a lecture on veganism, the environment and her beliefs. All that aside, you could see how her illogical approach intrigues Kane, and how they work toward a relationship, with Amber finally learning the depth and scope of her powers… Mixed in with Amber and Kane are moments with Jase and the tortures the Demons are inflicting – it just brings the reader deeper into the urgency that the Kayrs brothers feel, and the stakes for this war become apparent with these scenes. Further along in the story, we have been waiting for Janie’s full story, and with some lovely insets her growth and the choices between Kalin and Zane become more muddled in her head and ours. There is a certainty in this storyline- the war won’t end until Janie has her story, but the events along the way are one hell of a ride. Narration in the entire series is provided by Karen White, and I don’t think I have anything new to say…her work is terrific. Characters from earlier books that pop in here are instantly recognizable with distinct voices, delivery patterns and tiny quirks. Amber and Kane have clearly been imbued with overriding personality traits (Kane’s struggle for a logical explanation with a touch of puzzlement is wonderfully done) and emotional moments made clearer and more impactful with pauses, hesitations and tone variations. The moments that build tension are vocally presented with rushed or hushed moments, forcing the listener to sit up and pay attention – something big is happening. The dictionary would take on new meaning if White were to narrate it – she adds greatly to the don’t miss this series statement. I received an AudioBook copy of the title via Audible Communications Team for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
trshmid927 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Jase's story - not as good as the others in this series in my opinion but still sexy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kane Kayrs has found the one person who can help him find his brother Jase after four years~Amber Freebird. Amber Freebird knows nothing of her demon destroyer heritage or that she's broadcasting where she is. Amber is attracted to Kane but doesn't like how logical he is about everything. For Kane, logic keeps him from feeling that he's failed. Meanwhile Janie is making plans of her own to stop this war even if her methods are unconventional. Will Amber accept her heritage? Will Amber help find Jase? Can Jase be saved? Will Kane admit his feelings? Your answers await you in Provoked. This series is interesting, compelling, and wholly real. I love the characters! The story keeps your attention. Looking forward to my next adventure in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Phe_BookMusings More than 1 year ago
As the fifth installment of the Dark Protectors series begins, the war between the Realm and the Kurjans continues to rage on. The Kurjans want Janie Kayrs&mdash;Talen's psychic human daughter&mdash;because she's been prophesied to change the world, though no one knows how. The demon nation has turned against the Realm because the king, Dage Kayrs, made one of their sworn enemies an ally. Jase&mdash;the youngest of the Kayrs brothers&mdash;has been captured by the demons and imprisoned under ground in a four-by-six cell made of rock for almost four years, barely surviving starvation and daily physical and mental torture&mdash;obscene mind games, often rendering the victim stark crazy and suicidal. He's long since lost the ability to use most of his vampiric gifts&mdash;there was a time he could control the elements, but no longer. The Kayrs brothers know they're running out of time to find him. Their only hope is to locate a demon destroyer&mdash;a rare and powerful mind warrior&mdash;who is willing to help them.  Raised by her grandmother after her mother died, Amber Freebird's childhood at the small eco-village where they lived was wonderful but hardly normal. Homeschooled in the small vegan community, she was raised to live as much as she could off the land. Typically, they made enough money to live off the farm by selling vegetables, fruits, and jams in the summer, and Christmas wreaths in the winter. But when her grandmother is kicked in the head by one of their horses and rendered unconscious, Amber takes a job as a waitress in a local bar to pay the expensive hospital bills. Little does she know, though, that her grandmother has been keeping a very big secret from her.  Having recognized that her granddaughter's power was exceptional, but deciding that she deserved a decent childhood&mdash;one without the craziness of demons, vampires, or the rest&mdash;Amber's grandmother chose not to tell her that she was the last in a long line of enhanced females known for their innate human ability to fight demon mind torture.  And using the chants handed down from her great-grandmother&rsquo;s grandmother she's kept them safe and hidden for years. Until she was rendered unconscious. Now Amber&rsquo;s powers are no longer being shielded from the world, and she's broadcasting loud enough to bring every supernatural creature from miles away to check her out. When the Realm receives news that a possible demon destroyer has been located, Kane Kayrs races off to find her only to discover the beautiful vegan has no idea what she is, much less how to use her gifts to battle demons. As a closet empath&mdash;somebody who has fought for years to squash down the ability to read emotions from other people&mdash;Kane believes he can teach Amber how to use her gifts by attacking her mind with feelings. But when that doesn't prove to be successful, the rational, logical scientist comes up with a brilliant solution to their dilemma ... he should mate her! Kane had always figured he&rsquo;d mate out of convenience for business, for strategy, or to create an alliance. And this fits. Their mating would solve all their problems, because when vampires mate, they gain the abilities of their mates. So, in time, he would be able to shield from demon tactics, and she&rsquo;d gain the ability to shield even better considering he can negate any empathic abilities he'd been cursed with. But there's one little problem with his logical plan. Amber isn't interested in mating to gain a strategic advantage. She wants love, emotion and happily-ever-after and she isn't willing to settle for anything less than that. &ldquo;Love is a chemical reaction induced in our brain to encourage propagating the species. The sensation is merely a scientific phenomenon, like the northern lights.&rdquo; Let me start by saying that Provoked wasn't a bad book, it just wasn't quite what I had expected. Most notably, the relationship development between Kane and Amber seemed to take a backseat to the secondary plot involving Jase's imprisonment and torture, which was, frankly, more interesting. I felt much more emotionally invested in what was happening to Jase than to the burgeoning relationship between the hero and heroine in this story. Also, there were certain aspects of Amber's personality I found somewhat annoying. For example, her &ldquo;Mother Earth&rdquo; comment was cute the first time, but not so much the fifth time. I had no problem with the fact that she was a vegan&mdash;to each his/her own, and all that&mdash;but Amber was constantly admonishing others for their choices and trying to convert them to her beliefs. Much like one of those annoying salespersons who comes to your door and won't take No for an answer. And I get that she was a pacifist, but Amber's use of a &ldquo;soft, comfortable blanket adorned with teddy bears&rdquo; as a weapon against the demons was laughable in a you've got to be kidding me kind of way. The funny thing was that I didn't actually dislike her. Go figure. Regardless, Provoked is well worth the read for Jase's emotionally heartbreaking story. 
Teebrescia More than 1 year ago
Must read series!!! I can't put the book down. I want more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago