×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Proxy
     

Proxy

4.3 30
by Alex London
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Put down what you’re doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing.” —Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy

Syd’s life is not his own. As a proxy he must to pay for someone else's crimes. When his patron Knox crashes a car and kills someone, Syd is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Proxy 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son LOVED this book he is 15 and just finished his freshman year, Guess what I read it too and loved it! looks like a movie to me.. hunger games and divergent  are the genre
ScrewyDecimal More than 1 year ago
Fast-paced, thrilling, & smart. A perfect summer (or any other time) read for fans of sci-fi/dystopian fiction. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By Juan Rader Bas, author of Back Kicks And Broken Promises In a word, Alex London's Proxy is 'lux.' Proxy is a fast read, with its exciting storyline and (gentle) slap in the face twists. Mr. London deftly executes page turning excitement with efficient, yet, illustrative sentences and relatively short chapters. In addition to the action, Mr. London sends each character on arcs that happen naturally. Nothing in Proxy feels forced and the way he weaves in the dynamic of teenagers getting to know one another, in spite of the life-threatening circumstances surrounding them, possesses something natural that further pulls you into their story. In a word, Mr. London's starring characters -Syd, Knox, Marie - are believable and because of that you feel for them and you root for them. Additionally, Mr. London appears to have made a blatant decision to diversify in the ethnicities of his characters and the trappings of his novel. Yet, he does this without stereotype or alienation. There is nothing token about Mr. London's work. Yiddish plays a big part in the novel. Marie's father's name is Dr. Xiao Alvarez. There is a (secondary) major character with dreadlocks. Syd is described as having darker skin. One of the teachers in Syd's school is Indian and so too might be Mr. Baram, Syd's friend and employer; although with what you'll learn about him, he could be Israeli or Jewish. Moreover, while you can identify who the bad guys are and who the good guys are, each character is complex in that they all show traits and reactions from both sides of the right/wrong spectrum. I didn't know, when I finished reading Proxy, if it was a standalone novel or the first in a series. After reading the final sentence, I hoped it was a standalone. The ending of Proxy is so powerful that I liked the idea of the reader having to think about and decide for him or herself what happens to the characters and the world in which they live. Such is the skill with which Mr. London writes, however, because the ending deftly leaves itself open to being continued while, at the same time, the entire story could end where it does without leaving the reader dissatisfied. Even though I hoped Proxy, based on its ending, was a standalone, I am very much looking forward to reading the Guardian, book two in the series. If you're fan of of Marie Lu's Prodigy, Veronica Roth's Divergent and, of course, Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games, as I am, once you've read Proxy, you'll be adding Alex London to your list of favourite authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The tension is high. The pace is fast. The world has become terrifying and yet eerily familiar. A great summer thrill of a read! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Proxy was definitely one of the best reads ever. It is a totally new take on a dystopian society. The characters are stellar and very complex. Alex London is an amazing writer. It could not have been better!! All the plot twists kept me in awe, especially the ending. Let me tell you, I did not see that coming!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am very glad I bought this! If you are into sci fi novels or books where the action happens pretty quickly, you'll love this book. Basically, it's about a futuristic dystopian society where the rich (patrons from the Upper City) own the debt of the poor from the Valve. People like the main character Syd who are "owned" are called proxies, and get punished in lieu of the person who actually committed the crime or bad deed. Syd is basically the average Valve citizen, who works and lives at a tech repair business. After Syd's patron Knox commits a serious crime and Syd is faced with equally serious punishment, he plots to escape the city. At this point, most of the action in the book starts and stays pretty fast paced...so I won't spoil it! :) If you are buying this for your kid, I would say the age range is right on this one. There is a bit of violence, but it's not very graphic. When the part of the story about the upper city club party happens, there are some background characters who are using drugs at the party. But those are both things that an older kid should be able to handle.
dmoitzh More than 1 year ago
Quick fun read
StarryEyedHeart More than 1 year ago
There is no doubt that this book will be one of the most epic reads of the year! Alex London is genius.  In Sydney Carton’s high-tech world, those whom are in debt are brand ‘Proxy’, where as the creditor are known as the Patron. To simply put it, a Proxy is assigned to a Patron, and is the one to take the punishments when their creditors do wrong. Sydney is a Proxy – spending years trying to overcome the debt that he needs to pay ever since he could remember …  Knox is from one of the wealthiest families. He enjoys living his life a thrill -- surrounded by the latest techs and outfits -- taking pleasure in rebelling against his father. But one day it takes a toll on him – when a friend’s life is risked. He needs to be taught a lesson but his Proxy -- Syd is the one with the death sentence. When unexpected matters falls into their hands, Knox and Syd comes together; not expecting to find out they have much more in common than one would expect a Proxy and their Patron to have.  Honestly, after have reading the first chapter I was not prepared to fall in love with this book or even enjoying it. I am a complete technology noob, and I thought it would be hard for me to understand or picture all of these (as I call it) tech talks. But with Alex London’s creative writing, to my surprise it was not hard at all to create an image of it in my mind. As I said, genius. This is the kind of book with a sustaining quick-pace, you cannot help but enjoy; it has everything from enthralling adventures to awing friendships.  It’s no surprise that I detested Knox in the beginning of the book, he was so careless, and over the top, even a punch to the face wouldn’t be able to knock some sense into him.  It was like he was not capable of feeling guilt. But as you venture further into the book, it is impossible to not fall for those sarcastic charms. It seems that underneath all those facade and jokes, lies something after all. He brings a new dynamic to the book. I catch myself wanting more of him at every turn of a page. Progress. ;)  Having affection for Syd is only natural. He is such a great person.  His hardworking and determined characteristics under his circumstances, inspires and gives hope. It was saddening to read about his dire lifestyle and that he has to lose all he has worked hard for, for reasons that has nothing to do with him. It heats you up. And along with him, you grieve that lost.  Oh, Marie! How are you possibly so freakin’ awesome?! In the beginning I believed her role was insignificant -- I did not take her seriously; I felt she had other motives. However, from the time she was re-introduced till the end her support was the strength that bounded all three of them together, Knox, her, and Syd. Living in that world of theirs, and given their different lifestyles … that friendship is something beyond special. Not forgetting, Alex London kept their relationship status vague. I couldn’t tell whether Knox fell for Marie or Syd, and I loved it! It keeps you guessing.  I pulled a late night – or I should say an early morning for Proxy. Every time I tell myself this will be the last page, something intriguing happens. Before you know it, I have completely devoured it. The only trace of evidence is the dark circle around my eyes.  Proxy had high votes for the most wanted read YA-LGBT book of July -- on Goodreads, and I recommend it. Too good to put down! If you are looking for an advance-technology society, with fun characters, and a captivating plot, you’ll do yourself a huge favor by grabbing Proxy.  Happy reading!
Mythicalreader More than 1 year ago
This book had a different spin to it and was not the typical end of the world scenario. It also gave a new character the lead. I was not sure what to expect when I picked this book up but was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it. I would enjoy seeing what happens next. Take the time and read Proxy, it is worth it.
MyHeartHeartsBooks More than 1 year ago
When I was first sent this ARC I seemed distrustful of it. It didn't seem like there would be much, if any, romance and because of that I put of reading it. BIG MISTAKE. Proxy is one of those books that you don't immediately realize you need, but that you do.  Set in a dystopian society where the rich can purchase proxies to settle their debts, Knox is a wealthy bad boy that is beyond out of control, and Syd is his proxy. In a world where the poor remain in debt to survive and the rich exploit their debts to get out of trouble, Syd is almost free from fulfilling his debt. However when Knox accidentally crashes a stolen car and kills someone in the process, it is Syd who must fulfill his punishment, except this time the stakes are higher. Finally fed up with the corrupt system Syd decides to flee for his life. Knox who finally begins to fill remorse and guilt gets entangled in the process and they both must set off to escape authorities. I love all sorts of aspects of Proxy, from the major themes to the minor details that can easily get swept away. Although it's a longer read, there is not a dull moment. Immediately the stakes are set and from that point on it's an adventure.  I think my favorite aspect is the world building, because at first glance although London creates this other society, it's essentially our society at its worst. The homophobia and greed and corrupt government is so disgusting, but at the same time it's described in a way that you can't help but compare to our own society and critique it.  This dystopian is filled with action, betrayals, and adventures and....OMFG there is diversity! Not only racial diversity, but also sexuality diversity. It's not just a checklist either, the characters are dynamic and complex and not at all stereotypical.  The dynamic of Knox's and Syd's relationship is quite fascinating. It's so complex and it's like this living breathing thing that's constantly changing. As they embark on this journey together, they are constantly taking two steps forward, and when obstacles arise they take a couple steps back.  Proxy is an absolute adventure that will have your hearts racing and make you anxious until the next installment. I'm making a bold prediction that Proxy is going to be one of the books of 2013 that everybody will be talking about. ARC provided by publisher for an honest and unbiased review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Proxy is a great read.  There's a dystopian future world dripping with possibility and we are privileged to watch the action unfold.  There is thrilling action but not gratuitous.  What is surprising is the emotional mark the book left on me.  This is not a dumb boy book.  This is a smart read that didn't forget to be awesome.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely fell in love with this story and its characters. Would highly recommend!
224perweek More than 1 year ago
Oh my god!!! What a great story this was. I could not put it down. And the ending??? Amazing! Never saw it coming.
Nim_ More than 1 year ago
The overview of the book promised me a "fast-paced thrill ride (...) full of breakneck action, shocking twists and heart-hammering suspense that will have readers gasping until the very last page". While correct, this book was so much more! The whole book centers around the proxy system, which basically means poor kids, proxies, receive the punishment of rich kids, patrons. If patrons break the law, they are forced to sit and watch the punishment be taken out on their proxy. Not surprisingly, the main characters are Knox, a patron, and Syd, his proxy. The characters were very well-written and believable: they steal, they lie, they kill. They are, in other words, realistic and believable, which gives the book a sense of grittiness and honesty about the brutal world of adolescence. Something I especially appreciated was the subtle way in which the author dealt with Syd not being "hetero and white". Syd was in no way defined by these things and the book never became awkward, heavy or even 'preachy'. Instead, it added a welcome dimension to Syd's outlook on the world. I really appreciated the layer of nuance this provided in his almost brutally honest coming-of-age journey. Of course, there is more than enough conflict and tension to keep you on the edge of your seat. This book combines themes of debt, death, honor, and hatred into a suspenseful and thought-provoking read. If you're ready for some action with rationale, pick up this book asap!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and was on the edge of my seat the entire time. I couldn't put it down! I would recommend this to anyone who likes sci-fi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
5 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago