×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Punished Arelia LaRue Book #2
     

Punished Arelia LaRue Book #2

4.3 238
by Kira Saito
 

Down in New Orleans, Arelia LaRue's once ordinary life has been transformed into something truly extraordinary.

As her ability to work and communicate with Les Mysteries (spirits) grows, so does her attraction for Darkwood's secretive owner, Lucus LaPlante.

However, Arelia quickly realizes that beneath Darkwood's seemingly extravagant surface,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Punished Arelia LaRue Book #2 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 238 reviews.
GothicAngelBookReviews More than 1 year ago
PUNISHED is the second book in the Arelia LaRue series. So we're back in New Orleans at the Darkwood Plantation. Back with a colourful cast of characters who can't fail to brighten anyone's day. Whether it's laughing at the antics of Mr Dumpty, rolling your eyes at 'label snob' Sabrina or really wishing Lucus would just get on and kiss Arelia already. This book will make you giggle, laugh and maybe even a guffaw or two depending on your sense of humour. I know a lot of people didn't really like Sabrina in BOUND and unfortunately for those people, I don't think you will feel any more love for her than you do already. To me, Sabrina is very misunderstood. Yes, on the surface she is a materialistic little madam. She likes Dolce & Gabbana this, Jimmy Choo that. But I don't really think she's as shallow as you think. In my opinion, if you scratch the surface, Sabrina hasn't really had it all. Her parents aren't there for her. They're constantly off in Morocco. So what's a girl to do when she's left to fend for herself? Well some of us might not but in Sabrina's case, she's made the most of her parents sending her money and she's bought herself things to try and find some semblance of comfort. I know that they say 'money can't buy you happiness'. But whilst that may well be true, money can help to alleviate stress in some small ways. It means not worrying about bills, it means you can buy yourself luxuries. Sabrina, to me, seems as though she buys herself expensive things to make up for the lack of parents or indeed other family in her life. So anyway, I digress. I don't really want this whole review to be me nagging you to like Sabrina. You like her or you don't. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this is just mine. I personally couldn't be friends with someone who seems as shallow as she does. Yet, if I knew there was a good person underneath it all, I would be willing to give her a chance. So for all those of you who don't like her, I'm asking you to try and see it from another point of view. Just maybe give her a chance. Try to see beyond her exterior and look into her heart. As for the story itself, I don't want to spoil it too much by telling you what happens. This second book, pretty much like the first, ends on a cliffhanger and you are on tenterhooks waiting for the next book to come along. I don't yet know when the next one is due, Kira says it won't be long. But I know I am going to go insane without it. For some people, I know that it seems like these books are quite short and you think that they fly past. Well, this book is actually around 10,000 words more than BOUND and I personally think they seem a little short but not in a bad way. I'm not defending my friend here, I just honestly think that maybe they go by so fast because they are so fast-paced and easy to read. You sit down with a cup of tea and the next thing you know you are on the final page. I have to say, the ending really sprung up on me. I wasn't expecting it quite so soon. But I think that was because it was really getting going. We were really at the point I wanted to be at when all of a sudden THE END was staring me in the face. As I said, cliffhanger ending. But in having said that, it was the perfect ending too. That's because it sets the scene for the next book in the series. For me, these books have gone at a lightning pace but they are perfect in setting up for the next one and knowing it will be a longer series, that Kira isn't trying to pack too much 'Wham Bam Thank You Ma'am' into only a couple of books - that is just how I like it. I like to be on the edge of my seat waiting for the next piece of the puzzle. Anyway, I think I digressed again but you get my point. PUNISHED is a great story. We see more of the background of Ivan, whom I was absolutely ready to punch in the face back in BOUND. Honestly now, having read this, he's not as bad as I once thought him to be. He isn't my favourite character (because I think Lucus is) and though he isn't actually any more likeable at the start, by the end of the book you are actually left thinking 'Okay he wasn't always such a [insert own expletive] after all'. We also see more of Arelia coming to terms with herself and her powers. She is getting to grips with being a 'Voodoo Queen'. She isn't quite there yet and she hasn't mastered her destiny but I like that about her. In some books we see the MC's come to terms with their varying 'powers' all too soon. But Arelia is naive and in some instances she is too trusting but in others she isn't trusting enough. She needs to learn to trust in herself implicitly before she can really trust others. That being said, she is growing as a character more and more each book and quite honestly she earned a place in my heart because I have never met another character like her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I checked out her blog and she said that this will not be a trilogy, it will be much longer. She plans on writing 3 or 4 more books.
Michelle423 More than 1 year ago
Great follow up to Bound. This picked up where the last one ended. We got to learn more about the loa's and the history of both Lucus and Louis. I couldn't get enough and finished this book in 1 day. If you're into paranormal romance then give this a try!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome read great storyline read the first book in a day then the second tne next day couldnt put them down cant wait for book 3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
With over 400 pages in each book this is a great new series! The author has a fantastic writing style that paints the surrondings so vividly you feel like you are there. Set in modern day NOLA on a large plantation, you are immediately sucked into the story plot and intertwined with the characters lives. A paranormal mystery with a love story brewing with tones of Hoodoo-you can't help but sit at the edge of your seat to ser what happens next! A great read and as an avid reader of this genre i highly recommend this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book :) #3 is being released mid-July and i cant wait! Ahh!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Unlike anything that I have read in a long time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was well written and very entertaining. Much research was involved for the voodoo and loas; it was all quite accurate. I found the characters to be very realistic in their behaviors based on their upbringing and current situations. The slave history was detailed and heart wrinching. Even the details of southern foods was so true to the south. Yes, there were some grammer and punctuation errors...but, it certainly did not ruin the story for me. I highly recommend this book to anyone, and I look forward to reading the next in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wasnt going to read this book. I am so glad i did. These books are wonderful and i couldnt put them down. This author will be added to my favorites list. Please take the time to read these books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the first book and it continued into book 2 now, waiting for book 3 ! I so want to find out who the mystery woman is that both these men loved , one a slave and the other rich what kind of hold she had both of them back in1852 .....And will Vodoo Queen find her true love in modern times or will she rather go back to 1852 ? Time will tell. Book was well written ...I was surprised ! I will be waiting for book 3....hopefully not to long....
jsheff More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book but it did seem to be more for teenagers than adults.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this series alot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was skeptical at first when i got the Bound, then as i read it i was sucked into the story. I couldn't put it down & i've never really had time to sit & read books. I read Punished in a day. It picked up right where Bound left off. I liked that because then i wasn't re-reading parts of Bound in Punished just to get caught up. I can't wait for Possessed. This is a great series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant wait for the third book to come out. The only negative i have for this though is that they have an ending that just makes you want to get the other book. I really dont like cliffhangers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
People should stop putting in what they think the main characters should be like and think about it maybe the author wants the character to be frightened about everything or so incredibly beautiful it could make a blind person see. In reality it makes the story more belivable to have someone with a personality where "they have no back bone" truth is theres people out there that dont have any back bone. Its not you writing the book so lay off please and tell us wht you think about THE BOOK and how bad or good it is just dont critique the personalitys of the character!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just my kind of book!! Love the syory & characters! Job well done Kira!! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! I have found this series to be entralling and great entertainment:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it cant wait for the next one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for # 3!
laursi More than 1 year ago
I was really, really looking forward to this. And now? I'll be blunt and say that I regret reading this book. Grammar was the largest issue here. Proper grammar is crucial in writing and publishing a book. After all, if a book's riddled with grammar errors, it'll make the book harder to read and understand, which will then cause those who don't have that much patience to give up and find something else to read. Proper grammar. It saves books. It saves lives. Just the first page was filled with grammar errors, and there was literally a one in each paragraph, if not in each line. The first page alone contains multiple comma splices, dependent clauses that somehow were left to stand on their own, missing conjunctions, missing commas, unnecessary periods, capitalization errors, and incorrectly formatted dialogue. And this is all in roughly about 400 or so words of a published story. 'Published story' is the keyword in that sentence; this type of thing shouldn't be happening. The writing also jumped around a lot, making it hard to keep up and understand. Two irrelevant subjects would be addressed in the same sentence, and the paragraphing was off. I'd read a little about subject #1, but before I could fully understand what was going on, the story would jump to subject #2, then suddenly to subject #3, and before I could understand that, we'd be back to subject #1 again, and so on. The dialogue was also one of the major issues. The author really needs to sit down and read her dialogue out loud to herself. It it sounds normal, the she should go out and interact with more people. Frankly, no one speaks like they do in this book anymore. The characters were just as frustrating as the grammar errors were. Real life people don't have labels. You can't look at some brooding hot guy and say 'Oh, that dude's a bad boy.' You can't assume all best friends only talk about boys and clothes, and that everyone who acts suspicious or mysterious are actually hiding something. Moreover, you can't expect then to just stick to that label. People have quirks and different personalities. It's what makes someone a person, and not a doll or a cardboard cutout. Unfortunately, that's what the characters in this book were like - cardboard cutouts and dolls. It was riddled with grammar errors, had poor characterization, a weak plot, and a childish unbelievable romance that swallowed what could've been better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This two books were very addicting, i am upset i have to wait to read the 3rd book... but i feel that there could of been more material about airela and lucus together.......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm hooked on this series like a drug! Every time a new book comes out I re read the previous ones again and fall in love all over again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it and the series. Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE FIRST BOOK WAS SO AMAZING I WANT THIS ONEEE